We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ivy Mount Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Eccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Friendly, clean, good value and the best cooked breakfast I've had in ages. I'll be returning next time I'm on business in Manchester.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338Robin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 16 January 2011
Thank you very much for your BRILLIANT!!! review,and i look farward to seeing you again,when you are back in manchester,all the best paul....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    114
    29
    21
    24
See reviews for
85
161
92
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

A very nice clean accomodation, well suited to our needs.
The service was great and with a smile, uncommon in some hotels these days!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review here at the ivy mount,and i am looking farward to meeting you again in the future,all the best paul...thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Ivy Mount is a friendly, comfortable Bed & Breakfast. Good access to Manchester as it is an easy walk from the Metro and Main Line stations and on a good bus route. We found it to be a relaxing and welcoming place to stay whilst my husband had treatment at the Salford Royal Hospital; again this is only a short walk away.
The owner, Paul, and his family are friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
I will certainly stay here again for either business or pleasure visits to Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn-Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 14 December 2010
thanks very much for taking the time to give us a review,hope everything went well with your husbands opp,and look farward to seeing you both again,when back in sunny Manchester,all the best paul.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2010

if you are looking for a quiet and restful sleep this place aint it, we were disturbed all night long with people coming and going, the floor is wooden so here people walking about, early morning (6am) people getting ready for breakfast with out consideration for others still trying to sleep they didnt even lower their voices. There was no wardrobe just a rail above the tv, i had to clime to reach the kettle and cups. The room was not finnished with bare wood door frames, wires exposed, holes in the wall and it was dirty! the plugs were covered in dust also was the floor and behind the bed was awful. The only thing positive about the ivymount was the room was warm and the bed was cumfy. I certainly wouldnt recomend this place to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyqueenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 8 December 2010
well firstly i would like to say sorry you did not have a good stay with us at the ivy mount,as this is no excuse,but we are haveing alot of work done on the bnb at the moment,and room number 1 is the last room to be done.but all the work will be complete for christmas,so i am sorry about that! thank you for the review, all the other issues will be delt with A S A P,all the best paul....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2010

This is my 3rd year, 1 weekend a month staying at the Ivy mount. Paul and Geeta are so warm, friendly and welcoming. It sadden's me having just read a review of 1 families difficult stay, I can't imagine Paul not trying his upper most to accommodate in what sounded very difficult circumstances. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. The showers are warm and may feel a little small if you are above a average size. My only negative is that I never get to taste the soup because if it's anything like Paul's breakfast Im sure its fab.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jloseby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review here at the ivy mount,and also thank you for your kind words about the bnb,and i hope two see you back here soon! all the best paul....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Pauls experience working away from home shows through,and he makes every effort to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
thank you very very much for the review,and i am glad you had a great stay with us at the ivy mount guest house,and i hope to see you again when working in manchester.all the best paul..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2010

14 of my family members booked in to the Ivy mount for 1 night as we were attending a wedding near by. When booking the owner was notified that one of the party members had not long had an operation on her foot and could not walk. We asked for a ground floor room because of this and were told this was no problem. However we were not advised that the guest house was up a steep hill of decking type steps. Don't you think this should have been made clear on booking? Once we had got the person in after a lot of hard work we were to find that the en-suite in her room was the wierdest cubicle like thing with a high step to get in so hence she couldnt use that either. By this time the owner had skulked off with no regret of the lack of information he had given us. She managed to use a shared toilet and the door did not shut. The place is being renovated and there were ladders and decorating stuff blocking a door, losse wires were on display along with piping, not good! The steps down to the tiny dining room were very steep and there was no way that some of our family would have ever got down there. Paul did offer to bring breakfast in bed to these family members which was pleasant. We never saw the owner again all communication was done through an intercom which was rude considering he knew of our dilema. We in the end had to pack back up and go home without staying the night as it just was not suitable. We got no decent apolagy or offer of refund.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon33_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivymount, Owner at Ivy Mount Guest House, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
well firstly i would like to say sorry that you did not stay here at the ivy mount,but out of the fourteen only five left,and all the others had a good stay here with us at the ivy mount,also you did ask for a ground floor room,but there was no mention of a foot opperatation?and i helped get your daughter up thefront stairs and to her room.also i offerd any one breakfast in bed who could not get down the stairs! as reguards a refund you arrived at one oclock in the afternoon,and told me you where leaving at eight oclock in the evening,and never mentioned anything about the bnb,you said your husband was ill?all in all i am really sorry you had a bad stay here,but also i am really upset,because i try my hardest to make all my guests have a great stay here at the ivy mount,and have been working hard to keep my 100% on trip adviser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccles
2.3 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
2.5 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Salford Quays
3.0 mi away
Campanile Manchester
Campanile Manchester
#18 of 20 in Salford
638 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Trafford Centre North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Mount Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Mount Guest House

Property: Ivy Mount Guest House
Address: 35 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9AY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Mount Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ivy Mount Boutique offers quality bed & breakfast accommodation in Eccles, Manchester. We are known for our warm welcome & friendly atmosphere. Variety of comfortable rooms, some en-suite, WiFi & Flatscreen TVs/ Freeview all rooms. Full English breakfast. Easy tram, bus & rail links to City Centre, Salford Quays, Old Trafford, Salford Royal Hospital & Trafford Shopping Centre. 2 mins from M602 motorway jct 2. We now have just opened our own Bar,seat 30 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Ivy Mount Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Mount Guest House Hotel Eccles
Ivy Mount Guest House Greater Manchester/Eccles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing