We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to celebrate New Years Eve!!!”
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Wigmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nothing beats a touch of local flavours especially when it comes to our food!We are proud to offer intimate dining in a rural setting. We support local suppliers & producers with the highest possible standards taking inspiration with the changing seasons. Whether it’s locally reared lamb or caught that morning pigeon, you will always find only the best and freshest food makes it to your plate at The Castle Inn.Our Chefs culinary excellence is both simple and elegant with a modern twist.Please let us know of any dietary requirements you may have.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great way to celebrate New Years Eve!!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We attended The Castle Inn on New Year's eve for a special 7 course menu...with a cocktail to start off our evening and drink with our main course and a glass of fizz at midnight all for £50... The atmosphere was as warm and welcoming as ever... but the food was truly amazing!!! We were only sorry we couldn't actually fit in the last two courses... which Thank goodness were only the cheese platter and coffee with macaroons left to enjoy.. but disappointed all the same. The pea and ham soup was to die for... then the sea food cocktail had an interesting kick to it which made it extra special... followed by an amazing main course of lamb cooked 3 ways... but now we are starting to get full! followed by a Black cherry panacotta and then a choc melt in the middle pudding with wonderful pistachio ice cream... now I am sure you can understand why we couldn't finish the menu. I couldn't think of a better place to start off 2014!!! long may it continue.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    26
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunday lunch! ”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic refurbishment! Unrecognisable, done up with taste and character! 4 of us all had beef and it was delicious, a huge Yorkshire pudding, roast pots, new pots and fantastic selection of vegetables! Great value for money! The bread and butter pudding was also very tasty. My only fault would be that we weren't checked on during our meal. Apart from that it was brill and we will be back and spread the word!

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Christmas meal for a large group? No problem.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We ate again at The Castle Inn in December with a large group from a local club. This was a lunchtime meal and we were given four choices at each course. My starter of lamb breast on a bed of potato salad was unusual and delicious, and my main course was quite simply the best duck I have ever eaten. My husband had a variety of chocolate puddings for dessert which he said were superb and my cherry parfait was so lovely I had to eat it very slowly to make it last. One might have expected something more "ordinary" to have been offered to a large group, but no; this was cooking of the highest order and the young chefs should be very proud of their achievements.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hildrhedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic christmas and new year meals”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

we went for Christmas dinner and had such a wonderful meal that we booked for new years eve too. the staff are all welcoming and attentive, cocktails fantastic and the meals.... well can only say you should book and enjoy for yourselves you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent meal!”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We dined here last night and despite the fact that we are well-served with eating places in N Hfds & S Shrops., this was one of the finest meals we've had for a long time. The ambience and decor were friendly and welcoming, the staff were attentive without being "in your face" and the food was excellent. We had starters and a main course (this being the most expensive on the menu - a 10oz sirloin steak with red wine jus that was quite superb) with drinks for a shade over £30 per head. Choices on the menu were good - I prefer not to see a huge number of options as this can then mean the food isn't always as fresh as it could be - interesting, and varied. We will be telling all our friends about this gem, and will definitely be back again soon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

Wigmore, Leintwardine
 
Leintwardine, Herefordshire
Leintwardine, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing