We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea and Scones at Tenahead”
Review of Tenahead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tenahead Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Rhodes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My family and I travelled up to Rhodes for a few days for a ski holiday, but were very disappointed to find Tiffindell out of action. The next day we were advised by our friendly neighbours in Rhodes to take a drive up to Tenahead Lodge. We took the drive slowly and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. We were warmly welcomed at the lodge and had fresh scones and cream served in no time. We spent the afternoon sitting in the warm, sunny lounge, protected from the cold wind, and enjoying the breath-taking scenery. The host, Shauna is lovely. She really made us feel welcome and like she had all the time in the world to chat. Tena, the Jack Russel will also be remembered!
Thank you to Tenahead and the town of Rhodes, our "skiing trip" wasn't wasted, and we had a great holiday. I can't wait to go back to Tenahead. I can't imagine a more peaceful and luxurious place. Haha, in fact, I'm dreaming of having my wedding there....... one day! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

After quite a rough year coupled with planning a wedding Tenahead lodge was exactly what we needed.

The place is stunning, the food is great and above all the service is way beyond excellent. Shauna and Nolan attended to our every need. The setting of this lodge is absolutely spectacular.

We will most definitely be returning as well as sending everyone we can over there. This is most certainly a place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerendFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We decided to end our honeymoon with a winter holiday at tenahead the food , rooms , crackling fireplaces absolutely everything was out of this world and felt like a winter holiday in another country , well done to the friendly staff at tenahead we will be back next winter

Room Tip: All rooms similar and great views over the valley at top of mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielKruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

What an amazing lodge well worth the long dirt road to get to it. Tenahead is beautiful with amazing rooms not to mention the views from the showers. We visited in winter so the underfloor heating and fire places in each room were a welcome sight.

The lodge is situated on a small cliff over looking the famous Bell River high up in the Drakensberg. We had a chance to look at all the rooms and each one had amazing views. The dining room and lounges also have amazing views and you find yourself often just staring out the windows.

The staff were also great they immediately felt like old friends and Tena the staff dog was always ready for a walk or just there to keep you company.

The meals at Tenahead were amazing and the chef was accommodating to our dietary requirements.

I did not get a chance to fish the famous Bell river(next time). My friend got to do some out rides on the resident horses she said that was an amazing experience. We also managed to do the big 4x4 route which affords you with amazing views of the mountains also some great views of Lesotho.

We left the lodge after 2 nights with heavy harts and hoping for snow so we could get stuck up there. We are already planning another visit soon.

A special thanks to Nolan and Shauna for making or stay so special..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

What a beautiful setting! It is like another world up there. The lodge is beautifully done and is just the right balance between comfort and style. The rooms are very spacious with every amenity and indulgence you could ask for (see pics)!

The managers were wonderful, super friendly and helpful and when we were there a little lodge Jack Russel named Tena was there who joined us on a walk and was a lovely addition!

Lovely food, rooms and truly has everything one could hope for.

BEWARE the drive up is not for sissies, we followed our GPS blindly as it calculated the shortest route, well that route was through incredibly worn farm roads and mountain. Not for our BMW 3 series, but three agonising hours later we made it up (without a tow). So ensure you go through Rhodes for the easiest route! But at the top we were greeted by welcoming faces, drinks and could laugh at our misadventure in comfort.

On the expensive side and far out but what a pleasure, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We spent 4 amazing nights at Tenahead Mountain Lodge during the Easter break, and already dreaming of going back soon. Firstly, the lodge is pure isolation from the hustle and bustle of normal life, and the surroundings are simply fantastic. When I made the booking I had no idea it was situated so high up in the Drakensberg (actually the lodge is officially the highest hotel/lodge in South Africa at 2505m above sea level). The rugged mountainsides and small, crystal-clear Bell river are so different from anything else in SA.

The weather was starting to get quite cold, but the lodge made up for it, with crackling fireplaces in each room and big comfy beds. The food was fantastic, especially the 5-course dinners that were absolutely 5-star! Chef Josh, together with Shauna, must be commended. On this note both Shauna and Nolan, the managers, were always super helpful and made our stay all the more enjoyable. Tenahead is lucky to have them! And with Tena the Jack Russell assisting as our "mountain guide" on our walks and fishing expeditions, we could not have asked for better service. This stay was perfect for us as a couple, but we got the impression from other guests that the lodge was very accommodating of their young kids as well.

We shall definitely be going back to Tenahead, hopefully sooner rather than later, and would recommend it to anyone who is willing to go off the beaten track a little.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We decided to travel the Naude's Neck pass this past December and as such wanted to stay overnight somewhere in the vicinity. Our choice was Tenahead Lodge - and what a good choice this turned out to be! The lodge itself is situated within the mountains at the top of the pass within a nature reserve - when travelling all the way up the pass and then on the road through the nature reserve - the sudden view of the lodge as it nestles amongst the hills is something that I will remember for a very long time. It had been raining heavily the entire week before our arrival - so the road was not in the best condition and it was icily cold when we arrived. Upon arrival we were immediately made to feel welcome by both Nolan and Shauna. When I walked into our room I was absolutely awe-struck! The hotel gives an ''old time'' impression with it's high ceilings and stone walls - but the rooms were cosily furnished and the outside wall is a huge window with the most beautiful view of your outside surroundings. We were fortunate in as much that our room overlooked the Bell river at a point where it seemed to rush over a rock section - almost being a rapid - the running water was almost hypnotising. After dinner at night when you return to your room - a fire has been lit to give even further soothing ambience! Furthermore the rest of the hotel layout is done beautifully with view of the surrounding nature foremost in the planning.

Now - for the catering side! The meals are advertised as a 5 course evening dinner - and it was exactly that and beautifully presented. Our stay was for only one night - which I could easily have extended as I enjoyed my self tremendously.

Anyone who wants to go via Naude's Neck must do the stopover at Tenahead - even if it is only to experience the lodge and it's hospitality!

Room Tip: Room 4 had a spectacular view of the Bell river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inkie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tenahead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenahead Lodge

Address: Naudes Nek Pass | 30km From Rhodes, Rhodes 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Rhodes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes
Price Range: £233 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tenahead Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tenahead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing