We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Great, Service mixed with social class indifference!”
Review of B+B Wickham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B+B Wickham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wickham
Certificate of Excellence
South Coast of England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food Great, Service mixed with social class indifference!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

No amuse bouche for us tonight as the young lady looking down her nose at us explained that chef does not provide them for people who book through tablepouncer as he does not like them, we were also sat well away from the oi polloi who the young lady was fawning over; to be fair the rest of the staff were brilliant but after being spoken down too when we were enquiring about the menu options by the same young lady and then been set aside as been different from the other guests this did somewhat put an edge on our visit to "The Old House," despite the £50 we spent for this privilege tonight, 21/03/14 - to be clear the petite young lady was a credit, it was the other young lady who was not.

The food was enjoyable and I can recommend The Old House for a quality meal; but I am afraid to say that after 3 visits in the last year and having experienced the same social class indifference on our last visit we will not be returning - been Northern does not make one an oik!

I would give 4 out of 5 for the food and just 1 for the service - a point to note and Google this if you like, a customers decision to return is mainly based on the service/experience and then followed by the food and then lastly by the value - think about it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your comments which have been taken on board. We are sorry that you did not receive the service that all our guests are entitled to. Rest assured the staff member has been spoken to.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    108
    46
    25
    15
See reviews for
66
198
8
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
gosport, hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Had a lovely meal last night using a Living Social Voucher, good value,great food & service. The restaurant was busy but this didn't show in the service as there were plenty of staff. Been once before last year for the Rowley's steak and look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Chateaubriand experience as much as the Rowley's.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I often stay at the Old House Hotel when I am working in Hampshire. Its a beautiful old hotel with a marvelous restaurant. My most recent stay was last week when I was unfortunately taken quite ill. The staff were so kind and helped me so much, even calling out a doctor to see me. Their Customer Service is second to none. Thanks to all the staff and especially to Dawn and Vicky.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you had a good journey home and that you are now feeling much better.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Having arrived early the staff were only too obliging to let us leave our luggage in the room and let us relax in the bar area. We had booked the Garden Room Super King - sadly a couple of minor issues meant we had to be moved to one next door which is identical. The owner couldn't do enough for us and even gave us champagne on the house in the evening with our main meal. The restaurant is most definitely worth a visit, having had lunch there before we were eagerly anticipating our return for an evening meal. The service was excellent, the waitress was friendly and knowledgeable about every dish on the menu, my husband had a starter on her recommendation and couldn't have chosen better himself (I think he would have licked the bowl had he been able to!). The mains was equally delicious - steaks cooked perfectly!. sadly this left no room for dessert, something to look forward to on our next visit - which hopefully will be sooner rather that later. A definite must to all those looking for somewhere to extra special to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for such positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Having been to this restaurant for lunch several times which was always a pleasant experience we decided to book New Year's Eve for a group of friends. Unfortunately we felt the experience was lacking in many ways. It started off well. The waiter was friendly and jokey and the starters were lovely. When the main meal came we were slightly less impressed. Two couples ordered chateaubriand which was on special offer but it was not cooked well and not overly impressive. Several other of the meals were very salty to the point of being inedible. Advertised elements were missing although they did bring the missing toppings for the risottos, I was told that the butternut squash advertised in my dish was in there the waiter said he saw the chef put it in there and he was "not lying" I am afraid I understood this comment to mean that I was lying! The waiter seemed to change at this point and we now had a young girl who listened to our concerns but we were not visited by the owner to sort these issues or the chef which I think would have been appropriate. We decided to cut our losses and not bother with desserts or coffee so asked for the bill several times when it finally came and after once more complaining about the poor food they did not charge us for three meals . They did however charge £6.50 for two cereal bowls of indifferent veg which were brought to the table . We had not ordered these and as my dish came without any veg at all ( no butternut squash!) I thought they were included so did not query at the time!! We were charged 10% service charge which I never really understand the logic of big groups being harder to serve. We knew this would happen and we were prepared to pay it. But nearly didn't because the waitress was so pushy taking great trouble to point out to us that what ever problems we had they were not her fault she had done all she could. She was so blatantly worried she would not get her tip which I can understand is a big part of working on New Years eve. The last straw and really the most shocking point was when we took the payment to the bar as we were leaving. The old gentleman owner pounced on the cash we gave him with glee and turned his back on us to count it slowly. Ignoring the fact that we were waiting for our coats! Fed up with his rudeness we searched out our own coats and left. I originally wrote this review under the 'restaurant' review section on trip advisor but the hotel does not seem to respond to these! So although this not a review of the hotel just the restaurant I thought I should post it here to.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your comments and your email that you sent direct to the hotel. It is somewhat disappointing that you did not speak to us directly before you decided to publish a scathing report on trip advisor. We do appreciate some of your comments as the room you stayed in is due an upgrade.

In our defence on just a couple of your points - the hotel is a grade II listed building built in 1707 so some floors and ceiling are uneven.
It is a legal requirement to have fire door notices / fire exit signs on show. We take our guests safety very seriously.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at The Old House Hotel as a quiet alternative to our usual New Year's Eve celebrations. We stayed in one of, if not the best room at the hotel, the Garden Room Super King.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the cheerful owner and shown to our room. The weather didn't do it justice, however I can imagine in the summer the setting would be absolutely beautiful. The room itself was wonderful, fantastic facilities, well equipped bathroom and a incredibly comfortable bed.

We foolishly hadn't booked the restaurant for dinner however again the owner was more than accommodating and managed to squeeze us in despite being incredibly busy. We had a drink next to the cosy wood burner before being shown to our table and enjoying a lovely meal. They even let my girlfriend try the wine before she decided which she would like!

A complimentary appetiser, wood pigeon, guinea fowl, confit of duck and risotto later we retreated to our room for a beautiful nights sleep under the large vaulted and beamed ceiling in our room.

Breakfast and checkout the next morning were painless and enjoyable. My only regrets of the visit are that a) we didn't stay longer and b) that we didn't book through the hotel directly so they could save on Late Room's commission.

Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will certainly be back to visit again in the warmer months!

Room Tip: We can't speak for the other rooms in the hotel but the garden rooms are in their own separate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AReviewer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments, so thank you. Even when we are busy we always do our best to accommodate our guests requirements.
We look forward to welcoming you again, maybe for a little longer next time.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Forget the other restaurants in Wickham, for lovers of really fine food this is their Mecca. The menu is extensive with cleverly assembled food. Whilst the quality is excellent, the ambiance is not stuffy or pretentious. Their "Rowley's" (named after their restaurant in London's St. James) steak and chips is a favourite with many customers and provides an assured alternative to more specialist dishes. The portion size is generous and the cooking perfect. The wine list is extensive and good value. If I have to be critical, the service was a bit slow and the server too effusive, perhaps extra staff for New Year's Eve might have helped. This is a monir irritation, not a criticism of a fine restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Britishfamily888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your New Year celebrations at the Old House.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickham
1.3 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
3.0 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Wickham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Wickham

Property: B+B Wickham
Address: The Square, Wickham PO17 5JG, England (Formerly The Old House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Wickham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wickham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B+B Wickham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B+B Wickham is a privately owned boutique bed and breakfast hotel, offering accommodation to our discerning guests in the historic village square of Wickham. We have 12 bedrooms, ranging from a single room to large suites. As well as stylish, comfortable bedrooms and delicious breakfasts, the property hosts La Bocca Restaurant and Bar. As well as drinking and dining, there is also a charming, intimate space for private dining, and the whole property is a great venue for weddings. The B+B concept is the brainchild of a group of like-minded professional hoteliers who have rewritten the rules, and created a new style of bed and breakfast hotel for the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your B+B Wickham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Wickham Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing