We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Home”
Review of Ascott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Eccles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Better than Home”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just finished a quick trip to Manchester.Travelling on my own l was so happy to find this little treasure .The Ritz of the North . Amazing hospitality given by all staff.Better than any Hotel. Fantastic nights sleep in super comfy bed. Rooms fully equipped with all the comforts of home.Breakfast delicious every day with a great variety to choose from. Definitely great value for money . . Have recommended this little gem to all my friends and family for a superb stay. Home away from Home. Cant wait to go back . Amanda

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    77
    12
    9
    14
See reviews for
35
131
45
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I have stayed at the Ascott twice now whilst in Manchester for work and both times I have really been made to feel at home. The rooms have everything you could need, they are clean and comfortable, and each has it's own unique character whilst still in keeping with the building as a whole.

The breakfast is superb and I cannot speak any higher of the staff who are extremely friendly and will go to great lengths to help you whether that be giving directions, restaurant recommendations or even a little history of the local area.

I really recommend the hotel as a great option if you are looking for superb value for money and a genuine friendly welcome.

As this is a owner run hotel do try and book direct with the hotel instead of one of the many booking websites. It is not cheaper to book through one of these websites and if you do book direct (as I have on both occasions) the hotel will give you a free room upgrade if available.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and The Ascott hotel was in a good residential area of Eccles I was looking for a good priced accomodation which offered breakfast as most manchester hotels charged it as an extra and were very expensive during the Ashes being on or time of year!, We wanted to go to see the cricket (Ashes ) and did not want to drive so got the metrolin tram from the town centre no problems just a short walk to tram stop. We had a trip to city without driving, the car stayed in hotel car park
The bed and breakfast establishment had four stars,staff who we met were helpful and unobtrusive breakfast was excellent, however an extra charge for smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or kippers was unfair in my opinion,
The bedroom was nice, facilities good, however noise from downstairs until 2am and traffic noise with windows open during the hot weather spoilt our ability to sleep Saturday can only think a party was going on.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor bedroom if you cannot climb staircase easily
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidAscott, Manager at Ascott Hotel, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your review as you pointed out most of the hotels you looked at charged for breakfast
Between £14 -£20 per person they also charge a supplement for smoked salmon/kippers Approx
£5- £7 per person we charge £2.50 and as you pointed out the breakfast is free. We charge a supplement on these items because of the amount of waste, we throw a lot away because ours is fresh not frozen.

As too the noise from another guests room you could have telephoned reception ( the phone is next to my bed) And we could have asked them to be quiet.
On your departure you were asked if you had a pleasant stay or had had any problems you said, no
it was lovely .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Superb place to stay, excellent staff, tasty cooked breakfast with good quality produce, decorated in keeping with the building, spotless clean and the best nights sleep I've ever had in any hotel. There are just not enough compliments I can give this place but I will be recommending to all my family and I can't wait to go back. Plus it's approx 1.5 m from the Trafford centre and very close to old Trafford for anyone interested. Oh and excellent value for money!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ladymarmalade40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed in this delightful hotel for three nights during a works trip. Friendly owners, clean well furnished rooms and a hearty breakfast made my stay in Manchester very enjoyable. Has more of a B&B feel than a hotel but would recommend highly. Walking distance to Salford Royal Hospital and local shops.

Room Tip: Apparently the small single room is very small. The owner informed me of this and thus I changed roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Quiet hotel in a nice area. Short walk to local high street. Everything you could want for a short stay break if visiting this location. Rooms clean and comfortable with wifi and en suite bathroom was more than adequate.
The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks whilst working up here. The rooms i had were both large and comfortable with an en suite bathroom.
The breakfast was exceptional, all made fresh to order.
I would defintely stay here qgain.

Room Tip: Only suggestion would be in the summer have some thicker curtains. In my first room (121) i awoke ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eccles
2.7 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
2.0 mi away
Novotel Manchester West
2.4 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Quays Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hello Hotel Manchester
Hello Hotel Manchester
#1 of 2 in Swinton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Hotel

Property: Ascott Hotel
Address: 6 Half Edge Lane, Eccles, Salford M30 9GJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Salford > Eccles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eccles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ascott Hotel Manchester situated in a leafy suburb 5 miles from Manchester city centre (10 minutes by car). Our tastefully restored Victorian town house close to Monton Village with its wealth of eating places and offers individually styled rooms and also has a large period style guest lounge. We are very proud of the fact that the hotel was voted Best B&B of 2004, and has also appeared in Coronation Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Hotel Greater Manchester/Eccles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing