We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful few days in a tree” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Hill Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Hill Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorleywood
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful few days in a tree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Really enjoyable break in a very different place to anywhere we’ve ever stayed before. It just took me a few times across the suspended walkway to gain confidence in the approach! We were so impressed with this tree house, well built, with fridge, plates, cutlery, all that’s needed to make hot drinks, and a very comfortable giant bed. Waking up in the morning to a view over the fields and valley, and delivery of a wonderful breakfast hamper. We were initially in two minds about using the outside shower, but quickly took to starting the day with it. Some great touches with the decoration and carvings. Staff were friendly and welcoming, Nigel giving us good advice on footpaths and places to eat, and there are plenty of both. (I also found out from him that a friend from my past is now minister at nearby Chenies Baptist Church!). Very memorable stay for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P_and_P_50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    24
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
66
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

The treehouse is a pure pleasure; a great getaway from the city. Waking up to a view of greenery and the occasional galloping horse is spectacular! Breakfast itself was brilliant. A girl brought a hamper up to the treehouse with toast, cereal, warm croissants etc, all lovely. Just a very lovely stay; there had obviously been a lot of thought into the design of the treehouse, from the porthole in the toilet to the lighting on the entrance to the treehouse. All together, a fantastic stay. I want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrankieSmith09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We got the details of North Hill Farm via a Google search & booked it because it was near to our friends. We weren't expecting a lot. Imagine our surprise when turning into the grounds to find lots of modern sculpture & landscaping. We booked in & were assigned a beautiful room which had every facility to the highest of standards. There was an outside door leading to a beautiful courtyard - again with interesting artwork. The breakfast was superb. The staff friendly. The service second to none. I would recommend this place to everybody!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamkingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I got married at North Hill Farm a month ago, and we couldn't be happier with the overall service offered by Mariola, Georgie and Nigel who took care of everything we needed them to in a stress-free, warm and friendly fashion.
We fell in love with our first viewing of the treehouse there so much we decided to stay there for 5 nights for our honeymoon and it was just a fantastic place to stay. Very peaceful with lots to see and do nearby and the treehouse itself has everything you need. And if any readers have heard about the shower on the balcony and are a bit scared - don't be, I was too and ended up really liking it as the weather was very warm but we did need to put an extra robe up as the shower curtain didn't go right the way around. For more conservative people who don't want to do that, there is a shower in the B&B itself (a 1 min walk away).
In the treehouse itself, there is a fridge, TV (with loads of DVDs) a kettle, cutlery, glasses, plates, napkins etc so you don't need to bring anything like that with you. They have shampoo, conditioner and moisturizer as well :) The bed is super-comfortable so you'll be sure to get a good night's sleep and the heater warms the place up in minutes so you'll never be chilly. Someone from the B&B brings you fresh plates etc in a basket in the morning on your doorstep with milk, juice and some cereals and there's a lovely BBQ under the treehouse so you can make your own meals.

Our friends stayed in a tent overnight after our wedding and they were delighted too with the way everything was so easy to organize and how friendly the family at North Hill Farm are.
My husband and I will be going back to North Hill Farm again for sure! Thank you to the family for making our wedding and entire stay absolutely delightful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettysTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We camped here for one night after visiting the Harry Potter studio tour. The campsite is well kept and was very tidy. The location is great and the campsite had the cleanest toilets I have ever used at a campsite!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the tipi for a friend's hen weekend as it seemed like a reasonable price for 6 of us at £60 per night. Beautiful location and very accessible by public transport from London. We were a mixed group of experienced wild campers and folk who liked their creature comforts and everyone left happy.

The only down side was the staff - we got a rather rude phone call at 5pm on the Friday demanding to know our arrival time and exact location. We were travelling after work and got stuck in traffic - eventually arriving at 6.30, which seemed reasonable to us, however there was no one there to book us in. We then received several phone calls the following day demanding payment, when someone could have come down to the site to welcome us. There were also people mowing the lawns around us while we were sunbathing which kind of ruined the peaceful environment and seemed a bit unnecessary given that it was supposed to be a private area - perhaps this could be done during the week when there are fewer campers around?

We also had a small fire in the tipi when the lights attached the the central pole overheated (not our fault) - luckily we noticed before it did too much damage, however there was no one available on site to check that everything was safe and when we tried to find the owner at check out to raise our concerns there was no one around, which was very concerning - be careful!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NigelClarkNHF, Owner at North Hill Farm, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Katherine

Thank you so much for your helpful comments.

While Georgie and I (the owners) are nearly always on site to welcome guests, that weekend happened to be one of the very few in which we were away. While I am unaware of the full circumstances, I take your concerns very seriously and though, as you can see by our other reviews, we often do get it right, on this occasion we clearly missed the mark.

Kind regards

Nigel Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for my husband's special birthday...what a delight. Had chosen the treehouse after reading the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and cannot thanks the reviewers enough. The farm is very close to motorway networks yet just on the border to the Chilterns. The treehouse is wonderful, it is secluded and unique for a special birthday or anniversary etc. The room is a good size and there is a large fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Fresh milk and buiscuits also provided. There is a dvd player but no tv...no problem as there are lots of dvds. Also there is a balcony with a bench and the outside shower. For travellers who are a litttle shy the owner gives you the opprotunity to use the shower by the jacuzzi area. However the outside shower is an experience...advice go when the sun is shining and go careful if windy as the shower curtain flaps about. Robes are provided which a thought was a nice touch and a hairdryer. There is a toliet inside the treehouse with a small sink and a cute little window so you can look out at the trees .At night the steps up to tree house are lit up which was another nice touch. I would recommend the Gate pub which is a twenty minute walk along the main road from the treehouse , a bit pricey but wonderful for a special occasion. Also the Whitehorse pub whIch is excellent for thai food is just past the Gate restaurant...the price there was cheaper and excellent landlord. There is a petrol station near these pubs/restaurant which sells waters, cakes etc. The farm is near transport links to London. We visited several National Trust properties which were nearby. Also within a ten minute walking distance was the country trail with walks along a river. You can request what time your hamper is delivered in the morning...wow hand delivered a huge amount of Continental breakfast. Overall a unique, excellent find, easy access to London and the Chilterns. Highly recommended and very good price.

Room Tip: treehouse...book early as they get busy with wedding guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pampered44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chorleywood
3.3 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
2.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Hill Farm

Property: North Hill Farm
Address: North Hill Farm North Hill, Chorleywood WD3 6HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chorleywood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chorleywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treehouse ' Squirrel Run' Shepherd's Hut Fox's Den Tipi B&B accommodation Camping North Hill Farm has on site 4 star B&B. All rooms are en-suite, price includes full English breakfast. Jacuzzi and sauna are available for guest use on request . The 'Squirrel Run' stands 5m above the ground and is reached by 7m suspension bridge. From its balcony and panoramic window it has views over the Chess Valley. It is equipped with a King size double bed, en-suite toilet and basin facility, an outdoor shower, DVD/CD player, fridge, tea/coffee facility and heater. Use of Jacuzzi and sauna, if available, at extra charge. Shepherd's Hut (sleeps two), situated overlooking fields. Own BBQ area. The hut is equipped with microwave, kettle, tea and coffee facility toaster, fridge, sink (hot & cold water), CD/DVD player. Toilet and shower situated 20 m away from the hut. Camping available in fields overlooking Chess Valley. Toilets/ showers available on site. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing