We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The new refurbishment is fantastic!”
Review of Bedford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bedford Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Chenies B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The new refurbishment is fantastic!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We have immensely enjoyed several stays at The Bedford Arms in the past and so were eager to return once the refurbishment was complete. We can assure you we weren't disappointed!

The bar, restaurant, reception area and front terrace have all undergone a dramatic transformation, creating a contemporary feel without losing any of the hotel's traditional character or charm.

As always the food was of a very high standard and the service was prompt, warm and efficient. The puddings in particular, were exceptional (I recommend the lemon tart with raspberry sorbet).

Overall, we had a great time at the Bedford Arms and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    68
    24
    18
    4
See reviews for
50
78
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is quaint and the room was fine, but the pre-Christmas menu at £34 (early December) was disappointing. The soup (pumpkin, I think) was tasteless and the turkey plus trimmings was very ordinary cooking. It did not appear to be 'chef's' standard, but rather simple family fare of no particular virtue. The restaurant itself and the maitre d' and waiters were obviously intended to impress with their suave high-class presentation, but so should the food! Plus, we were paying £95 for the room!

Room Tip: Room over the restaurant could be noisy at times but it was not noisy for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xenophonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I am a regular guest at the Bedford Arms on business, as I prefer to stay away from Old Town Amersham as I think it is over rated. The food here is always excellent, and the staff friendly and accommodating. It's about to go through a big refurb, so keep an eye on it!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The pros are a very picturesque location and convenient too for Heathrow or Luton or London via train. Staff are good and full of character. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed and also jolly good value. The "but" is that the main meal options are overpriced by about 20% and you are a captive market. The food is good but its not gourmet or bistro - its better than "pub grub". To be honest its small gripe and I feel a cad for sharing it but there you go. Bah Humbug. Seriously though well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesham
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I took my elderly mother for lunch, and for some reason we were seated in the cocktail bar.
There was no offer of seating in the restaurant, and the main bar was quite busy.
The table was SO small. I had to put my side plate of bread on the next chair!!
The plaice was very nice, new potatoes had skin on (my pet hate!!) and the veg were very al dente!
Prawn cocktail a bit bland. Asked for another pepper, as it was empty, and so was the replacement!!! Gave up then. Stupid, piddly pots anyway!
Oh, and nobody asked how our meal was, appeared to be plenty of staff around!
Not quite the nice lunch experience at a lovely hotel we expected.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliekBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We took our "Aussie" family here the night before they left to go back to Oz. We were given a table in the bar because the main restaurant is closed on Mondays. Everything was okay but I felt disappointed. I'd been to the Bedford Arms many times before, mostly to functions or celebrations. The food was usually very good and the atmosphere excellent. This time I wished I was somewhere else! Perhaps it was the lack of atmosphere, perhaps it was because Monday may not be their day, perhaps it was because the Manager was absent. Nothing was bad (except the Roly Poly pudding) but nothing was particularly good. Everything was just average which was, for us all, a great pity.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feff35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here a couple of times when working in Mayfair London, fantastic rooms rated as 3 star but more like 4 star, We stayed in the accommodation across from the pub, could not fault it ,very clean and tidy we even had our little schnauzer with us,[ pet friendly ] grounds are well maintained and a pleasure to walk round , all staff are polite and eager to please the guests, a real complement to the owner, breakfast was 110%, we paid aprox £90 for the night but would have paid more, all in all a very pleasant tranquil place to stay and just 30 mins to London where the prices there are over £200 per night, we rate this place as excellent.
```````````````````````````````````````````````

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenies
1.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
767 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
495 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
405 reviews
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
408 reviews
7.7 mi away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Arms Hotel

Property: Bedford Arms Hotel
Address: Chenies Village, Chenies WD3 6EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chenies
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chenies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Arms Hotel is situated in the village of Chenies. The Village was known as Isenhampstead until the middle of the 13th century, when it became known as Chenies from the Cheyne family who occupied the Manor until the 16th century.The hotel building dates for the most part from 1842. It was converted from a house to a hotel in the 1930's and was a small eating house and bar rather than a hotel. In 1957 the restaurant was moved to it's current position. The hotel was frequently used by the Russel family who later acquired Woburn Abbey.There are eighteen bedrooms, ten of which are individually designed and decorated in a traditional style and eight new contemporary designed bedrooms.There are two four-poster suites one with a Jacuzzi, sixteen double bedrooms including one purpose built disabled bedroom. Twin and family rooms and also a cot is available on request. The majority of bedrooms have wonderful views of either the hotel gardens or the Chiltern countryside.Room Service is available during breakfast, lunchtime and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bedford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing