We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointment”
Review of The Star Inn

The Star Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Tytherley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Star Inn
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointment”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I had booked a table for a family get-together, and we arrived around 12.30 as planned. Our order was taken about 1.00, and some of the starters arrived in about 10 mins, the others about 10 mins later. By nearly 2 our mains had not arrived, and none of us was hungry any more. One of the party had had to leave before this for an appointment so could not have his main. Tried to cancel it but the barman said it was in the oven. We said we didn't want ours and he said we'd have to pay anyway - didn't we know salmon took a long time to cook! (we all cook salmon at home and certainly wouldn't want any that had been cooking for an hour!) He offered to put our orders in foil, we accepted the steak (which again he said took a long time to cook!) and paid for the rest, which he said had been discounted, which I doubt. After my niece picked up the steak he shouted 'have a nice day, and don't come back'. He was the only staff member we saw during the hour and a half, so was probably under pressure, but really needs to work on his customer relations.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Smart lately done up pub, visited as good write up in 2013 good pub guide. Four of us had an excellent quality freshly prepared lunch ,good value ,friendly welcome and nice to see locals enjoying as we did . A place to visit when in Hampshire although we did not stay overnight

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Roamingbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Me and my wife decided to go to here for our wedding Anniversary,it was very welcoming and friendly on arrival,the food was out of this world,very good for such a low price,I had the steak,and my wife had the Medallions of pork,it only took around 30 minutes for our food to arrive,We left very happy and will be going back to try the Sunday lunches :) thank u

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ip3ley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch for a birtday and took a cake and candles. We ordered our lunch at one but it took forty minutes too arrive (we were the only people eating).It was quite nicely cooked but Aunt Bessy yorkshires were a dissapointment. The service is very haphazard. I asked for the cake to come out and ir took nearly thirty minutes to appear!! Only needed removing from the box! Paying the bill was an experience and we left after over two hours later. Suffice to say will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Traditional family run inn plenty of character, lovely garden leading you to a very comfortable
well stocked bar. It was a cool evening so a sofa by the log fire was welcome as we chose our meal from a good choice of menu. The food as stated by other reveiwers was excellent, locally sourced, home made, well presented - top restaurant quality food reasonably priced and elegantly served . Accommodation we knew was unfortunately not in the pub ,prefer old and quirky, but was clean and comfy, all in all a good choice. Mottisford Abbey nearby is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farmerandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We have eaten at the Star several times over recent years and can thoroughly recommend it. It has an interesting and varied menu which has even satisfied my vegetarian daughters. Food is excellent and well presented. Today' s meal included an excellent ham terrine, a bouillabaisse which my wife described as being delicious and a panettone bread pudding with apricot coulis was to die for. Courgette and Rosemary soup was an interesting combination of flavours, but not really to my taste. Service was excellent and very welcoming without being intrusive. Mid price range and very good value

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Figary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Cant fault the pub, great selection of food and drink, fireplace with sofas games and reading material, all very welcoming.
The accommodation however is need of updating and a tidy up. It comprises of 3 bedrooms in a purpose built brick building away from the pub, but overlooking the cricket pitch. The overall look is that it is run down and in need of some tlc. Just some plant pots outside the doors, cutting back the old plants that are overgrowing, or a lick of paint on the doors would improve first impressions. Inside it is like stepping back in time. Everything is old and dark. The sleigh bed was novel, but not comfortable, and the bedding was just awful. Brown sheets with stains on was not acceptable. Breakfast was served in the pub, and is mainly self service, and was adequate.
On the plus side dogs are accepted here at no extra charge.
It is situated quite away from the NewForest, and is not a particularly straight forward journey and with that said I would probably look for somewhere else if you want to be near The Forest.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2holidayinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Tytherley
9.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,057 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
481 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Woodpeckers B&B
Woodpeckers B&B
#4 of 19 in Romsey
66 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: East Tytherley Road, East Tytherley SO51 0LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > East Tytherley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Tytherley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel East Tytherley
The Star Inn East Tytherley, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing