We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cosy cottage in peaceful area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cothill Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Vowchurch, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
artyej
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful cosy cottage in peaceful area”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed for my birthday and it was the perfect home for the weekend. It has s lovely warm and welcoming feel - beautiful bedrooms and fantastic communal area that are perfect for a special meal or get together. There is plenty of outdoor space and stunning views. I couldn't recommend this cottage enough - we loved it so much we didn't want to leave.

It has everything you could ever think of needing there and Ali was really helpful at recommendation for activities and places to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind review - it was lovely to meet you all and I am so pleased canoeing down the beautiful River Wye worked so well for you all. I hope the rest of your special birthday week was great fun too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve H
1 review
“A beautiful spot in a beautiful part of the country”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Recently had a wonderful few days with the family at Cothill farm. A beautiful spot in a beautiful part of the country. For our group of 10 the Barn was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Would enthusiastically recommend!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Thanks so much, it was great to meet you all and hope to see you again sometime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick H
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place for a family get together”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely barn conversion. Lots of room and a beautiful location. Interesting lay out with some nice touches. Loved the big fire pit and space for our dog. Thanks Ali.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thank you Nick, I am so pleased you enjoyed your time here. The fire pit is a great place to gather in the evenings and toast marshmallows or feet!! Dogs enjoy their holidays here too, with so much space and footpaths from the door. I hope we are able to welcome you back again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda M
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fabulous barn for special get together”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This barn is perfect for a family / friends get-togethers. Setting is perfect, beautifully furnished & equipped with everything you'd ever need, including stuff you don't get in other self catering places - dishwasher tablets, washing powder, scourer, tea towels, dog stuff etc etc. Bedding, towels, showers all great quality. Kitchen can easily feed a banquet with crockery, equipment and utensils.
Its quite remote, so be prepared to yomp, or drive to anywhere. The 2 local pubs The Mill (30 mins walk downhill, 50 mins estimate walk back uphill, as we sent a runner to get the car !! ), and The Bridge 1 hour walk SAS style by 3 fit blokes; unknown duration for the return, but at least its downhill, after the draft scrumpy !!
Great touches, like the firepit, BBQ, gardens with view, hammock etc make it great for kids and dogs.
Tip for the firepit - take a saw with you, so you can gather dead wood and cut to size, as the wood provided isn't sufficient for a decent fire.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your special birthday week at Cothill Barn. It's great you were able to visit some of the lovely local pubs we have (a dozen or so within a 20 min drive)! Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danandcha...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect barn for family get together with stunning views”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

After a long journey from Kent we were instantly impressed with the location and stunning scenery surrounding the barn. Ali kindly took delivery of our Sainsbury's delivery and even packed or things away-thank you!
The barn fitted our two families perfectly - 4 adults, 5 kids (3-8) + baby. The two main bedrooms were spacious and interesting with high ceilings. One with a lovely roll top bath and one with a brilliant shower. Ours had a raised area perfect for viewing the countryside first thing in the morning. Downstairs the kids started in a twin and double (both great ensuites) plus a snug with sofa bed-worked perfectly!
Furnished with a well curated mix of antiques and vintage items as well as some great enamel signs from the local area. Look out for the ducks (real ones and plastics ones!).
The heating and hot water was modern and never let us down. The kitchen had everything needed plus more worth a beautiful table which fitted 16 of us!
Ali was great- as well as the fantastic job she did with our shopping our welcome basket of food was a lovely treat.
We could not find anything to fault this well thought out and perfectly situated barn conversion.
I would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit a fantastic location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
Thank you for this fabulous review. We love making guests feel as welcome as possible and the mix of room types seems to work well with groups of different ages. We had great fun sourcing the quirky bits and pieces to decorate the Barn and the duck hunt is always a hit with young and old alike - the problem comes when guests hide them and I can't find them!! I hope you will visit again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect rural retreat”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

There is a definite 'wow' factor to this property. From its fabulous location on the top of a hill with lovely views and walks from the door, to the imaginative way the barn has been converted and furnished to provide high quality living and sleeping accommodation for all those staying, it is really quite special.
It particularly suited our party with a mixture of ground floor and upstairs bedrooms all with their own ensuites, and a lovely big (and well-fenced) garden for our dog to run around in. The owner, Ali, was very welcoming and helpful.
We all had a totally relaxing time and none of us wanted to come home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Thanks so much for such a great review. It was lovely to meet you all and I am glad you had good weather and were able to make the most of the many footpaths from the doorstep of Cothill Barn. We feel very lucky to live in such a beautiful spot and love sharing it with our guests. I hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnnyoni...
Bedfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Stable, Cothill Barns - Everything you could wish for and more”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in the Stable at Cothill Farm for a few days in March. The Stable had every amenity we could ask for. Fully equipped kitchen including fridge/freezer, dish cloths, tea towels, tea/coffee/sugar etc, clingfilm, foil & washing up liquid (all things that most self-catering accommodation does not provide. A washing machine & tumble drier were in a separate annex. Lots of books and DVDs plus a TV in the master bedroom. Beautiful views. A welcome pack of bread, milk, homemade jams, pickles & eggs from the farm were left in the kitchen to greet us plus a basket of logs for the woodburner was provided. Beautifully furnished. Lovely bathroom & shower room with towels and loo rolls provided. The Shepherds hut outside in the garden is a lovely touch. If there was one tiny criticism it would be that we felt there should be towel rails in the bathrooms. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
thank you so much for such a glowing review. We do aim to provide as many essentials as possible, in order for you to enjoy your holiday as soon as you walk through the door. I hope we will see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing