We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bedford Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Chenies B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quality and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights, conveniently close for a wedding in this beautiful village. It's amazing to find such a quiet and lovely rural spot so close the convenience of the M25.
Our room in the main house was very comfortable though compact. Though it looked out over the car park entrance and was above the kitchen area, it was reassuringly quiet. Our one concern was a slightly musty smell; we raised this with staff, and it was explained that a repair had been made in the bathroom, and the management were apologetic.
The staff were friendly, courteous and efficient. We requested a little flexibility regarding checkout time and the hotel responded happily to our needs.
We ate one evening in the restaurant, and one lunchtime in the bar. The price reflected the quality which was excellent, and the servings were ample; it represented good value.
The furnishings tended towards the nostalgic and echoed a past age, but this was in keeping with the historic nature of the building and the village, and is no doubt appreciated greatly by foreign visitors, though to ourselves it was just a familiar feel and part of our English heritage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bookanother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    63
    23
    16
    3
See reviews for
43
70
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

having frequently avoided this place based on its previous fawlty towers reputation , I have been half a dozen times since its remodel

Every time my expectations have been so high only matched by my level of disappointment every time

Each time I have had great food, tonight the food experience was marred by poor service and lack of experience behind the bar, its always the same , why do these places employ such poor quality staff

There is no such thing as bad staff only bad management .

If this place had designed their bar properly with comfortable stools and a bar that two barstaff
could pass each other then their customer experience would be so much better , simple things !

Get your basics right , three attractive girls serving behind the bar until 7pm and then waiting on tables only which had the effect of customers unable to get a drink from the bar as the bartenders could only do one thing at once , I asked one to serve who then had to ask the bartender to get the drink and join the queue while she had to stand helpless ! Whats that all about !

What a lovely place this could be with some proper staff !! A proper cocktail barman , able to serve and keep up with the flow would be a start , then look at the height of chairs and stools , they should be comfortable and welcoming

Maitre,d that jumps on you to ask " have you booked " with that knowing look " if you haven t i am not going to help "

I have spoken to the owner who seems completely oblivious its such a shame .

Room Tip: stay at the Grove
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thebestcritic2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at this lovely hotel. We found this very last minute and only wished we had stayed a little longer. The bedroom was exactly to our taste, traditional feel but with everything you need. The Bedford Arms has a very cosy and welcoming feel, service was fantastic. Everything was very positive from the first phone call, to the Reception and the bar / dining staff. We were made to feel very welcome and were attentive to our young son. We arrived pretty late to check in as we had visited goodwood, and the bar was filling up with diners but the waitress still managed to squeeze us in for dinner. The food choice was plentiful and our chosen dishes were perfect. The wine and draught beers were very nice to. Breakfast equally as good. The gardens are a real treat and we enjoyed some quiet time after dinner and our son enjoyed running around and playing with the giant dominoes. We will be booking this wonderful hotel for our next visit to this area. Would defiantly recommend for couples or families.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Francis room in the main building, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank florenceNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed at this amazing hotel not too long ago and everything was done to an extremely high standard.
Customer care is obviously a top priority here as I was treated extremely well.
The food was superb and the rooms were cleaned to a very high standard and since I am a clean freak, I definitely know what I'm looking for in cleanliness.
I stayed in the room called lady Elizabeth and although it can be quite noisy sometimes (only around dinner and i was only getting changed for dinner) it is a lovely room and very suitable for a single stayer.
The owner was a pleasure and made me feel extremely welcome and the rest of the staff were just very warm and welcoming as well.
In my opinion, I will definitely be coming back and I would like to have the same room again PLEASE!

Room Tip: try and stay in the main houses room, they are more historical and if your a foreign traveller then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CeliaT118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here on a Wednesday night. Beautiful location and pub/hotel looks very nice. The double room was small but had everything you needed. Restaurant food was excellent and bar/servers were very friendly. Only down side was checking in and out. The owner who clearly thought that it was beneath him checked me out without showing me the bill and asking how my stay was.( he had parked his 4x4 so close to the front door I had to step around it) If he bothered to ask my room was directly above the kitchen and I heard nothing but banging around till 10pm and very early morning. Hotel was very clean and breakfast staff were great but I think that the hotel owner has forgotten who the most important person in their hotel actually is.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gavinharris1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford A, Owner at Bedford Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
I wish to express my sincere apologies that our customer care was not to our normal high standards for your recent stay at The Bedford Arms Hotel.I have been in the hospiality industry for over 30 years and pride myself on good customer care however on this occasion I am very sorry I was found lacking.I had a family emergency and was otherwise preoccupied, it is our policy to keep our company vehicle parked at the front of the hotel for advertising and should a accessible space be need we then move it for our guests.Once again I can only reiterate my apologies and hope you will give us another chance to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights whilst in nearby Amersham for a training course. Accommodation was everything I needed, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom in one of the converted outbuildings. The best part however was both the food and the choice of real ale on tap. The pub/restaurant was busy on both nights which clearly states it's quality and the choice and level of food was excellent. The breakfast in the morning was also of a high standard and the staff was most accommodating with the selection offered. Would definitely recommend if planning to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

we stopped for 2 nights and was initially not too happy about size of room called chandos i think, [ originally a good size but has had en suite bathroon taken out of it ] but other wise happy. we came back about 9pm on saturday night and were tired from our travels, however we could not stay in the room as there was an overpowering smell of fish and general cooking smells. there was no one at reception and there is no residents lounge so we went for a walk to the little village. when we came back the smell was not so bad and we got to sleep. next morning i asked to swop to a different room, but was offered one next door which would not have sorted out the problem as i had by now, found that our room was over the kitchen and there was what looked like an stainless steel extractor outlet at a lower level than our window which meant the fumes were being blown in our direction by the light wind. we also had smells in early morning from breakfast cooking,
on a positive note, breakfasts and evening meal on one evening were very good and served by a pleasant young lady who was most helpful.
we would have stayed on for another night but i really had had enough of the smells and retreated to a premier inn where we had no further problems.

Room Tip: get a room in outside block or away from kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jessieBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenies
1.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Amersham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.6 mi away
Two Brewers Hotel
Two Brewers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chipperfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
6.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Arms Hotel

Property: Bedford Arms Hotel
Address: Chenies Village, Chenies WD3 6EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chenies
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chenies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Arms Hotel is situated in the village of Chenies. The Village was known as Isenhampstead until the middle of the 13th century, when it became known as Chenies from the Cheyne family who occupied the Manor until the 16th century.The hotel building dates for the most part from 1842. It was converted from a house to a hotel in the 1930's and was a small eating house and bar rather than a hotel. In 1957 the restaurant was moved to it's current position. The hotel was frequently used by the Russel family who later acquired Woburn Abbey.There are eighteen bedrooms, ten of which are individually designed and decorated in a traditional style and eight new contemporary designed bedrooms.There are two four-poster suites one with a Jacuzzi, sixteen double bedrooms including one purpose built disabled bedroom. Twin and family rooms and also a cot is available on request. The majority of bedrooms have wonderful views of either the hotel gardens or the Chiltern countryside.Room Service is available during breakfast, lunchtime and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bedford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing