We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing cheese souffle”
Review of B+B Wickham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B+B Wickham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wickham
Certificate of Excellence
southampton
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“amazing cheese souffle”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Went here for lunch on Tuesday and was not disappointed. All three courses were lovely, and I could have eaten the cheese souffle all day it was so good. Bouillabaisse main again very nice followed by chocolate fondant and mint ice creamValue for money, and top rate, spent £34 including a chilled glass of Sauvignon.Definitely recommend, and would love to go back

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch. It is always a pleasure to have positive feedback. I must agree Chefs' souffle is just the best. Your comments have been passed on.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    116
    52
    26
    7
See reviews for
67
207
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We hadn't been for a couple of years and as we were passing through the area decided to stop off for a spot of Lunch. Lovely old building in a beautiful square. It hasn't changed a bit from out last visit I'm pleased to say. We both had soup of the day - very reasonable and delicious at £5.50 followed by perfectly cooked medium rare sirloin steaks under twenty quid.

Very reasonable prices compared to Chichester.

A hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_D_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My husband arranged a surprise birthday party for me with about 30 guests. I was thoroughly spoilt by the hotel, they couldn't do enough to make the evening special. The food was fantastic, some of the guests saying it was the best they had ever had, and the service was exemplary. I have recommended The Old House Hotel to friends and they have also had excellent experiences.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue9952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I recently returned to the Old House Hotel for another stay with my girlfriend. I quite often like to try new establishments out of curiosity, but the warm and frindly atmosphere served up at this hotel the first time round made me return. Needless to say I was not disappointed, the menu had been updated and rooms had also been well maintained which is tricky in such a typically English period property. The owner was extremely helpful with his knowledge of the wine cellar which helped create the ambiance for a lovely evening. I will definitely be returning once again!

Room Tip: Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Old House Hotel is an old and charming building with some lovely touches and a very warm and welcoming ambience. The staff are very polite, helpful and efficient.

We only stayed one night as we were in the area for a wedding (most of the other guests stayed at the De Vere nearby) and I must admit that we prefer this type of 'quirky' establishment to the 'chain' type of hotel but that's just us - I know plenty of people who are the opposite and can see plus and minuses on both sides.

The first impression of our room (a 4 poster room) was that it looked quite grand and luxurious. After spending a little bit of time in it, it did become apparent that the decor was a little bit tired and there were some 'amusing' things about the room. When we turned on the main light switch, which has a dimmer for presumably some romantic low lighting, we were bemused to find that there was only one light (of the circular 'down light' that you see in bathrooms etc) on one side of the room, and even that wasn't very bright, so it looked like you were getting romantic mood lighting whether you wanted it or not. To be fair, there were bedside lamps if you wanted more light, but it was quite funny nonetheless.

We were there on a very cold day/night and the bathroom was absolutely freezing. Add to that the fact that there was a bathtub with only a hand held shower (no room for a proper shower) and we both decided we would rather be smelly than brave the cold. There was a radiator in there and it was on, but it was completely ineffectual. In mitigation, this is an old house with draughty windows and we didn't mind too much as we were only there for one day. However we might have minded a bit more if we'd had to be there for longer.

The bed was really comfy and lovely, definitely the best thing about the room.

Breakfast the next morning was excellent and I can see why the restaurant gets such rave reviews, the service was very good and the quality of food was fantastic. We were seated in the conservatory area at the back of the hotel and it was a lovely way to start the day.

All in all we enjoyed our stay, the staff, the restaurant and the bed made up for any of the small imperfections. And after all when you come to stay at a place like this, it's the little imperfections that make it what it is.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Narold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titchfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We had heard some decent reviews about this place and our initial impressions were positive. Unfortunately we had to chase our drinks order and desert. You get the impression that the management want you to think you are fortunate to be there rather than the other way around.Our main meal was nice but did not come with vegetables. When we enquired about the lack of veg the staff member told us that we did not ask. We found that odd as surely we should be given the choice. I asked the waitress if people were generally happy not to have veg and she suggested that most people don't have veg!!!! I found that strange. Even though the restaurant was less than half full the service was annoyingly slow. On the plus side we like a good choice of wines and the wine list had loads of options. In summary whilst the food was good but not outstanding it was
extremely pricy and not good did not represent value. The service was slow and some of the staff rather surly with the manager being a touch on the arrogant side when we pointed out the slow service

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabcaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed for a weekend at the Old House Hotel after booking through Secret Escapes and getting a good deal. We were shown to room 6, which on reading other recent reviews regarding room 6, made my heart sink. However, it is a perfectly lovely little room, but it is probably their smallest so you can understand why they put all the people who are paying less into it. The bathroom was slightly on the chilly side due to the draughty windows, but it was also a chilly weekend and once the bath was filled with hot water you no longer noticed it was chilly. Big, white, fluffy towels and lovely toiletries in the bathroom, the bath also has a shower over. There was tea and coffee along with a bottle of mineral water, tv with plenty of channels and a hairdryer. The bed was lovely and comfy and we both had two good nights sleep, we weren't disturbed by the kitchen once, neither in the evening or the morning, in fact we slept until 8.50 on Sunday morning and nearly missed our breakfast slot!
We only ate one evening meal in the restaurant and it was delicious and they have a good choice of wine. The Hotel is lovely in the evening with lighted candles everywhere giving a real cosy feel, along with the leather sofas and comfy chairs.
The only real draw back is the very small car park, only allowing for 4 cars. We arrived at 7pm and the car park was already full so had to park in the square. This wasn't a real problem only that we had to go out before breakfast and buy a pay and display ticket on the Saturday morning, Sunday was free.
Lastly, after such a lovely meal in the evening I was looking forward to the breakfast and on reading other reviews had high expectations. However, the continental half of the breakfast was fine, but we were disappointed with the cooked breakfast. The sausages really weren't all that nice and had loads of hard bits in and the mushrooms were all dried and wrinkly, the bacon wasn't brilliant either. Wonder if they have changed supplier recently as other reviewers had said how nice the breakfast was?
Overall, we had a lovely stay at the Old House Hotel. We loved the old world charm, the crooked stairs and all the friendly staff, round down to the busy cleaners. We will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickham
1.3 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,395 reviews
3.0 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,050 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Wickham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Wickham

Property: B+B Wickham
Address: The Square, Wickham PO17 5JG, England (Formerly The Old House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Wickham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wickham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B+B Wickham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B+B Wickham is a privately owned boutique bed and breakfast hotel, offering accommodation to our discerning guests in the historic village square of Wickham. We have 12 bedrooms, ranging from a single room to large suites. As well as stylish, comfortable bedrooms and delicious breakfasts, the property hosts La Bocca Restaurant and Bar. As well as drinking and dining, there is also a charming, intimate space for private dining, and the whole property is a great venue for weddings. The B+B concept is the brainchild of a group of like-minded professional hoteliers who have rewritten the rules, and created a new style of bed and breakfast hotel for the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your B+B Wickham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Wickham Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing