We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location for a wedding”

Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ewingsdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location for a wedding”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We attended a wedding here in early December. Sitting at the top of a hill, the venue is centred around a large fig tree that looks out to the ocean in the distance. It was a beautiful location to spend a summer's afternoon and evening, with us and other guests moving between drinks and canapes by the pool (just be careful you don't fall in - I was amazed none of us did!), playing petanque before dining on long tables on the lawn. In the evening we moved into the main building, which was quaintly decorated with antique and vintage furniture. Staff were quick and attentive. A very memorable event at a great place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConejaPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    4
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

From the welcome in the carpark to the amazing views to the sensational taste explosions that come with each mouthful this is one of the best fine dining experiences anywhere.
It is not open regularly so check and book in advance but don't miss this opportunity.
Head Chef Che is a true master.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ByronBayFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We visited The Fig Tree Restaurant & Rooms with it as a potential wedding venue in mind and enjoyed the superb degustation menu on a Sunday lunch. We sat on the deck by the pool and were struck by the beautiful locale, wonderful, attentive and friendly service and amazing food. Che is doing wonderful things with this place and we are looking forward to our celebration. The accommodation is immaculate and for us, only the word's 'perfect' sprang to mind. I honestly can't imagine why everyone wouldn't want to get married here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Wow, Walk don't run to the Fig Tree. We visited Byron Bay for the day and weren't sure where to get the best meal. Needless to say, we're so lucky tripadvisor lead us to the Fig Tree. With the beautiful views and superb menu it's head and shoulders above the other dining options in Byron.

Each course is small, tapas style, but good enough that you'd eat 10 times that portion. The tasting menu-style allows a customizable dining experience. The kitchen even made me a custom dessert becaue I can't eat dairy. Incredibly nice service, beautiful view, delectable food. What more could you want?

I olny wish I lived closer by so I could eat there more frequently.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

How can you not rave about The Fig Tree Restaurant. We were lucky enough to celebrate our daughter and son in laws wedding at this beautiful location. What a pleasure to sit beneath the fig tree for the ceremony and to toast the bride and groom with a glass of bubbles as we looked out towards the lighthouse. The lawn games were very popular with all ages, and the cocktails were enjoyed by both the guys and the girls. Wait staff were very friendly and couldn't help enough. We had a canapé wedding. It was the best wedding food I have tasted. Thank you to everyone for making this a day to remember.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Wow, what an amazing experience! We had the great pleasure of enjoying our son's wedding on Saturday 24th August at this lovely venue. What a great choice my son and his beautiful new wife made when they chose Fig Tree. Starting from the onsite accommodation where the bride and her bridal party enjoyed a leisurely start to the day, then the Ceremony held under the fig tree with the gorgeous view of Byron to add to the experience, on to canapés and cocktails by the pool then at sunset, into the charming reception rooms, where the meal was the best wedding food we have ever experienced. I have to add, the staff couldn't have been more attentive. Thank you all involved for helping to make this the occasion the newly married couple deserved.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

fig tree was just the most amazing place and dining experience. we all had the 6 course tasting menu and couldn't believe the quality. such friendly staff and a great atmosphere. the owner happily shared the history of this place which made it even more special. will definately be back n hopefully our friends choose this place as their wedding destination :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessntimtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewingsdale
2.0 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
3.2 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#25 of 32 in Byron Bay
23 reviews
3.2 mi away
Atlantic Byron Bay
Atlantic Byron Bay
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
269 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms

Property: Fig Tree Restaurant and Rooms
Address: 4 Sunrise Lane | Ewingsdale Rd, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Ewingsdale
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
Fig Tree Restaurant And Rooms Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing