We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Ganora Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ganora Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was a pity that we only stayed over for a day.

Ganora really is a gem. The kids enjoyed the farm and all the happenings associated with it.

The hosts, the accommodations and cuisine can not be faulted.

Next time, we will stay for longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you Andre for your review. Good to hear that the kids also enjoyed the farm. You always welcome to stay for longer a next time.
Kind regards
Hester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were there to relax, eat good home cooked food, chat about life on a Karoo farm, learn about the fascinating fossil history and RUN trails...we got it ALL and more. What a lekker place We will definitely revisit and and stay longer than the 3 days...there is lots more exploring to do Thanks Hester and JP

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mishmoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

So good to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for sending some photo's of the canyon hike you did too. You are most welcome to come and explore the other side of the farm next time! Best wishes. Hester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I had wanted to visit the Great Karoo for a long time and last month my husband and I visited Ganora and had a memorable experience. Winter in the Karoo is special: sunny days and cold nights, even frost, and if you're lucky rain. Staying at Ganora was a wonderful experience and we really enjoyed Hester's and JP's hospitality. We stayed in a beautifully renovated cottage, with a cozy sitting area, and the extra blankets did wonders during the cold nights. We went on a very interesting walk with Punky who shares his knowledge of medicinal plants, bushmen's paintings, and the local community. We also really enjoyed the breakfasts which were cooked to order and even revived the tradition of porridge. Just ask for it and the very friendly staff will do their best to accommodate you. We also went for lovely walks on the farm and cycled into Nieu Bethesda which is a great outing. We already look forward to our next visit and more exploration.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarfishWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Glad to hear how you enjoyed your visit to Ganora. Hope you will be able to visit us again.
Regards
Hester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a real experience and a working sheep farm - it isn't only about the accommodation but the reality and people that surround it. Karoo dusts settles under your skin and here you can taste, feel and experience the land and its people. The medicinal walk, the Bushman paintings, all the fossilsand the musum - look different at a stone now. This is even before the Dinosaurus walked the earth - then one feel very insignificant. Hellen the owl and the meerkatte is also something else. The history of Ganora farm and the hospitable hosts and delicious local dishes were an experience away from the SOS = same old same. At the back of a bakkie you definitely get the real farming experience.Go for a real authentic South African experience and smell the nature and feel whole again and get out of the digital zone and detox. And that is Ganora...value for money and totally worthwhile...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much for sharing with us how Ganora played a roll in letting you experience the authentic Karoo. It is heart warming to hear when people love our Karoo so much. Learned something about SOS today!! Have never heard about that one before. Hope you can visit Ganora again in the near future. Regards from us all at Ganora. Hester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Ganora gave us a wedding what we dreamt of. We decided to make it a few day affair and with many of the guests being 5 star executive chefs we were silenced and inspired by Hester's cuisine. The property, town and area is filled with mystique, peace and tranquillity with a deep sense of history with a story to tell which only JP and Hester can do. Behind JP's warmth and friendly smile sits a deep family history and knowledge of all things Karoo and the best spit braaier in SA! Its a quick downhill into town and when one returns back to Ganora, you feel a sense of belonging. We even returned for another two nights at the end of the honeymoon and enjoyed the property, its people and its vistas and already we long back. The children keep asking about Ollie the Jack Russell who we all loved.

Thank you for creating memories for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesmondMorgan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

It was such a pleasure hosting your Karoo Wedding! We loved your idea of enjoying the Karoo cuisine and our farm. We at Ganora got to know you all so well and therefore you will always be welcome to return to the farm in the Karoo! Ollie also misses all the activities of the wedding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We decided to take some time out on the drive back to Gauteng and visited Nieu Bethesda which is a really quaint town where time slows down and is highly recommended. We stayed at Ganora outside of town and what a great find - from very comfortable rooms, drinks on the patio, excellent farm fair and an highly informative fossil exhibition which we did not know about. The only complaint is that one night is not enough - one needs at least a few nights to truly appreciate the solitude of the Karoo, explore the area and enjoy the hospitality at Ganora.
Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in the furthest rooms from the farm house (1&3) which were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR22TSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

It is always great to hear how someone enjoyed their stay with us at Ganora. And even more so to hear that the fossil museum was a surprise for you all. Make some more time next time you pass to view the Bushman rock Art or medicinal plant walk ! Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Hester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

You will find Koi San paintings on this farm and the owner JP has a very interesting collection of artifacts, skulls, fossils etc at the farms museum. My dad Hennie is an geologist and would love Ganora. So much history! Its well worth a visit. Nieu-Bethesda is off the beaten track - between Port Elizabeth and Colesburg or Graaff-Reinett, when visiting here you should also stop at the famous Owl House :-)

The Owl House is also historical and a must-see.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraMostert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hester S, Owner at Ganora Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

thank you for visiting Ganora. We so glad to hear how you enjoyed your stay here. Hope you can bring your father to see the fossils one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ganora Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganora Farm

Address: Ganora Guestfarm, Nieu-Bethesda 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Nieu-Bethesda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Nieu-Bethesda
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ganora Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GIVE US ONE DAY AND WE GIVE YOU 280 MILLION YEARS! At Ganora you do not only get accommodation but to let you experience our discoveries we like to share with you. Our Accommodation is Three Star graded and "Highly Recommended" by AA. We do various options of accommodation. 1. A self catering cottage that sleeps 6 and has two bathrooms with a small lounge and kitchen as well as a patio overlooking the farm yard. 2. Standard double or twin en-suite bedrooms with tea and coffee facilities. 3. Larger double or twin en-suite bedrooms that can be with King - or single beds. It has a few extras and overlooks the lucern fields that might have sheep grazing in them at the time of your visit. GUIDED DAY TOURS TO: Bushman Rock art site, Anglo Boer War story & engravings, Fossil and artifact museum, Fossil walk, Medicinal plant walk, Sunset drinks. Swimming pool available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ganora Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing