We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fully booked”

The Hoops Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Hoops Inn is a classic British pub and dining room with a contemporary twist. It is a beautiful dining space with a roaring fire and stunningoutdoor areas and is a great placeto enjoy fine ales and the exceptional wine list.The food is seasonal and locally sourced, wherever possible, withherbs fresh from the garden. There are daily specials alongsideclassic gastro pub fare - all superbly executed within a warmand relaxing atmosphere.Set within the beautifulsurroundings of the Henry MooreFoundation Estate in the village of Perry Green, near Much Hadham, The Hoops Inn is now under new management as of November 2012. The Hoops Inn has an interesting history and is believed to havebeen built about 1834, a date found on several interior beams. Throughout the 19th Century, it was described simply as a "beerhouse" and more recently was well known as the local of thegreat sculptor himself.The Hoops Inn is also available to hire for events and parties.All visitors to The Henry Moore Foundation benefit from a rangeof special offers when dining at The Hoops. Collect a voucherwhen buying tickets at the Visitor Centre during the open season.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fully booked”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Called here on an October Friday to be told they were fully booked. It seemed to me be one big party, but I can't be sure. Don't know if this is a common event, but suggests that you should book in advance - and it's only a country pub!

Happily we went on to an excellent lunch in The Bull in Much Hadham, which I highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suffolk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    74
    23
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“A nice stop on a walk”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were walking from Bishops Stortford to Much Hadham and stopped by at 11.00 for a coffee and tea. This was provided promptly and cheerfully with some brownies. Although we hardly had enough to warrant a review, how we were greeted and its reasonable price requires thanks.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HERTS
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Popped in to the hoops on a Saturday afternoon they was still serving food so we chose from the patio menu i had anti pasta which was just enough for a snack my wife had the chicken wrap wth chips which she said was very tasty and fresh we will be back soon

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D4F4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

A lovely surrounding and the food was outstanding, and value for money. Service a little slow, but they were VERY busy. Friendly staff. Lots of Henry Moore memorabilia and a good start to a pleasant visit to The Henry Moore Foundation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles-Joint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sawbridgeworth
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An early bird deal”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We went for the 5.00-7.00pm deal where two courses costs £10. We got off to an inauspicious start when the two waitresses were too busy with their administration to even look up to welcome us! Fortunately things improved. We dined inside although there is a pleasant outside garden on both sides of the main building. Both the piping hot soup and the salmon starter were a good choice, as they were tasty and more than sufficient as a starter. We opted for the beef burger with fries and salad. Unfortunately the burger was a little too processed to be really enjoyable, although the thin chips were well cooked and the overall presentation good. As a deal, it was good value for the money. There needs to be a category between average and very good as this would sit straight in the slot. The service was good throughout the meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hoops Inn Restaurant also viewed

Much Hadham, Hertfordshire
Much Hadham, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Sawbridgeworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Hoops Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing