We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wedding Venue !!”

Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ewingsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Wow !! what a great Venue for our friends daughters Wedding.The staff were amazing,the food excellent,the view beautiful and quiet, this is really a great place to visit tie the not etc.Just to see the huge fig tree was a treat,will be coming back with some friends soon.We had a great time will be telling all our friends about this venue for partys, weddings or just for the day.Will check out accommodation for future functions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 358Shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and I went to the Fig Tree Restaurant last Saturday 11 Feb for lunch. It is about 10 minutes from Byron not far from the main Highway / Byron turnoff. The setting was an old house on top of a hill in a rural area. In the distance you can see the coast and Cape Byron. View excellent - see if you can get a window seat.

The menu on the day was a list of tasting dishes organised into 6 groups with 2 choices in each group - Starters Group 1 and ending with desserts group 5 and cheese selections group 6. Hope this explains the situation. The prices on the day were $25 two courses, $35 four courses or $45 for six courses. Was very reasonable we thought although they are tasting plates so you don't get a lot.

Without going into what we ate as I think the selections change often, we both thought the food was excellent and one of the best lunches we had ever had. The dessert was just heaven.

The service was excellent, the meals came in a timely manner, the staff very friendly, we could not fault it.

I saw the other comments regarding service but we did not experience this though there weren't many people there at the time. The waitress we had was very good but there was only one and if it had of been busier, she may have been overwhelmed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom11_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have been to the Fig Tree before as they usually have very good vegetarian options on their 4-course Thursday menu. This time, however, they obviously couldn't be bothered making any effort for vegetarians apart from some very small salad-type dishes and an incredibly boring stuffed tomato dish for main. The service was really poor - they forgot we were waiting for the main course (about an hour) and even took 20 minutes to prepare the bill. Definitely not good value for vegetarians and only marginally good value for meat-eaters as the courses are very small. We won't be going again

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank forgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We saw the menu for this restaurant online which looked superb (and was), however it seemed understaffed on the night, with some customers having to go and find the staff to ask for a drink.
We had the 6- course degustation, and were there for nearly 3 hours. We waited between 15 and 30 minutes for our empty plates to be cleared between courses, and were not offered extra drinks when we finished the first ones. The food was amazing, and the staff were obviously working hard, but it was clear that they were stressed and couldn't handle the number of customers, which was a pity as it would have added a lot to the experience.
The food would be worth returning for, but only on a quiet night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank ashw92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We ate here for New Years Eve and the meal started out excellently with lovely fresh produce put together in interesting ways. As the restaurant filled up things went downhill and it felt like all the staff were really stressed.. Not helped, I would think, by a head chef who acted like a bit of a bully. We waited 40 minutes between courses and our duck main was very tough and underdone.

We won't go back

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joegormally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

At the risk of making this place harder to get into than it already is I have to give the chef 5 stars for his fantastic cuisine. The quality of the ingredients shines through in all courses and the attention to detail is impressive. I've eaten at the restaurants of a number of celebrity chefs including Gordon Ramsay, Marco Pierre White and Neil Perry and I have to say that this experience was as satisfying as any of those at less than 20% of the price. The building itself is rustic but has a beautiful view over the countryside to the ocean and Byron Bay and the service is personable and reasonably efficient (although we did have 5 different people serving us during the course of the meal so I'm not sure how they distribute their tips). All in all its a real find and if you're in the area or like us an hour a way its worth a trip to sample their menu. It should be noted that the restaurant is booked out for weddings frequently so you'll need to book ahead.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We tried this restaurant to celebrate my husband's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The food was absolutely delicious, service was professional but friendly. We were made feel very welcome and our waiter was confident and knowledgeable about the menu. A wonderful location for a romantic dinner. We will certainly return and plan to make our next visit for lunch so we can take in the amazing views across to the lighthouse. .....and the pricing was VERY reasonable. Maybe we are used to city prices!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosA255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewingsdale
2 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
439 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#26 of 34 in Byron Bay
24 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#14 of 34 in Byron Bay
109 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms

Address: 4 Sunrise Lane | Ewingsdale Rd, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Ewingsdale
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Price Range: £45 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Restaurant And Rooms Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing