We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ivy Mount Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Eccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wouldn't come back!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed at the Ivy Mount Guest House and after one night of a two night stay I am fed up with it! The bed's are creek and are not at all comfy, the room was too hot, on a angle and with traffic going past regularly during the night it makes it practically impossible to sleep here and as I had been up since 5 am I was not best pleased! If it wasn't for the room being paid for in advance I would have been happier to sleep on the back seats of the car. Worst of all this was supposed to the start of a family holiday to relax after I had finished my exams. The only good thing I have to say about the Ivy Mount is that me and my family were met by the owner who was polite and helpful also there is free WIFI. When I was first showed my room I was happy but as I started to look around the happy feeling did not last very long, as I realised my room was wonky, the TV was too small, the wall paper was coming off the walls and there had been some shocking repair work to cover up the cracks in the walls, the wooden flooring didn't even go from wall to wall, as it stop and left a gap between the wall and the flooring! I would highly recommend booking your stays elsewhere in Manchester!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
I have been sat in front of my computer ,staring at the screen,for about half an hour,wondering what has gone wrong?? i have never had a “I wouldn't come back!” in the 13 years of doing this.
Firstly SORRY!!!! i hate to think any one has had a bad stay with us,it breaks my heart.
i have had two bad reviews in the space of a week,its just unheard of,so all this means is i have got to pick my game up.so thank you for letting me know!
(also if you would of said,when you checked in i would of moved you happily)
I have close my diary this week so i can get all this work done A.S.A.P,and have hired a wall paper stripper,thrown lots of furniture out.and i promise you all these problems will be sorted out with in the week...
Once again thank you!!!
If you would like to give me a call,so i can apologies personally,please do!
07976208761
Paul (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    113
    29
    21
    23
See reviews for
85
159
90
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My father and his friend stayed at Ivy Mount recently, they had a great and comfortable stay. Paul and his family made them feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for Paul and the family, and even when my father's friend left something behind in their room, Paul took the time to search for it and posted it back to me free of charge. Very happy with this. My father and his friend found Ivy Mount comfortable, clean and great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for the review,tell your dad thank you for staying with us here at the Ivy Mount,and i hope he and his friend visit us once again, some time soon!
all the best Paul..(owner)
07976208761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here during a business trip. My room was by the front door facing the main road. The room itself was very, very tired. The wallpaper was peeling and there were holes in the wall, the mattress springs were poking through and the duvet was stained. The ensuite bathroom was clean but the toilet roll holder was hanging off the wall. There is a hideously massive TV on the wall; the money would've been better spent on decorating the room to a more welcoming and acceptable standard. Luckily the room was surprisingly quiet as the main road is not used heavily at night. However this room is above the kitchen and it really smells once the fryer for breakfast gets going. There is also the noise of the front door to contend with. Breakfast is fine, nothing special, and you make your own tea and coffee from an urn; reminding me of a greasy spoon. Paul is kind and pleasant, qualities which I would say prompt most of the good reviews, but the overall standard doesn't compare favourably to other similar 3 star B&Bs I've stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamworth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Well all i can say is SORRY for your bad stay with us here at the Ivy Mount,it breaks my heart,it really does,but thank you so much for letting me know! as for your well deserved points,the first thing i have done is shut room 1,and hired a steamer,and striped all the walls.
the room is getting a total make over,new furniture the lot....and it will get a bit smaller TV.
Once again thank you so much for your valid points,i will try my up most best to resolve these problems A.S.A.P
Cheers a very un happy Owner Paul
Sorry!
If you would like to give me a call,so i can say sorry myself please do!
07976208761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A very pleasant guest house, affordable, extremely clean and well looked after. The parking is quite limited, but there was plenty of space on the roadside if the car park is already full.

It was really helpful to have a dvd player in the room too, which I didn't know about before (I had a training dvd to watch for the course I was attending).

The owner, Paul, seemed lovely even though I only met him briefly. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: There is a road at the front, so request a back room if traffic noise will bother you. All the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashauke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for the review,sorry i did not get longer to speak to you,but im glad you had a great stay with us here at the Ivy Mount Guest House...
once again thank you,and all the best from the Paul (owner)
07976208761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst on a course at the hospital nearby. Very handy location for that purpose and lovely clean rooms. Best bit is Paul the owner... really friendly and makes you feel like you've been a friend of his forever!! Thanks Paul and so sorry it took me so long to write this review!! Will definitely recommend and would certainly stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
It Does not matter how long it has took you to write this review???
It is that you have in the end, so thank you so much.....
I LOVE MEETING NEW PEOPLE,AND MY JOB LETS ME DO THAT!!!! I AM BLESSED!!!!!!!
Thank you so much for the review,and i think i have made a new friend...
All the best from a sunny Manchester
bye Paul (owner)
07976208761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed at Ivy Mount as I was attending a course in Eccles. Paul was absolutely great!! very friendly and helpful.He helped me with directions to my venue and recommended some places to see.The location is good -close to the tram and bus station.The room was comfortable, clean and well equipped.The place is a great value for money and I would definitely stay there again. Thank you Paul

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyaniH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you so much for the review...people like you make my job GREAT!!!
once again Thank You
all the best from a Happy Owner....
Paul
07976208761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Booked a double room with shared bathroom - on arrival was upgraded to ensuite, simply because they had one available. Lovely room - immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Very comfortable bed, really helpful welcome binder giving me wifi code and listing available facilities. Mentioned a hairdryer I hadn't seen - found it in a drawer - lovely surprise. Mentioned tea and coffee making facilities and an ironing board - found them tucked away in the wardrobe so that when you walk in the room you get the full effect of it's charm and elegance, but then you find all these extras tucked away - loved it! Lovely big TV mounted on the wall. Quiet location - easy to park. Owners were so friendly and helpful. I had a lovely nights sleep (unusual for me, particularly when away from home) and generally a really enjoyable stay. I wish I'd been staying longer - highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryJoHodgkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you so much for such a great Review!!!!
I hope you had a great night in Manchester??? and i hope to see you again very soon!
bye Paul (owner)
07976208761
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccles
2.5 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
2.3 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
3.0 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
632 reviews
2.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Mount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Mount Guest House

Property: Ivy Mount Guest House
Address: 35 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Mount Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy Mount Boutique offers quality bed & breakfast accommodation in Eccles, Manchester. We are known for our warm welcome & friendly atmosphere. Variety of comfortable rooms, some en-suite, WiFi & Flatscreen TVs/ Freeview all rooms. Full English breakfast. Easy tram, bus & rail links to City Centre, Salford Quays, Old Trafford, Salford Royal Hospital & Trafford Shopping Centre. 2 mins from M602 motorway jct 2. We now have just opened our own Bar,seat 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ivy Mount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Mount Guest House Hotel Eccles
Ivy Mount Guest House Greater Manchester/Eccles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing