We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go, it’s fantastic”

Greens Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Wickham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Greens restaurant & bar is situated on the corner of the historic Wickham square. It is very easy to find and to park. The outside of the property looks traditional, well cared for and inviting. The inside is light & airy with a contemporary feel. Restful colours and wooden blinds add to the ambience. Crisp linen napkins, fresh flowers, friendly professional service and superb fresh food. Everything on the seasonal menus is homemade, using locally sourced produce whenever possible. The secret graden overlooking Wickham water meadows and the river Meon is a superb location in summer for a relaxing lunch. Owners Frank & Carol Duckworth have been running this establishment since 1985 and they are as passionate today as they were when they began trading. Their tag line of 'nothing is too much trouble' is as relevant today as it was in 1985. The menu includes fresh king scallops, mussels, sea bream, Hampshire 21 day aged steaks, vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Reviewed 15 August 2020 via mobile

Went in for pre booked Sat lunch. Quiet which after being there is a real surprise. Totally Covid safe compliant, excellent staff and the food is amazing value and quality. I rarely give 5 stars but was left with no choice. Steak and Ale pie to die for!

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank 12martynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2020

After a family walk in wickham on a very hot day, we decided we needed a drink and a spot of lunch. We headed into the square and came across this. We were welcomed by a member of staff, lots of distancing, hand sanitiser available and felt very 'safe'. The restaurant was fairly quiet and as it was a beautiful day, we were invited to sit in the garden. Finding the garden was a little tricky but it was very beautiful and the owner was already in the garden who was just fantastic, spent time talking to us, lovely with our children and couldn't do enough for us.
We have two fussy kids but the kids menu was great, with a 2 or 3 course option which is ideal and lots of choice.
As a vegetarian, i ordered a goats cheese salad which was a starter so she offered to make it a main meal which was great. The food came out quickly and was honestly so delicious! Meals were clearly made fresh and we all had an empty plate. The goats cheese salad was amazing, and my partner had the gourmet steak burger which he said was delicious. The kids meals were lovely especially the fish.
The toilets are spotlessly clean as is the rest of the restaurant and the garden area is beautiful.
The place isnt the cheapest we've ever been too but was honestly worth every penny as we had such a lovely afternoon and we would not hesitate to come back - the owner being so friendly and lovely just made it even nicer - thank you so much!

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dollydoo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2020

We have just visited this restaurant we had the goats cheese salad and the salmon and crayfish salad omg it was amazing 10 out of 10 we are on holiday and we will definitely be back spotless amd clean and staff are so friendly massive Thankyou.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Z1241OUmickw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2020 via mobile

We tried, on the off chance of being able to pick up a take away at short notice, on a Sunday, and sure enough, they were obliging. 30 minutes later, a very pleasant lady put two beef roasts into the boot of our car, ready for the 15 minute drive home. The food was still hot enough when we got home and ready to eat. The beef was beautiful, as was the veg. More than we normally pay, but it is a restaurant that is offering restaurant standard take away food. All in all we were very impressed with the food and the service, and it was good value for money. Would we use it again; absolutely we will. Thank you to the Chefs and staff for providing us with a wonderful Sunday roast, in these difficult times.

Date of visit: June 2020
2  Thank shaunm947
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2020 via mobile

Just wanted to say a massive thank you to Frank and Carol for looking after my partners Mother over the last few weeks. They have been providing takeaway meals on a regular basis, all of which have been great quality. Just what is needed for someone who is unable to get out on her own to get food etc. Great to see a local business supporting their local community.
Thanks again to you both.

Date of visit: May 2020
Thank Maxpax6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Greens Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Fareham, Hampshire
 

Been to Greens Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.