We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Headley Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sleaford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Headley Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sleaford
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visited Headley Park for afternoon tea as a 21st birthday celebration. Had purchased a deal for 4 via Groupon and had pre-booked. When we arrived they couldn't find our reservation and, as it was raining and we didn't want to sit on the wooden picnic tables outside, we were directed to the bar. Could have put up with that if the food and service was up to standard but, sadly, it wasn't. Not worth the money even with the Groupon deal.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    32
    15
    15
    32
See reviews for
22
46
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Beautiful setting, Lovely Staff, Home cooked food, what more could you want?
We were made very welcome despite the fact there were 2 functions on, nothing was too much trouble, already booked another visit.

Room Tip: Lake view and not above the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Took my friend for a birthday treat. Afternoon tea was average. No selection of teas available, scones were stale, cakes and sandwiches Ok. Service was friendly but would have to say would have liked to have seen the staff attired in a more professional dress code. Agree with one reviewer that pub type picnic tables were not really what one would expect from a country house hotel. Lovely setting, but spoilt by unkept grounds which together with the shabby hotel need quite a bit of TLC to bring it up to a decent standard. Agree with one reviewer regarding the toilet decor, very tacky.
There was one still out of order, the other in a disgusting state, leaving only one left to use. I doubt I will go back. Apparently the hotel is privately owned, suggest they get another hotel chain involved to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EIMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place needs closing down immediately. It is dirty, windows are rotten, carpets stained, no towels, laundry left in bags in the corridoors, inexperienced staff, curtains hanging off, really old cobwebs and lots of them.

Sorry but I have not got one good thing to say about this place!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank krakow2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sleaford hotels

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights as we were attending a function. We had the family room where the carpet was black and sticky with stains. The bathroom and toilet were old and filthy and the furniture all broken, lamps not working, curtains not attached to poles properly. Breakfast was swimming in grease and the crockery chipped and stained. The staff are young and inexperienced and we were woken with the smell of fag smoke and loud talking at 6am each morning as our room was over the corner they all smoked in. Bags of dirty laundry were dumped in the corridor and the keys to the doors didn't work properly. Friends who were staying had similar complaints about their rooms. When we left they did have the decency to charge us half the price but didn't seem that surprised that we were complaining! Won't be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh8969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Visited Headly Park Hotel for an afternnoon tea, although there seemed to be an event on it didn't stop us! The event didn't get in the way of our quiet time.
Afternooon tea was lovely and much more than we could eat. It was delightful and the service was great.
I can see that the house is under some ground works and once finished will be beautiful, the grounds are spectacular and I am definately returning with my boys for some fun the the woods and fishing in the lake.

Room Tip: Call ahead of booking and check to see if events are on to avoid any unwanted surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Visited Headley Park for afternoon tea. Option of eating outside on a beautiful afternoon but picnic benches and brewery umbrellas weren't quite what I expected. Went inside to confirm our booking, very tired interior. Visited the loo, one of the three in the ladies was broken, decor weird...luminous green organza curtains with large glitter butterflies attached and a notice advising that the taking or dealing in drugs would lead to arrest and prosecution!
Tea was served outside at a very ambient temperature, it must have been out of the fridge/freezer for some time. Four crustless quarters - egg, ham and mustard, smoked salmon, cheese and pickle with a cube of apple cake (I think), a huge rectangle of what I'm pretty certain was commercial chocolate fudge cake more usually served as dessert in chain restaurants and a scone with Tiptree strawberry jam and what should have been a delicious tub of Rhodda's clotted cream. However this was also at a temperature which suggested it had been opened and left out of the fridge for some time as it was of pouring consistency and ran off the scone. Crockery was thick white hotelware BUT the teapot did not drip and regrettably this is the only positive thing I can record. Being afternoon tea afficionados we wondered how this had come about. All I can think is that when they have pre-bookings, and you have to pre-book, they plate up and thaw out the pre-frozen components of the meal. The lady that served us was very pleasant - I wish the same could be said of the afternoon tea.

Room Tip: we did not stay over
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sleaford
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
4.5 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
3.2 mi away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headley Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headley Park Hotel

Property: Headley Park Hotel
Address: Picketts Hill, Sleaford GU35 8TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sleaford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sleaford
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Headley Park Hotel Sleaford, Hampshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing