We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Views”
Review of La Vista Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Vista Byron Bay
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Incredible Views”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We decided to book our 5 night stay at La Vista as we were looking for a tranquil location to relax during our time in Byron Bay. We could not have picked a more perfect place to stay!

We went for the Villa called “La Vista View” as it is a self-contained unit and we wanted the freedom to cook the odd lunch and do a spot of Laundry. The villa really surpassed all of our expectations. It has a high end feel to it with well thought out touches of luxury such as the beautiful wet room-style bathroom, well-furnished lounge and large balcony.

The best part of the villa is as the name suggests the view! The villa and the whole resort has been designed to overlook the breath taking Cape Byron and the lighthouse. I personally loved the glass wall in the bathroom, cleverly designed to give you the view but keep your privacy at the same time. The same can be said for the balcony which was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening and taking in the scenery. The infinity pool overlooking the fig tree is as beautiful as it looks on the website, a great way to cool off on a hot day (or every day as we did!).

Damien (the owner) was the perfect host, nothing was too much trouble and he could not have made us feel more welcome. The famous breakfast he served us each morning deserved the hype and his extensive knowledge of the area meant we really made the most of our time in Byron Bay.

La vista really is a slice of Byron paradise!

Room Tip: If you want a self contained villa go for the view, it has everything you need and more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Charlton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    10
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
127
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The first paragraph on la vista's website states;

'Experience the ultimate Byron Bay romantic, luxury getaway where the combination of hospitality and serenity will delight you endlessly.'

It's not romantic. It's not luxury. And if I'm being generous, the hospitality and serenity was average at best.

When calling to book, the owner seemed lovely. And promised the earth. Convinced us to stay with him rather than our planned destination- a good salesman. The best B&B's that I've been to have the most lovely, helpful owners. At la vista, most things seemed to be a hassle. There was no milk in our room (but there was tea, coffee, kettle, cups- go figure). When we asked for some, the host/owner replied 'the shops have milk', before reluctantly handing over a small jug. When booking, a bottle of Moët was promised with the room, which we had to request because it wasn't there. There is no iron or ironing board. There is no sink in the mediocre kitchenette, so all filling up of kettle and washing up etc had to be done in the bathroom. The bath was barely functional, leaking profusely from the tap, all over the floor. And when you only get one room service in 7 days, to have your bath mat soaked in water isn't really ideal. The breakfast was nice enough, but more often then not there was a hair or two served with it. And we were lucky to get our coffee at all, let alone within an hour of asking for it. The pool is unheated, and was off the back of the owner's house. We never felt like we could even just sit on a sun lounge - it was very open and public. And the villa itself has no blinds or privacy glass in the bathrooms. Plain view for all to see. The shower even has a glass door looking straight out onto the deck. Don't come here expecting privacy. Mosquitoes were in our room every night, despite closing every door and window. The pillows felt like they were stuffed with cotton balls. I've never slept on anything so lumpy. The couch, bed and lampshades have questionable stains all over them. The bathroom, ceiling, and cornices are abundant with mould and cobwebs. The parking is inadequate. The walk to the villa with bags and a baby is ridiculous and poorly lit, with large slippery rocks to traverse down. We weren't given a key for the villa, because la vista doesn't believe in la privacy, and didn't want to concern us with having to think about keys. I believe that's our decision, not theirs to make. If we wanted to lock our room we had to request a key. There were no laundry facilities in the room, but you could do a shopping bag sized load for $20. It was washed with hot water and put through a dryer, several hundred dollars worth of clothes turned blue as a result. They were also meant to be folded in the price, as outlined in the in-room information. However we had to go and ask for them, even get them out of the dryer ourselves, the day after they were promised to be ready. A nice new shade of blue as mentioned. The in-room menu also outlines a mini bar, which is non existent. The owner also feels that it is professional to refuse to put the cost of a $20 load of washing (yes, the one that turned blue) through an eftpos machine because 'it costs that much to use it', and then had the audacity to say that he had our details, if he decided to do it later then he would. I have never experienced an attitude like this in hospitality.

There were so many things that weren't up to scratch, both big and little.

All in all, one massive disappointment. Nice spot, nice yoghurt, but not really enough to justify the cost of this place. It would be a thousand times better with some massive improvements in management and overall attitude, cleanliness, repairs, and some updated furniture and information.

Think carefully before booking this one. There are some much nicer, cleaner, comparably priced, closer, better managed, private places to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annlua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavistabyronbay, Manager at La Vista Byron Bay, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We always appreciate feedback and reviews as so many traveller's do use Trip Advisor when researching holiday destinations. At the time the content can be very hurtful to all of us here at La Vista as a family run business we all do our very best to ensure each guest is treated as extra special.

It is an interesting statistic that of the 1900 couples we have taken wonderful care of at La Vista and had the pleasure of receiving wonderful comments in our five guest books, very few have posted comments on Trip Advisor. Of the 100 that provided a review unfortunately there have been a few very hurtful reviews in six years and two from people who never actually stayed with us here at La Vista.

Therefore, content can sometimes be misleading and at times highly subjective however, we do respect that person's right to complain about anything without questioning its validity or in fact truth.

Whilst everyone here at La Vista gets very upset reading the negative comments we find that the 99.% of our guests, (many returning) prefer, to come and enjoy the privacy at La Vista for what it is, separate stylish villa accommodation, each beautifully appointed, with unsurpassed views, set in a peaceful, tranquil and relaxing haven, teaming with bird life away from the hustle and bustle of the crowds in Byron Bay and the bigger resorts. Yet La Vista is only four minutes drive to town and that is the wonderment of Byron Bay’s best-kept secret, Ewingsdale.

We do thank you for your review Annula and trust that you may choose to return to La Vista again sometime soon, as you would be welcomed with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We went to La Vista for our babymoon and it was the right place to relax and wind down. We stayed in the villa view which was very private with beautiful views. I can agree with others, the breakfast is yummy. We booked the gourmet package with was great value and all restaurants included in the package were amazing and generously looked after us. Feels good to go out for lovely lunch & dinner and not pay :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

What an amazing place to take a break away from the hustle and bustle of reality! Right from the beginning you feel a sense of calmness.If you want a more personalised and private experience la vista is the place to go, Damien's hospitality and friendliness is a stand out. Do make sure you try breakfast; the fresh fruit with local museli and lemon myrtle yogurt is to die as are all the cooked breakfasts.
The views are spectacular! We had a view of Cape byron and the light house from our villa!!! We would highly recommend La Vista as the place to stay when visiting Byron Bay. A big thank you to Damien for an amazing break

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at La Vista during peak Christmas New Year. It combines peace and relaxation with the vibrancy of Byron if you feel like heading into town. Damien is a great host and will give you local tips in restaurants etc (and also a back way into town to avoid the traffic). Our villa was fitted out with a very comfortable lounge as well as chairs in the verandah to sit back and take in the view. Just be aware that the bathroom has no blind of any sort so the toilet bath and shower also take in the view. Overall a good choice for a relaxing few days

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deejay123019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Well what can I say but we had a great 3 nights at the Villas. We would have stayed longer but due to peak season was totally booked. Damien the owner was very generous with his time driving us into Byron on our 1st night and next morning and arranging car rental for us during our stay. Fresh breakfast was made daily by Damien and my husband quite enjoyed his shot of whiskey in his coffee every morning. We felt we had know Damien for years and it was a pleasure to learn some history of Byron and restaurant recommendation. We will definitely be back with friends in the future. Thank you Damien and Leanne for being super hospitable.

Room Tip: Villas are approx 6kms for Byron Town Centre. A rental car is recommend. If you are after a peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziTraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013

You couldn't get any closer to the beautiful surroundings of Byron bay. The accommodation is gorgeous with glass windows/doors overlooking the amazing scenery in every room. There is a lovely veranda to sit out on and chill with a glass of wine. The pool is very quiet and peaceful for a lazy day. And I mustn't forget the breakfast. A lot of care is put into the homemade juice, fruit salad, muesli yoghurt and toast. Its not your standard stuff...lemon myrtle is added to the yoghurt and it's delicious! Damien was also kind enough to let us have a late checkout so we could chill out by the pool on our last day. It's just a short drive to the hustle and bustle of Byron bay and surrounding towns and villages but enough out of the way to enjoy a relaxing holiday. We are from the UK, living in Sydney and would recommend La Vista to any domestic or International travellers!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewingsdale
1.9 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
334 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
70 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Aabi's at Byron
Aabi's at Byron
#10 of 65 in Byron Bay
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vista Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vista Byron Bay

Property: La Vista Byron Bay
Address: 13 Cape Vista Dr, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Ewingsdale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ewingsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Vista Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ultimate Byron Bay romantic, luxury getaway where the combination of hospitality and serenity will delight you endlessly.La Vista is a truly unique Bed and Breakfast establishment, nestled on the first ridge from Byron Bay and only 5 minutes from the town centre and its beautiful beaches and restaurants.Known locally for its unsurpassed views, private and tranquil ambience, it is one of Byron Bay's best-kept secrets. This luxury resort is set on over an acre of landscaped lawns, tropical gardens and a stunning, infinity pool. Blessed with a magnificent 100 year-old fig tree to frame the stunning views to Byron Bay, La Vista offers guests a truly unique experience.La Vista feels a world away from the hustle & bustle of Byron Bay, yet is close enough to enjoy all the town has to offer.The perfect private destination for your wedding party, romantic weekends, baby moons, anniversaries or hosting you’re sophisticated and intimate wedding.La Vista offers guests the choice of four very private, romantic, luxury villas. All have access to a stunning horizon edge pool where guests can be assured of a very private peaceful haven to relax and enjoy a truly unique Byron Bay holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Vista Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vista Byron Bay Ewingsdale, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing