We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value,service and location.”
Review of North Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Hill Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorleywood
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent value,service and location.”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our stay in the Squirrel Run Treehouse. It was set in a stunning location,surrounded by beautiful fields and walks.
The treehouse itself is much more spacious than it appears in picture,with beautiful views.
The service was fab-a breakfast hamper was delivered at a time of our choosing,with a selection of toast,croissants,yogurts and fresh fruit-more than enough for my rugby player husband anyway.
There are a lot of pubs nearby-we particularly enjoyed the cricketer-3 courses of exquisite food for £16.95.
Overall our experience at North Hill Farm was just the relaxing break we needed.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samferann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    24
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
71
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We have just come back from a night in the Squirrel Run (tree house) and can honestly say that we had a truly amazing time. We arrived at North Hill Farm and received a warm welcome and were shown to the Tree House. It was surprisingly warm as they had put the heater on in preparation for our arrival which was lovely as it was cold and wet outside.
The Tree House itself was extremely cosy and comfortable. There was a kettle with tea and coffee, filter coffee, hot chocolate and a selection of biscuits. A TV/DVD player with a selection of DVDs, a hair dryer and they provided towels and dressing gowns as well as a range of toiletries.
The view was fantastic and the balcony was lovely to look out from. The tree house stayed incredibly warm thanks to the heater and we even braved the outdoor shower (despite it being November).
Breakfast was provided the following morning with the owners delivering it in a hamper at our requested time. It was a lovely start to the day with toast, freshly warmed crossiants and pain au chocolat, along with fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, a selection of preserves, several cereal choices, fresh milk and a jug of fresh juice. An absolute delight.
We will definitely be returning and recommending this gem to friends and family. Plus with the addition of the new two storey tree house being built for next year we can't wait to stay again.
A lovely romantic and peaceful getaway. Well worth the money over a more conventional B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kelly_DaveRuislip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the treehouse at North Hill Farm in Chorleywood. The house is literally that, a tree house suspended one storey up and accessed by a somewhat irregular set of stairs and a cable supended walkway. The house itself is small and cosy but well designed with everything to hand. It looks out over open farmland with horses, birds and rabbits. It is a most relaxing and comfortable place to be yet is a brief drive or 20 minute walk and 40 minute tube ride from the middle of London. It is just a few minutes off the M25 so very handy for heathrow and the other motorways. Breakfast (continental) is brought up in a basket by your hosts the Clarks. The shower is outdoors but private. We found it a terrific alternative to a traditional bed and breakfast, but we still had access to amenities such as wifi and ironing in the main part of the farm. Our hosts were very helpful and flexible, allowing us a late checkout, and gave us useful tips on the local area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysmore2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Squirrel Run is truly wonderful and if you're looking for a romantic getaway for 2, look no further. Situated up in the trees and surrounded by glorious countryside it will forever be a magical memory for myself and my partner.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We Booked the field for our wedding reception and the treehouse for our wedding night. The Wedding Was great - we used all outside suppliers and did the liaising and coordinating ourselves. But very disappointed with the service from the site. Treehouse had good novelty factor to stay in but no effort was made by the staff to made it 'special' for us - despite talk of champagne and a hamper. A poor mans continental breakfast was delivered in the morning. Upon complaining we were offered a night 'on the house' - we haven't rushed to take them up on this! The field is an awesome site for an outdoor reception (ours was in a tipi) but make sure you are hot on your expectations from the site team.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed here for 1 night in July in the Family room. Spacious room with 5 main beds, 1 King size, 1 double, 1 single and a campbed as well if you want it. It also has a large bathroom with corner bath a separate walk in shower.
Its 5 minutes from the Warner Brothers studio tour and we found the owners to be charming and helpful.
The farm is an eclectic mix of the main building, log cabins, outhouses, camping sites, tents, caravans, and fields. The ponys, cats and dogs around the farm are charming and you can walk down through the country trail to the nearest pub in Chorleywood called The Gate for dinner, not cheap but great quality.
Fantastic freshly cooked breakfast in the dining room with a view into the stables, kids loved it.
Its a great B&B not a chain hotel and most of the negative comments ive read on here seem to be based on that expectation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

stayed in the Tipi. what can I say, for 40 quid, I expected something more than just plywood flooring. Tipi had a tear in the front and therefore, freezing cold at night and insects such as beetles, ants on the plywood and spiderwebs inside the tipi. Signs in the outdoor toilets telling you not to put things in the toilet and to use the bin but there was none. no service whatsoever. thought at least there would be hot water but there wasn't. save your money and don't come here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorleywood
2.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
733 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,740 reviews
4.7 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#6 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Watford (Croxley Green) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
23.0 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Hill Farm

Property: North Hill Farm
Address: North Hill Farm North Hill, Chorleywood WD3 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chorleywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorleywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treehouse ' Squirrel Run' Shepherd's Hut Fox's Den Tipi B&B accommodation Camping North Hill Farm has on site 4 star B&B. All rooms are en-suite, price includes full English breakfast. Sauna is available for guests use on request . The 'Squirrel Run' stands 5m above the ground and is reached by 7m suspension bridge. From its balcony and panoramic window it has views over the Chess Valley. It is equipped with a King size double bed, en-suite toilet and basin facility, an outdoor shower, DVD/CD player, fridge, tea/coffee facility and heater. Use of sauna, if available, at extra charge. Shepherd's Hut (sleeps two), situated overlooking fields. Own BBQ area. The hut is equipped with microwave, kettle, tea and coffee facility toaster, fridge, sink (hot & cold water), CD/DVD player. Toilet and shower situated 20 m away from the hut. Camping available in fields overlooking Chess Valley. Toilets/ showers available on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing