We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English country style”
Review of Bedford Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bedford Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Chenies B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2006

This hotel is a really superb. I stay in many hotel professionally, but the Bedford Arms is my top favorit.
The rooms are real English country style, the service is excellent, staff is very friendly and the food is good.
In short, one of the best.

A Dutch frequent flyer

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank APleijsier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2006

We stayed at the bedford arms on our way to another hotel the following night - all i can say is we will be going back- we had a fantastic room with fourposter bed and double jacuzzi bath and lovely view over the field - the service was amazing the attention to detail fantastic - a beautiful garden to sit out in the food was out of this world and breakfast was as good- all the staff were extremely attentive we are looking forward to going back for our anniversary - a fantastic place to relax and unwind - im very fussy about service and where we stay but this is this best we have stayed in yet - in my opinion this hotel out classes all the 5 star hotels we have stayed in easily -

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2005

I had the good luck to spend a night at the Bedford Arms Hotel in Chenies, near Rickmansworth in Hertfordshire. I think that's sort of to the northwest of London. I had business the next day in Latimer, near Amersham.

Comfortable, pleasant, cozy - my party lost track of the evening in the bar and regained consciousness with a hearty English breakfast.

Of course, I'm from the US so I really don't know any better, but I had a great night at the Bedford Arms. Everything worked. The staff was super friendly.

I don't know about those hash browns (don't go there) but everything else was brilliant.

What else... Yes, the ale was good. There's a lovely garden but it was winter. I'm not surprised any more by primroses in January. The TV worked - I think there was some news but I was kind of fuzzy in the morning. Compared to London prices it was an amazing bargain. All in all, a fair price, and very good service.

I'd like to come back in the spring.

10  Thank Tom_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thaobourlingueur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKRA2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chenies
1.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
832 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
778 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
886 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Arms Hotel

Address: Chenies Village, Chenies WD3 6EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Chenies
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chenies
Price Range: £80 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedford Arms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Arms Hotel is situated in the village of Chenies. The Village was known as Isenhampstead until the middle of the 13th century, when it became known as Chenies from the Cheyne family who occupied the Manor until the 16th century.The hotel building dates for the most part from 1842. It was converted from a house to a hotel in the 1930's and was a small eating house and bar rather than a hotel. In 1957 the restaurant was moved to it's current position. The hotel was frequently used by the Russel family who later acquired Woburn Abbey.There are eighteen bedrooms, ten of which are individually designed and decorated in a traditional style and eight new contemporary designed bedrooms.There are two four-poster suites one with a Jacuzzi, sixteen double bedrooms including one purpose built disabled bedroom. Twin and family rooms and also a cot is available on request. The majority of bedrooms have wonderful views of either the hotel gardens or the Chiltern countryside.Room Service is available during breakfast, lunchtime and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bedford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing