We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first & last”
Review of Selo Deli - CLOSED

Selo Deli
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 19 April 2014

we were visiting the area from Derbyshire & have not been to Monton village for some years, so
we thought we would call into a couple of shops we used to use. As we had half an hour spare & my cousin wanted to use the Loo, we thought we would go to a cafe. Two venues didnt have a customer Loo, but it was 3rd time lucky for a Loo at the Selo Deli (or was it ?) The lady who took our order looked so miserable & never gave us a smile or a warm Hello, but apart from that, i ordered a Smoked Salmon & Cream Cheese Bagel. The Bagel was hard & the Salmon was black in places. When i complained, the other Lady on the Till said to me the reasons for this are because .... " A Bagel is meant to be Crispy !" & " The Salmon is black because of how it was smoked". !!! I pointed out to her that i had been in catering for many years & i would never serve food of that quality. Not good. Even the presentation was uninspiring...... EVERYTHING apart from the DECOR was very bland. We were though grateful for the use of the Loo, but blimey, what a trek that was ! If you had mobility problems you couldnt use them anyway. Our first & last time at the Selo Deli.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irena k, Owner at Selo Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your review which has saddened and alarmed us and we can only apologise. We have spent months building up Selo, which is a little gem, so we're disheartened to hear you have had a less than favourable experience. We have in place a hard working staff who, we believe, would also think it unacceptable that you didn't get a warm welcome and that the food was not of the standards we insist on. We will review this immediately. Customer service, quality and value for money are top of our agenda and your experience does not reflect this - we hope you will forgive this slip of standards and review us again in future.
Your value rating was also low, which is dissapointing, as we are actually the most competitively priced cafe on our street. Also, our Jewish bagels, unlike shop bought ones, do have a crusty surface though it should be soft in the centre. The smoked salmon can sometimes get cut very close to the skin which could cause the pink flesh to be discoloured slightly and this darker colouration was on a batch of smoked salmon two weeks ago though super fresh. Nevertheless, you should have been served a nice plump bagel, soft inside, lots of cream cheese, a good amount of salmon, dill on top, and a lemon wedge on the side. We will check why this didn't happen to you. Should you ever venture back we would welcome it and would really value a second visit to know if improvements have been made since your last review. Sorry again for the inconvenience to the loo, we're still in the process of decorating it as it was a staff loo only before. Monton has no public loos too which is a little frustrating for all and something that needs addressing. We do hope we see you again if only as a mystery shopper and to see if your review has any impact. We hope you will see that it has and we thank you once again for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Selo Deli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great for meetings & coffee, sandwiches are really tasty, especially the salt beef, good range of food & some grocery items too!! Home of the Monton Tart!!! Can't be bad!! Recommended for lunch or a coffee.

1  Thank Russsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Nice clean coffee shop with a comfortable sofa if you happen to be first in.

What stands out is their great scheme to 'buy a stranger a coffee' - you pay for an extra drink, recorded on a blackboard and then dispensed to someone in need over the next few days. Fantastic idea (and staff who inspire confidence in their own integrity)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foodandkindness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Fantastic coffee great food love the decor... love this place...enjoyed many hours lunch with the girls watching monton high st

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank desisisterjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Lovely looking cafe / deli and my first impression on entering was good but the member of staff serving was not friendly and seemed reluctant to describe the dishes on offer (which looked delicious) Also refused to let me use 'staff' restroom so unfortunately won't visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BizyLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irena k, Owner at Selo Deli, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hell Bizylizzie, we are really disappointed that you experienced a slip of good service. We do apologise and sincerely thank you for your input. We are rectifying this and urge you to visit again to compare experiences and help us improve our service overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Selo Deli also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing