We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sense of belonging” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ganora Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ganora Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
“sense of belonging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Ganora gave us a wedding what we dreamt of. We decided to make it a few day affair and with many of the guests being 5 star executive chefs we were silenced and inspired by Hester's cuisine. The property, town and area is filled with mystique, peace and tranquillity with a deep sense of history with a story to tell which only JP and Hester can do. Behind JP's warmth and friendly smile sits a deep family history and knowledge of all things Karoo and the best spit braaier in SA! Its a quick downhill into town and when one returns back to Ganora, you feel a sense of belonging. We even returned for another two nights at the end of the honeymoon and enjoyed the property, its people and its vistas and already we long back. The children keep asking about Ollie the Jack Russell who we all loved.

Thank you for creating memories for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesmondMorgan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
It was such a pleasure hosting your Karoo Wedding! We loved your idea of enjoying the Karoo cuisine and our farm. We at Ganora got to know you all so well and therefore you will always be welcome to return to the farm in the Karoo! Ollie also misses all the activities of the wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    29
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
37
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We decided to take some time out on the drive back to Gauteng and visited Nieu Bethesda which is a really quaint town where time slows down and is highly recommended. We stayed at Ganora outside of town and what a great find - from very comfortable rooms, drinks on the patio, excellent farm fair and an highly informative fossil exhibition which we did not know about. The only complaint is that one night is not enough - one needs at least a few nights to truly appreciate the solitude of the Karoo, explore the area and enjoy the hospitality at Ganora.
Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in the furthest rooms from the farm house (1&3) which were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SR22TSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
It is always great to hear how someone enjoyed their stay with us at Ganora. And even more so to hear that the fossil museum was a surprise for you all. Make some more time next time you pass to view the Bushman rock Art or medicinal plant walk ! Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Hester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

You will find Koi San paintings on this farm and the owner JP has a very interesting collection of artifacts, skulls, fossils etc at the farms museum. My dad Hennie is an geologist and would love Ganora. So much history! Its well worth a visit. Nieu-Bethesda is off the beaten track - between Port Elizabeth and Colesburg or Graaff-Reinett, when visiting here you should also stop at the famous Owl House :-)

The Owl House is also historical and a must-see.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraMostert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
thank you for visiting Ganora. We so glad to hear how you enjoyed your stay here. Hope you can bring your father to see the fossils one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maun, Botswana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Looking for a tranquil spot on a working sheep farm near a quaint and funky village in the Karoo? Then visit Ganora and enjoy great Karoo hospitality. The village of Nieu Bethesda is close by and holds many interesting sights. If you have time and an interest in the area the town of Graaf Reniet is within easy reach.

If you are looking for wedding venue with a difference thus little gem could be it too.

Enjoy.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for visiting Ganora all the way from Botswana. Even though it was for your friend's wedding held at Ganora I am glad you enjoyed the farm and the Karoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed a Ganora for one night last weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Hosts Hester and JP were very accommodating with our needs. As ours was a last minute booking there was only a double room left available, however they made up an extra mattress on the floor for our 3 year old son. We enjoyed an extremely informative fossil talk from JP, and had we had more time we felt like there many other activities we would have liked to join in with. Our room was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, with the nice touch of a wall heater for those cold Karoo nights. We ate with the other guests in the dining room in the evening and enjoyed a delicious meal. We hope to visit again soon, this time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieNatureLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
So good to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Ganora. Hope your son enjoyed the rest of his holiday and did not miss his friends too much! My doggies missed him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

What a beautiful place! Thank you for being so helpful and inviting! Will definitely be back :)
Very cultural with the Bushman paintings and Fossils! Lovely accommodation, felt like home! Clean and comfortable!

Room Tip: The two bedroom cottage was amazing! Stunning View
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for visiting Ganora. Looking forward to see you and the family in the future. Hester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pahl, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in the little cottage above the farm, with a beautiful view over the gorgeous farm. If you're an eary bird, just sit there, wait for the sunset and try to feel, that you're sorrounded by fossils, that are sourrounded by fossils, that are more than million (!) times older as onselves. They lived here for more a thousand times longer, than our Western civilisation exists. Feel it, and you feel this tremendous peace, what's this place all about.
And don't forget the three MUSTS here: A candlelight dinner with the outragous hospitality of Esther and her staff, the fossil museum (J.P.'s lecture was the most interesting, passionate and empathic hour I've ever experienced as a pupil) and Ponkie's medical plant tour (take fotos and make notes and throw away all unnecessary drugs).
There have been some more tours, but we unfortunately had just two nights.
Neu Bieuthesta: We have been backpackers for many years and this place seemed not too interesting to us, as we missed the authenticy of the original town. To much business there. But maybe it's just a prejudice of us, as we didn't spent time (or money) there...
An if anyone out there is acquanted with foundations in S.S., please help J.P. to found one for palaeontlogical work. He's the doorkeeper to a fossil-library which is unique in the world. But farming makes it impossible for him to life his passion - which is so important for all of us to understand history of this beautiful planet a little bit better.

Room Tip: If you travel alone or up to four people: The lodge above the farm
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to send feedback about your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that it really made you think and take in millions of years! JP just loves his fossils and is always very pleased when other think like him! Thank you for your mail to ask to add this comment if people might read it:
The foruth MUST: The guided tour to the bushmen paintings. Step back in time to a peaceful culture. We all can learn so much from them! Thanks again for outstanding two nights at your farm! JP & Hester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nieu-Bethesda
0.0 mi away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 14 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
27.6 mi away
Bethesda Tower
Bethesda Tower
#3 of 7 in Nieu-Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ibis Lounge
The Ibis Lounge
#2 of 7 in Nieu-Bethesda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Owlhouse Backpackers
Owlhouse Backpackers
#3 of 5 in Nieu-Bethesda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ganora Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganora Farm

Property: Ganora Farm
Address: Ganora Guestfarm, Nieu-Bethesda 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Nieu-Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Nieu-Bethesda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganora Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GIVE US ONE DAY AND WE GIVE YOU 280 MILLION YEARS! At Ganora you do not only get accommodation but to let you experience our discoveries we like to share with you. Our Accommodation is Three Star graded and "Highly Recommended" by AA. We do various options of accommodation. 1. A self catering cottage that sleeps 6 and has two bathrooms with a small lounge and kitchen as well as a patio overlooking the farm yard. 2. Standard double or twin en-suite bedrooms with tea and coffee facilities. 3. Larger double or twin en-suite bedrooms that can be with King - or single beds. It has a few extras and overlooks the lucern fields that might have sheep grazing in them at the time of your visit. GUIDED DAY TOURS TO: Bushman Rock art site, Anglo Boer War story & engravings, Fossil and artifact museum, Fossil walk, Medicinal plant walk, Sunset drinks. Swimming pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ganora Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing