We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They don't change the sheets!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Mount Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ivy Mount Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Eccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They don't change the sheets!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed here over 6 months ago and was overwhelmed by the friendliness of the hosts They kindly agreed to allow me to leave my bag in my room whilst I attended a meeting on my departure day. When I returned at around 3pm to collect my bag the room had been beautifully cleaned and ready for the next guest- or had it??? I had accidently marked the bottom sheet with lipstick before I left and when I checked the bedding I was absolutely horrified to discover that my used and slept in sheet was still on thebed for the next guest!!! Had I slept in somebody elses sheets?? I will never know!! They knew I was returning for my bag so surely would have made sure the bed was pristine. Scarred me for ever - no more B and B's for me

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Firstly,i dont no why it took you six months to write this review?? and i have looked at your other reviews on trip adviser,and they are all bad too?? but i have to say we do change all the beds when people leave! paul (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    107
    29
    20
    22
See reviews for
79
154
89
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

stayed one night 25th november,room comfortable, floor and bed squeeked when moving or walking,only one cup in double room,didnt ask for another but should be two, breakfast room small and stuffy ,but breakfast good, paul the owner was very helpful with information

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beenbe4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you very much for your review,really sorry you only had one cup in your room! you should of said,i would of got you another one straight away,so sorry once again...also in the new year,we are looking at other ways to make breakfast time a little less crampt????
we are looking at a breakfast in your room option?? or maybe doing sittings?? dont no yet,but looks like we will go for the break fast in the rooms? for all en suite customers?? and also putting fridges in them rooms as well??? for fresh milk ect.......thank you once again for the review.....all the best paul....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My finace and I spent a night at Ivy Mount and found the host Paul extremely accomodating and helpful with bus times and booking a taxi on the evening for us. Our room was nice, clean had a good TV, plenty of mirrors and sockets but a little cramped with a table and two chairs near to hanging space, but otherwise fine. The bathroom was also modern and the shower, although a small cubicle, had good water pressure and was clean.

My only real criticism is the size of the dining room. It has three tables and can only seat 10 people at a time. Without extending though, I don't see how this problem can be easily alleviated, perhaps a breakfast rota for guests explained on arrival, especially if you are in a rush on the morning. I enjoyed the cooked breakfast and toast was lovely, orange juice would have been nicer is not from concentrate and bigger mugs for tea, but these are minimal inconveniences. We shared a table with a father and his young son, who were chatty and friendly, but generally we'd prefer our own table and to have more elbow and leg room.

A pleasant stay, unfortunately we payed more due to the football being on, which was mentioned on the website about events making room charges extra. Good value at normal rate, a bit expensive for event rate.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review here at the Ivy Mount, sorry about your breakfast experiance,as we only get this at weekends,due to every body comming down the last few minutes of the serving???
we are looking at this in the new year,and are thinking of giving our customers the option of having break fast in your room,and also putting fridges in there as well for fresh milk ect...
thank you once again..all the best paul.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed here when watching Peter Kay at the MEN in October 2011. Lovely staff, breakfast was included in the price of £49.00 a night for two adults! Breakfast was lovely & filling! After watching Peter Kay we went out in Manchester City Centre which was 10 minutes from the hotel in a taxi. Only problem was we only had one room key. My sister went home earlier than me & our friends so we was a little stranded when we got back to the hotel because we was told the reception was 24 hour but nobody seemed to be there. So after 10 minutes of waiting outside another guest in the hotel let us in! (After ringing the buzzer too many times) wooops! All in all a cheap, friendly stay & extremely clean!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review!!! i hope peter kay was good?? and thank you for your kind comments..as reguarding the key situation,i do only have one key per room,but we have key safes at the front door,that are alicated for every room,so next time you come here,i will explain!!! once again thank you very much and all the best from the Ivy Mount..cheers paul......we have a video on my web site about the key safes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

lovely owners and soo helpful! we got great directions to the trafford centre.. when the sat nav got lost! its within walking distance of the train station, which was cheap and straight in to the city centre!

we had a very top room with a shared bathroom - although we actually had it to ourselves :D

the bathroom was small.. but fantastically set up! great shower! and very very clean!

the bedroom was extremely clean with some great amenities - mini ironing board (great for my mini iron!) tea and coffee making facilities, big tv, big mirror and dresser, and the softest towels!!

we had a lovely trip to the trafford centre for shopping and dinner, then went back to the B&B (on a miserably raining night) and watched tv in our lovely cosey room! just bliss!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you very much for your BRILLINT REVIEW,im so pleased you had a great stay with us at the Ivy Mount Guest House,and i hope to see you both when you are back in manchester.....once again thank you all the best paul......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

A b&b that doesn't provide basic toiletries is a bit unusual. That it doesn't even put a hand towel in the "bathroom" seems miserly. It also makes operating the broken lock with a wet hand more difficult. To call a shower room a "bathroom" when it is so small that you can put your foot on the toilet seat to dry off while still standing in the shower cubicle is stretching the name a touch. A "beautiful room" doesn't usually have painted woodchip on the walls, loose wiring to one of the bedside lights and no light above the (not matching the rest of the room) mirror over the sink.

There is something strange going on with the floors in this place, they seem to go everywhere except in a level plane. Quite disconcerting and disorienting.

To get anywhere near satisfactory: provide toiletries, do some maintenance, provide two towels per person rather than one, put a hand towel in the "bathroom", put a bin in the "bathroom" (otherwise what's the point of the sanitary bags?).

The proprietor was very friendly at breakfast, although I would have liked to be asked if I wanted butter on my toast. Is there another dining room because the breakfast room was tiny for the number of rooms in the place. There were place settings for ten people (which would have been crazy) but there are something like 8-10 rooms.

Strange place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 937KMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review,really sorry you did not have a great stay with us!!! if you would of mentioned the problems i would of sorted them all out for you.....but you should not have to i know... so once again sorry...
has reguarding toiletries,we dont provide them to the basic room witch you had booked,only in the en suite rooms so sorry about that!
also about the other things you have mentioned about the rooms,all the pictures of the rooms are on our web site,also there are videos on all the rooms too.
reguarding the breakfast room we are working on a solution in the new year! break fast in your room solution???
but we will see..
once again thank you very for your review
all the best paul...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

What a beautiful, friendly guest house. Ideal location for getting around, 5 mins from the tram and bus station. Stayed in a double ensuite room, comfortable, clean and all necessities provided for, iron and board, towels and soap and tea and coffee. Easy parking with no restrictions. Top marks for Paul the host, definitely makes it feel like home which is great when your there for an important interview and feeling nervous!! Thank-you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Well firstly, i hope you got the job!!! (GOOD LUCK) and it was really nice to meet you and your friend! and make sure you pop in and say hello when you get that job!!!! all the best paul....(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccles
2.5 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
2.3 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.2 mi away
Hello Hotel Manchester
Hello Hotel Manchester
#1 of 2 in Swinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Trafford Centre West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Mount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Mount Guest House

Property: Ivy Mount Guest House
Address: 35 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Mount Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy Mount Guest House offers quality bed & breakfast accommodation in Eccles, Manchester. We are known for our warm welcome & friendly atmosphere. Variety of comfortable rooms, some en-suite, WiFi & Flatscreen TVs/ Freeview all rooms. Full English breakfast. Easy tram, bus & rail links to City Centre, Salford Quays, Old Trafford, Salford Royal Hospital & Trafford Shopping Centre. 2 mins from M602 motorway jct 2. We now have just opened our own Bar,seat 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ivy Mount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Mount Guest House Hotel Eccles
Ivy Mount Guest House Greater Manchester/Eccles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing