We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds but rooms are dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful grounds but rooms are dated”
Reviewed 16 February 2009

When you arrive at this property you will love the beauty of the driveway ( and this was in summer - i can only imagine how beautiful it must be in Autumn when the leaves change colour) and the grounds that surround it. We booked our stay on wotif.com and cant help but feel we got the most dated room on the property for this reason. Coming from Victoria's other property at Watego's we were thinking the furnishings in the room would be of equal quality. However, there was no phone in our room, the tv was tiny and wouldnt tune in to the stations properly, the curtain was falling apart, the room had alot of bugs and the decor was just dated. However, I really think if you had a room in the main house this would all be different as the main living area is stunning. The grounds are fablous and Victoria is lovely. I think if we were to stay here again we would spend the extra money and get a better room.

  • Liked — The frounds and the living area in the main house
  • Disliked — the dated room we stayed in
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriasae, Manager at Victoria's at Ewingsdale, responded to this review, 27 February 2009
We are saddened to learn that this accommodation experience was not wholly enjoyed.

Victoria’s is a place of romance & relaxation in French Provincial surroundings. The emphasis at Victoria’s is on time out from the world to reconnect with one another. We do not try to emulate modern hotel rooms, but rather, provide an ambient setting with candles, fireplaces and spas with many luxury add-ons. It is for this reason, that guests choose to return time & time again and come to celebrate weddings, anniversaries and other special occasions. Though for those guests that cannot do without the outside world- TV, DVD, wireless internet, telephone are all available.

We pride ourselves on our 5-star accreditation and first class customer service, and had we been advised at the time of any concerns, they would have been promptly rectified. The private stone “Cottage” which was reviewed, located in the tropical gardens behind the lagoon pool, should have been an ideal setting for an engagement celebration complete with the complimentary bottle of champagne on offer. And as the amazing deal booked online through wotif was around 65% off the usual price, we feel this review is not a true reflection of the experience provided.

We invite other travellers to view the images on our website or contact us to arrange an inspection prior to booking.

We do hope to welcome our guests back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

We went up to Byron for a wedding up in the hills somewhere (gawd nose how we would have found it if Victoria hadnt given us directions). Flew into Gold Coast and hired a car. We were only there overnight but believe me once we arrived at around 2pm, I did not want to leave (or even go to the wedding for that matter!!). It was lovely, quiet, tranquil and just devine, the sort of place you would want to live. Victoria's teenage son attended to us on arrival as we were running late and was quite the gentleman. The breakfast was to DIE for, we also had to decline the champers as driving back that morning to the gold coast to fly out. Had never been to Byron before, and when I go back I will be staying here again (or maybe at Victoria's Wattego - on the beach) for at least 3 or 4 days.

  • Liked — Peaceful
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohFussyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We had a one night stay here recently, and so glad we chose this property. Although only travelling from the Gold Coast (1 1/2hrs) It felt like we were a world away! for the weekend. We were booked into the cottage, which was a stand alone stone cottage, and just lovely with everything you would need, fireplace included. Any of the other accomodation options looked as though they would also be great.

The grounds were just beautiful,and would be lovely in summer so that you could use the pool. The host Victoria was very friendly (her breakfast to die for).

The drive to Byron was no problem as we were not interested in staying in town. Would have dined at the Figtree (close by) if not booked out.

Romantic, Relaxing and Refreshing, we would definately go back.

  • Liked — Location, cottage, grounds, breakfast
  • Disliked — Stay too short
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank camclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

We stayed one night at Victoria's at Ewingsdale whilst driving up the New South Wales coast. We wish we could have stayed longer as the property is superb.

Personally managed by Victoria herself the property is on a hill outside Byron Bay. An avenue of trees leads down to the house which is set in beautiful gardens.

We were the only guests the night we stayed but the welcome was warm and friendly. We had called ahead and ordered a BBQ which we cooked ourselves. There was excellent meat with a beautiful salad washed down with a good wine. Victoria was on hand to help if we needed it. There were many places to relax including an excellent lounge but we sat in the garden as it was so beautiful.

Our room was great with a huge bathroom. All of the facilities were of high quality with a great deal of attention being given to important details like good quality toiletries and a well stocked reasonably priced mini bar.

Breakfast was included and despite being the only guests the buffet was beautifully arranged and Victoria cooked us cheese souffles which were delicious. We had to decline the offered glass of Champagne as we had a drive to do.

Having stayed in Bed and Breakfasts around the world I do not think I have ever seen a better example than Victoria's.

  • Liked — The personal service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

Beautiful guesthouse, great rooms. Wonderful family staff who seem to love sharing their home with you. Imaginative breakfasts. Sure Ewingsdale is a bit out of Byron and in the bush not the beach but this lovely place more than makes up for its location. And still only a 10 min drive / cab into Byron. We'll be back. J&M

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bradshjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewingsdale
2.4 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
333 reviews
1.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
3.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Victoria's at Wategos
Victoria's at Wategos
#13 of 32 in Byron Bay
95 reviews
4.5 mi away
Watermark at Wategos
Watermark at Wategos
#24 of 32 in Byron Bay
23 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria's at Ewingsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria's at Ewingsdale

Property: Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Address: Top of McGettigans Lane, Ewingsdale, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay > Ewingsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ewingsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria's at Ewingsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria's at Ewingsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria's At Ewingsdale Byron Bay, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing