We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Orchard

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ruckhall, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
katieeddi...
Sheffield, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just arrived back from our stay at The Orchard for my husband's birthday. We got slightly lost on our way and had to ring the owner quite late at night to try and guide us in. The owners were very friendly and helpful and stayed up to ensure our safe arrival even though it was late. The cabin was very well equipped and had everything ready for our arrival including tea, coffee, milk etc. The owners had also left a birthday card and a gift of a bottle of cider and some local honey which was a lovely gesture. It is a small space but decorated beautifully and the owner has made great use of the space available. Perfect for the two of us with our dogs for 3 nights. The location is so peaceful and relaxing, the cabin is on the owners ground's and I couldn't help but think how lucky they are to wake up there every day! We did lots of walking and went to the local pubs for tea. Nothing to do with the cabin or the owners but we went on a woodland walk near the cabin and ended up at the vets when our dogs had a belly covered in insect bites on our return. Be aware if you have any dogs you might want to avoid that particular walk (in the booklet turning left out of the driveway). We did many other walks before and they were fine so must just be something living in that particular woodland. Owners were really friendly and always available for us but not intrusive. We came back fully relaxed and batteries re-charged trying to decide when we are next able to go back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you for taking time to review The Orchard, it is much appreciated. Sorry to hear about your dogs, we have been walking our dog around the local area for over 5 years without any problems so I would hope it was an isolated insect nest. Hope they are fine now. We would love to welcome you back again at any time. Thanks again for your lovely comments. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg S
Wendover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Little Cosy Cabin. Warm Welcome & Warm Underfloor Heating!”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed here with My Wife and our 2 Jack Russels for three nights, and despite the terrible weather had a very cosy stay with wonderful views. The Cabin is well equipped with all you need and there are some lovely walks from your front door along the river. There were some welcome gifts left in the fridge, especially the local cheese.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful view
Liked least: The non stick pans have past their best.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEtravela...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay - higly recommended!!”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a lovely stay at The Orchard. Decorated to a high standard, really clean, well appointed and very cosy. The location is ideal, near to Hereford but in a rural setting with great views. We would highly recommend this holiday letting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments, we really appreciate you taking the time to review our special place. Hope to see you again in the future.

Best wishes, Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richward
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Owner provided us with excellent directions to find them and also a very warm welcome on arrival.

There are fantastic views from "The Orchard". The cottage was clean, uncluttered and very comfortable.

The Orchard is also an excellent base for visiting Hereford and Hay-on-Wye.

The only downside was that we could not stay longer.

We would absolutely recommend this cottage to those looking for a peaceful getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2015
Thank for your kind words and for taking the time to review our special place. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Orchard and would love to welcome you back again some time! All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;