We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend a visit.”
Review of North Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Hill Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorleywood
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would recommend a visit.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We camped here for one night after visiting the Harry Potter studio tour. The campsite is well kept and was very tidy. The location is great and the campsite had the cleanest toilets I have ever used at a campsite!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    24
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
71
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the tipi for a friend's hen weekend as it seemed like a reasonable price for 6 of us at £60 per night. Beautiful location and very accessible by public transport from London. We were a mixed group of experienced wild campers and folk who liked their creature comforts and everyone left happy.

The only down side was the staff - we got a rather rude phone call at 5pm on the Friday demanding to know our arrival time and exact location. We were travelling after work and got stuck in traffic - eventually arriving at 6.30, which seemed reasonable to us, however there was no one there to book us in. We then received several phone calls the following day demanding payment, when someone could have come down to the site to welcome us. There were also people mowing the lawns around us while we were sunbathing which kind of ruined the peaceful environment and seemed a bit unnecessary given that it was supposed to be a private area - perhaps this could be done during the week when there are fewer campers around?

We also had a small fire in the tipi when the lights attached the the central pole overheated (not our fault) - luckily we noticed before it did too much damage, however there was no one available on site to check that everything was safe and when we tried to find the owner at check out to raise our concerns there was no one around, which was very concerning - be careful!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelClarkNHF, Owner at North Hill Farm, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Katherine

Thank you so much for your helpful comments.

While Georgie and I (the owners) are nearly always on site to welcome guests, that weekend happened to be one of the very few in which we were away. While I am unaware of the full circumstances, I take your concerns very seriously and though, as you can see by our other reviews, we often do get it right, on this occasion we clearly missed the mark.

Kind regards

Nigel Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for my husband's special birthday...what a delight. Had chosen the treehouse after reading the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and cannot thanks the reviewers enough. The farm is very close to motorway networks yet just on the border to the Chilterns. The treehouse is wonderful, it is secluded and unique for a special birthday or anniversary etc. The room is a good size and there is a large fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Fresh milk and buiscuits also provided. There is a dvd player but no tv...no problem as there are lots of dvds. Also there is a balcony with a bench and the outside shower. For travellers who are a litttle shy the owner gives you the opprotunity to use the shower by the jacuzzi area. However the outside shower is an experience...advice go when the sun is shining and go careful if windy as the shower curtain flaps about. Robes are provided which a thought was a nice touch and a hairdryer. There is a toliet inside the treehouse with a small sink and a cute little window so you can look out at the trees .At night the steps up to tree house are lit up which was another nice touch. I would recommend the Gate pub which is a twenty minute walk along the main road from the treehouse , a bit pricey but wonderful for a special occasion. Also the Whitehorse pub whIch is excellent for thai food is just past the Gate restaurant...the price there was cheaper and excellent landlord. There is a petrol station near these pubs/restaurant which sells waters, cakes etc. The farm is near transport links to London. We visited several National Trust properties which were nearby. Also within a ten minute walking distance was the country trail with walks along a river. You can request what time your hamper is delivered in the morning...wow hand delivered a huge amount of Continental breakfast. Overall a unique, excellent find, easy access to London and the Chilterns. Highly recommended and very good price.

Room Tip: treehouse...book early as they get busy with wedding guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pampered44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in the shepards hut, great value for money, beautiful surroundings and a great bank holiday break :) would defo like to stay again. Maybe try the tree house next time, would definitely recommend

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hayleyr92123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stopped here for a night after visiting Harry Potter studios about 10-15mins away. So a great location if you are going to Harry Potter. We stopped in the main house. We had the family room which was more then big enough for the 5 of us (2 doubles and a single.) and with enough space for a put-up bed if needed. The room was cleaned ok, not immaculate but good enough.There was a little settee and a couple of wing back chairs for you to sit on. The bathroom has is a really big corner bath and a big walk-in power shower. All the rooms (well 4 rooms) have a back door leading onto a court yard where you can sit out and you will see the horses in the stables. You can also camp here and there is a tree house or little caravan you can stay in.
The tree house looks amazing.
Breakfast was good with good quality sausage and bacon and eggs straight from there own chickens. The breakfast room/lounge has a window that looks into one of the stables. The host took the time to have a chat with us which was nice. After breakfast we took a stroll around the grounds and had a walk through the woods.
Out and about there is a pick your own strawberry fields next door and we ate at nice little pub just down the road called The Gate, you can walk to The Gate from north hill farm via a walk though the woods.

On the whole I would say the place was a little bit rough round the edges. Its not the lap the luxury but it is a farm after all, and we had a very good time here and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My Husband and i stayed here for 3 nights for our mini-moon, it was amazing so peaceful and quiet, the outdoor shower was a great touch.

It was nice to have our breakfast delivered every morning.

I would highly recommend a visit here,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rookhillstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here last night and it was a truely magical experience! We loved every minute. We were made to feel so welcome, and the breakfast brought to the treehouse in the morning was the icing on the cake so to speak. What more could you want, sauna, jacuzzi, firepit beneath the treehouse with bales of straw to sit on, a picnic bench with utensils. The treehouse itself is stunning, the bed was like sleeping on and beneath marshmallows, was very clean and the view amazing. It also had a balcony and outside shower which was toasty this morning. We loved this little gem and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: There is only one so book early to avoid dissapointment, this was the third time we tried to book, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bec k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorleywood
2.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
711 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,718 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
815 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Hill Farm

Property: North Hill Farm
Address: North Hill Farm North Hill, Chorleywood WD3 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chorleywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorleywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treehouse ' Squirrel Run' Shepherd's Hut Fox's Den Tipi B&B accommodation Camping North Hill Farm has on site 4 star B&B. All rooms are en-suite, price includes full English breakfast. Sauna is available for guests use on request . The 'Squirrel Run' stands 5m above the ground and is reached by 7m suspension bridge. From its balcony and panoramic window it has views over the Chess Valley. It is equipped with a King size double bed, en-suite toilet and basin facility, an outdoor shower, DVD/CD player, fridge, tea/coffee facility and heater. Use of sauna, if available, at extra charge. Shepherd's Hut (sleeps two), situated overlooking fields. Own BBQ area. The hut is equipped with microwave, kettle, tea and coffee facility toaster, fridge, sink (hot & cold water), CD/DVD player. Toilet and shower situated 20 m away from the hut. Camping available in fields overlooking Chess Valley. Toilets/ showers available on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing