We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent food, best service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tenahead Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tenahead Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Rhodes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent food, best service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Spent a few days at Tenahead Lodge. The service that we received from Nolan and Shauna, the managers, were fantastic. From arrival to our departure they catered to our every need and want. The food, breakfast and dinner, were spectacular. Delicious as well as beautifully presented. The rooms have spectacular views over the Bell river and mountains and we spent hours hiking, fishing (without success) reading or just relaxing in front of our very own fireplace in our room. Will definitely be back in future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the south facing rooms view, although they do get less sun than the north facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    23
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
35
103
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We were welcomed by two awesome people..Shauna and Nolan!! The place is stunning with the most spectacular views!! The food was amazing...very well prepared!! We had a fantastic room with underfloor heating as well as a fireplace and the bonus is the shower overlooking the Bell River!!

It is quite a long drive up Naudes Nek pass, but we enjoyed the beautiful scenery!

This is really a place to visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoutonCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was getting dark as my new wife and I entered Rhodes. We as were making our way up Naudes Nek (Highest dirt road in SA) to Tenahead. She had no idea what I had planned for our honeymoon, but after an adventurous drive up in our little Corsa bakkie, she was blown away by the awesome stone lodge.

It was dark and cold when we arrived but we were warming greeted by Nolan and his dog Tena and shown to our luxury room that had been waiting for us with the fireplace crackling. It was a great start to our honeymoon stay and it only got better.
The food was awesome, Nolan and Shauna's service and warm heartedness really made us feel at home in the beautiful setting. Tena, the Jack Russell, took us on a guided tours of the farm - which is 2500 meters above sea level.

Unfortunately the wind was really blowing, so there was no snow and it meant we were unable to ride the horses but that at least gives us one of many reasons to return to Tenahead.

Tenahead was a beautiful spot for our honeymoon and a perfect place to begin my new adventure with my wife.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We took a leisurely drive from Rhodes to take a look at Naudes Nek pass and stumbled on Tenahead. From the moment we entered the property we were spell bound by its architecture, a palace lost in the mountains. The warm and wonderful greeting from the hotel manager told us that this is no ordinary hotel. We were only there for a cup of coffee but got much more than we bargained for. I would recomend this for any couple who want to get away for a couple of days for real piece and quiet. In the short time we were there I knew that we must come back, because one can find true piece here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartB1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

My family and I travelled up to Rhodes for a few days for a ski holiday, but were very disappointed to find Tiffindell out of action. The next day we were advised by our friendly neighbours in Rhodes to take a drive up to Tenahead Lodge. We took the drive slowly and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. We were warmly welcomed at the lodge and had fresh scones and cream served in no time. We spent the afternoon sitting in the warm, sunny lounge, protected from the cold wind, and enjoying the breath-taking scenery. The host, Shauna is lovely. She really made us feel welcome and like she had all the time in the world to chat. Tena, the Jack Russel will also be remembered!
Thank you to Tenahead and the town of Rhodes, our "skiing trip" wasn't wasted, and we had a great holiday. I can't wait to go back to Tenahead. I can't imagine a more peaceful and luxurious place. Haha, in fact, I'm dreaming of having my wedding there....... one day! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempton Park, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

After quite a rough year coupled with planning a wedding Tenahead lodge was exactly what we needed.

The place is stunning, the food is great and above all the service is way beyond excellent. Shauna and Nolan attended to our every need. The setting of this lodge is absolutely spectacular.

We will most definitely be returning as well as sending everyone we can over there. This is most certainly a place to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerendFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We decided to end our honeymoon with a winter holiday at tenahead the food , rooms , crackling fireplaces absolutely everything was out of this world and felt like a winter holiday in another country , well done to the friendly staff at tenahead we will be back next winter

Room Tip: All rooms similar and great views over the valley at top of mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielKruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes
19.9 mi away
Woodcliffe Country House
0.0 mi away
Fairbairn Guest Farm
Fairbairn Guest Farm
#1 of 4 in Maclear
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenahead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenahead Lodge

Property: Tenahead Lodge
Address: Naudes Nek Pass | 30km From Rhodes, Rhodes 6170, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Rhodes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rhodes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tenahead Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tenahead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing