We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B+B Wickham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B+B Wickham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wickham
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We loved this hotel, lovely rooms, beautiful food, we had dinner with friends who came to join us for supper, food beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. Service was extremely good. Breakfast was cooked to order and again was lovely. Wickham is a delightful place to while away a few hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susie55r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Wickham.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again soon.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    107
    45
    25
    15
See reviews for
63
197
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Appreciated staying in a hotel with historical character (original windows and doors) that has been sensitively modernised. This is unlike many where modernisation has meant the unnecessary replacement of original features - so that much of the character is lost.
Great room overlooking square. Excellent breakfast. Evening meal superb with excellent service.
Wickham is a quiet, attractive small market town away from busy main roads. We used public transport and found that it worked well - a short bus journey to Fareham where there frequent trains to London and along the South Coast. Also buses to Winchester. A very restful stay. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Room overlooking market square does get some traffic noise in the morning - but worth it for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basilfawty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

The room was large and comfortable. The restaurant food was excellent, we had both evening meal and breakfast, both were extremely good. Beware that if you have the dessert to share there is enough for four! But it is yummy.
Very good highly recommend. In my opinion the food is pushing on the door for a Michelin star

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
It is always a pleasure to hear we have exceeded guest expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Georgian house hotel run by a friendly team, bags of character, located in the centre of Wickham.
Excellent breakfast in airy dining room/conservatory. Very popular dining venue with the locals so remember to book a table if you want to have dinner if staying here. Lots of historical character but with a modern airy feel to the decoration. This is a great location if you like walking but want to be on the flat. Just round the corner from the hotel is the beginning of the Meon valley walk up to West Meon (10 miles if you go the full distance) - it goes along the old railway line now long discontinued but it makes for a great walk through woodland like scenery.

Room Tip: four poster bed in the front bedrooms overlooking the market square
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alafur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time in Wickham.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Having recently spent one night at this hotel with my husband and friends I felt I had to comment and give credit to all of the friendly and professional reception and waitressing staff and praise to the chef for cooking such wonderful food!!!
We all travelled from London on a Sunday for our one night stay and we had booked Sunday lunch as part of our deal.
From the moment we arrived the staff could not have done more to make our stay both enjoyable and relaxing, starting with drinks at the bar!
The food at lunch was tasty and very well presented. We all commented that if we lived locally we would eat at the hotel regularly!
The waiter at lunch recommended a red wine from an extensive wine list to suit the food we were eating and it was a great recommendation and was not the most expensive bottle on the list!

I loved the small attention to detail such as the Molton Brown toiletries in the bathrooms and the hand cooked biscuits with the tea making facilities, not to mention the under floor heating in the garden room bathroom and from my husbands point of view, Sky TV and WiFi!

Our garden room was clean, light and airy and quiet as its to the rear of the hotel.

The full English breakfast the following morning did not disappoint and set us up for a days shopping at Gun Wharf Keys at Portsmouth Harbour.

Thank you once again to all of the staff, we hope to pay another visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dicksoncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you for your positive comments which have been passed on. We are delighted your stay lived up to your expectations. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Having stayed at the OHH several times over the few years I feel well qualified to comment. Overall this is an above average hotel with friendly and efficient staff and a very talented chef. However, it is consistently let down by the lack of in depth cleanliness of the rooms. There are a profusion of cobwebs all over the beams in the garden annex rooms and the wet room sealant in at least three of the rooms is badly stained with mould, and is perforated in places. This is not what one would expect given the reputation of this establishment and could be so easily remedied. My advise would be to review the cleaning staffs' routines.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for your review which I am delighted to see was very positive.
We are surprised it has taken you nearly two months to make a negative comment about the cleanliness of our rooms. Addressing the minor grouting issue, we are aware and have put in place an order to rectify.
Cobwebs are an ongoing problem in old buildings and the beams you refer to are over 12 foot high in the ceiling void. They are regularly cleaned but we are never informed when the spiders are coming out to play!
We take pride in the presentation of our rooms and are so sorry we disappointed you on this occasion. Guest feedback is so important to us and wished you had mentioned your problems to us on your last stay.
Kind Regards, JG.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, what a fantastic experience, we stayed in a garden suite, the weather wasn't great but the room made up for that, bathroom was lovely roll top bath, underfloor heating, sleigh bed was massive, and so comfortable we slept for hours, the hotel was steeped in history and just sitting in the lounge having a drink you could imagine the people there a hundred years ago! Exceptionally clean, and the staff were some of the best we have had at any hotel, helpfull and a good sence of humour, the cook although we didn't see him/her!! Was very good, poached eggs perfect? Thank you to all who made our stay very memorable, we shall be back. WELL DONE.

Room Tip: Garden suite have their own doors to a lovely view, even if it's raining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickham
1.3 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
3.0 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Wickham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Wickham

Property: B+B Wickham
Address: The Square, Wickham PO17 5JG, England (Formerly The Old House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Wickham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wickham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B+B Wickham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B+B Wickham is a privately owned boutique bed and breakfast hotel, offering accommodation to our discerning guests in the historic village square of Wickham. We have 12 bedrooms, ranging from a single room to large suites. As well as stylish, comfortable bedrooms and delicious breakfasts, the property hosts La Bocca Restaurant and Bar. As well as drinking and dining, there is also a charming, intimate space for private dining, and the whole property is a great venue for weddings. The B+B concept is the brainchild of a group of like-minded professional hoteliers who have rewritten the rules, and created a new style of bed and breakfast hotel for the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your B+B Wickham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Wickham Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing