We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best bed and breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Hill Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorleywood
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best bed and breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

I spent two nights in this bed and breakfast, which is situated on a working farm with horses in the fields and a camping site right near the b and b. It has good pubs within a a 5 minute drive of the place but nowhere on site to have lunch or dinner. The breakfast always had fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fresh croissants and great coffee!
The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated with a lot of attention paid to detail. There is a Sky box in the room so one is able to access all t.v. channels. There is tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the rooms with good quality biscuits replenished every morning. The towels in the bathroom are on a heated rail, which feels very luxurious.
The owners are very friendly, relaxed and accommodating. This was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmancrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    24
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
66
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I recently booked up the Tree house for 2 nights at North Hill farm and was pleasantly surspised at how lovely it was - the picture on their website does not do it justice and for 100 per night which is only 15 pounds more than the Bed and Breakfast with Continental breakfast I think was very good value - I would highly recommend booking up if you would like something slightly different .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michala k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Found this place on laterooms initially but made contact directly. Very responsive to questions.
Rang as was going to be late so details of where to find key were explained.
The room was well equipped and had virgin media tv channels. Well stocked tray on bedroom and loads of complimentary items in bathroom.
Like with other reviews, plumbing noisy but all in all can't complain
Breakfast was made and I was made to feel more than welcome by Nigel

Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madyorkshiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Very good quality room with outlook onto stable courtyard. Ensuite as you would hope for.
Best English breakfast I have had for a long time.
Charming and easy going owners.
Would return .

Room Tip: I think all rooms have loads of positives
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenaway2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

I have now stayed at this B & B four times.

I have to concur with all the other reviews - Great place, lovely location, quiet and Nigel is a great host.

The two twin rooms I have stayed in are both very comfortable with cable TV with loads of channels, the best stocked welcome tray I have ever seen, comfy single beds that even adjust electronically so you can watch TV in them. The bathrooms are warm, modern and comfortable. Loads of lovely towels and even bath robes! Each room is themed round an animal which gives a slight quirky but fun angle to the place.

The breakfast is great with a wide range of healthy options as well as a really well cooked, full English.

There is also a jacuzzi and sauna which I am yet to try (I think you need to pre-book).

There is free wifi which works patchily in the bedrooms but solidly in the lounge/dining area that you are free to use in the evenings.

All this at the really good rate too!

If I had to find a weak point, it would be with the plumbing. They have installed power-pumps to give you lots of water pressure, which makes for a lovely shower but does make it a bit of a racket especially if somebody decides to have a very early/late shower. (Also it's so high pressure the showers can sometime be a bit difficult to get a stable temperature and one of the shower heads has split a bit under the pressure).

Despite that really minor point, great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMoorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duns
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

We just got back from a two-day stay at North Hill Farm. Several of our friends have stayed there over the years so it came recommended. On arrival we were greeted very warmly by Nigel the host who immediately made us feel at home and went out of his way to make sure we had all we needed during our stay, including the excellent full-English breakfasts served in the lounge/dining room that has a window directly into the stables, so you can watch the horses munching their hay as you scoff your sausages and bacon.

The interior has many interesting and really quite disparate ornaments and nick-nacks, a life-size metal sculpture of a horse outside our bedroom door for instance, model ships, a fishtank and more copies of Nat Geog than you can shake a stick at. The courtyard in the middle of the bedrooms and the stables has a stunning water feature, and back inside there are several unusual chess sets in the lounge, one where the pieces are all goblins and other weird creatures. There's a hot tub and a sauna too!

We had the family room which was enormous - sleeps five easily. The relaxed and informal atmosphere of the farm was very much appreciated after a stressful 6 hour drive, which didn't mean the service was less attentive than it should be. Tea and coffee were made for us as and when, and my husband had the lounge all to himself to work after Nigel had helped get him onto the internet.

I must add that stroking the two lovely big friendly dogs in the paddock at the front while sipping a glass of wine has to be one of THE best ways to unwind...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haditwithhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We've just spent a night at North Farm and we were very impressed. We received a warm welcome, the room was well-appointed and the bed was very comfortable. No expence was spared in providing for the comfort of guests - right down to the extensive stock of magazines which were all up-to-date! Breakfast was first-class; what a great idea to be able to see the stables from the breakfast room. The location is fantastic - we recommend taking a walk through the Chorleywood House Estate nearby. All this so near to London and the M25! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorleywood
3.3 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
2.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Hill Farm

Property: North Hill Farm
Address: North Hill Farm North Hill, Chorleywood WD3 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chorleywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorleywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treehouse ' Squirrel Run' Shepherd's Hut Fox's Den Tipi B&B accommodation Camping North Hill Farm has on site 4 star B&B. All rooms are en-suite, price includes full English breakfast. Jacuzzi and sauna are available for guest use on request . The 'Squirrel Run' stands 5m above the ground and is reached by 7m suspension bridge. From its balcony and panoramic window it has views over the Chess Valley. It is equipped with a King size double bed, en-suite toilet and basin facility, an outdoor shower, DVD/CD player, fridge, tea/coffee facility and heater. Use of Jacuzzi and sauna, if available, at extra charge. Shepherd's Hut (sleeps two), situated overlooking fields. Own BBQ area. The hut is equipped with microwave, kettle, tea and coffee facility toaster, fridge, sink (hot & cold water), CD/DVD player. Toilet and shower situated 20 m away from the hut. Camping available in fields overlooking Chess Valley. Toilets/ showers available on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing