We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely and Relaxing”
Review of B+B Wickham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B+B Wickham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wickham
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Homely and Relaxing”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family for one night and it was a pleasant stay in a comfortable room. The hotel is absolutely beautiful from the outside and is decorated well inside. The bar served fairly expensive, but good quality, drinks and had a welcoming atmosphere. The breakfast was tasty, and cooked to order, although perhaps a bigger selection of fresh fruit and granolas would have been nice. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank brianneturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    115
    52
    26
    10
See reviews for
67
209
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Bought a voucher from living social, chateaubriand and two glasses of prosseco. Steak was amazing and did not need steak knife to cut. Bought starters of scallops, wow yummy, but hubby not so happy with chicken starter as a bit dry. Overall really like this place and will definitely go back. Staff are very lovely and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a high quality unbooked lunch at The Old House. The restaurant is in the beautiful setting of The Old House's garden room. I have long regarded The Old House as one of my favourite, semi-formal venues. The welcome and attentiveness of the staff is assured.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
We appreciate lovely comments like yours, Thank you!

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

what a lovely place this is! in the lovely village of Wickham we are just back from a mid week break We booked a garden room beautiful plenty of space a very large on suite a full size free standing bath large wet room shower beautiful large bedroom very clean all mod cons flat screen t.v. under floor heating white fluffy towels the bedding smelt really fresh and clean . Our booking came with a meal again excellent !! the food fantastic !!! the staff nothing to much trouble the breakfast again local produce and again fantastic ..If you are looking to visit Wickham then book this!! We had a great time herein this lovely place I would totally recommend it

Room Tip: garden rooms are well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mother000747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments, so "Thank you".

We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was admittedly a little nervous about staying after the previous reviews which said that the Living Social guests were treated a little differently. I was pleasantly surprised by the service and the food was excellent. While the offer was for a chateaubriand for two the hotel were most accommodating of the fact that I am a vegetarian and offered a fillet steak for my partner which was delicious. The room was spotlessly clean and as shown on the pictures. The only downside: The room's shutters which didn't completely block out the light from the streetlamps and the patchy repair works to the ceilings in the room/ halls which I guess are part and parcel of being in such a beautiful old townhouse.

Thank you for our stay: I would highly recommend the offer and this hotel/restaurant!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your dietary requirements - we always try to accommodate our guests needs.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My partner and I bought a voucher from living social for a garden suite room, chateubriand steak meal for two and breakfast for two (£124). We were very happy with our stay. Our room was as it looks in the pictures. It was clean, the bed was very comfortable and so was the leather sofa. We had a beautiful bathroom with underfloor heating, a strong powershower and roll top bath. The only negative was the television (probably 10+ years old), the room was in need of a widescreen plasma, just to give it a finishing touch, but we didn't spend much time watching tv, so it wasn't that big of a problem. Foodwise - Breakfast was lovely, you could have both continental and cooked breakfast (not either/or). The steak at dinner was very tasty and the restaurant was classy - the only downside was the steak was slightly too small, we could have easily eaten what was offered each. Staff were very polite and welcoming. The local area was quaint. I was quite disappointed to see how many undeserved negative reviews this hotel has recently gathered. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Spend the extra £20 (if booking a voucher) and stay in the garden suite,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisy_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
It is always a delight to receive positive comments, so "thank you". We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I recently visited the Old House Hotel for lunch with a friend and had an enjoyable experience. However, despite us both being dressed in business attire, the service was pretty slow, which would normally have been lovely but with lunch taking over two hours, left us feeling a bit rushed when we left, in order to get back to work. The rest of the clientèle clearly did not have jobs to get back to so the atmosphere was very relaxed but, like I say, not ideal when you are on a break from work!
The set lunch menu is great value and even includes a carafe of wine so we opted for that and both enjoyed the leek & potato soup as a starter. It was delicious although certainly not the healthy option I was hoping for, as it was very creamy. Also, my friend was told there was no smoked salmon (his original choice of starter) but another table were enjoying this about an hour later - maybe there had been a delivery in the interim?
Onto the main courses, I had the fish and my friend had steak. Both were well cooked and the perfect portion size for lunch, very nice. The wine was good too.
We didn't have time for dessert so we had coffee which comes with home made truffles, a classy touch. All in all very good food, service and atmosphere. Slight let down at the end of the meal when it took 20 minutes for us to settle the bill, due to connectivity issues and I was a little bit irritated by two different waitresses automatically offering the bill to my friend as the male! Come on ladies, it is 2014!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 503828Foodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DawnbWickham, Manager at B+B Wickham, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your comments which have been taken on board. As it is never our intention to rush our guests it is always a good idea to advise us at the time of booking that you are on a tight schedule.
We are sorry that you did not have time for dessert but hope you will on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Dawn Boyer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickham
1.3 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,392 reviews
1.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
3.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Wickham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Wickham

Property: B+B Wickham
Address: The Square, Wickham PO17 5JG, England (Formerly The Old House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Wickham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wickham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B+B Wickham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B+B Wickham is a privately owned boutique bed and breakfast hotel, offering accommodation to our discerning guests in the historic village square of Wickham. We have 12 bedrooms, ranging from a single room to large suites. As well as stylish, comfortable bedrooms and delicious breakfasts, the property hosts La Bocca Restaurant and Bar. As well as drinking and dining, there is also a charming, intimate space for private dining, and the whole property is a great venue for weddings. The B+B concept is the brainchild of a group of like-minded professional hoteliers who have rewritten the rules, and created a new style of bed and breakfast hotel for the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your B+B Wickham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Wickham Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing