We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, couldn't have asked for more!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clay Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Bromley B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place, couldn't have asked for more!!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed in the annexe, which is extremely comfortable, clean and contemporary. Perfect for us and our daughter. Loved all the little extras. It is the first time anybody has left squash for our daughter in the room. The under floor heating was lovely, and the bathroom an excellent size.

We were offered a good choice for breakfast and Roy made us feel very comfortable, and suggested we sent him a text if we wanted anything different for breakfast. He also lent my husband some shoe polish as we had left ours at home.

Pay heed to Roys warning of watching the gates to the driveway when you arrive. We arrived in the dark, tired after a long journey, and slightly damaged the car driving through the gates. Totally our fault, we should have parked outside.

Roy is a most fabulous host, who made us feel very much at home. We would not hesitate to stay there again when we return to see family.

Thanks Roy!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazz077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

This B&B is not in the best part of Bromley, but makes up for it in everything else.
Great welcome, spotless room. Huge bathroom with chair. Bed supremely comfortable, breakfast very good. TV medium size LCD on cable, so great picture and 100s of channels.
Nothing was too much trouble for the host, Roy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnep34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Stayed here with my wife (we're middle-aged) for just one night, but would gladly have stayed longer. Because it was the off-season, we got lucky and owner Roy (what a charming chappie!) let us have the new "annexe". (It's usually only available for two or more nights.)

It's a delightful, brand-new, addition adjoining the main house, with its own, huge, en-suite bathroom. The sizeable bedroom has a big-screen plasma, a really comfortable bed, and tea and coffee facilities. Everything in both rooms was new and the whole place was absolutely spotless.

The breakfast room in the main house was a true delight, obviously custom-built very recently, and Roy offered just about everything one could ask for in a 'continental' breakfast. However, when he learned that my wife was gluten-intolerant, he cooked us a wonderful "Full English" breakfast. Now that's what I call service!

An altogether wonderful, but too short, stay. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menifeemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterton, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2010

My family stayed at Clay Farm guest house in october 2010 for a weekend night. The onwer, Roy, was great. He was extremely accomodating for my family. His rooms are clean with a view of the back garden and located in Bromley which was near to my house. I can't recommend Clay farm Guest House enough, great for a one night stopover or for a weekend. Highly recommnded!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gschlend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed in the annexe which was just perfect in every way. It was slightly frosty outside on the first night we stayed, so the owner turned up the underfloor heating to keep the room cozy and warm. The owner was very friendly and went out of his way to ensure everything was ok. Breakfast was in main house - fantastic selection from continental to full English. The owner was very kind as to give us lifts to a local tennis centre each morning too. The house is very well situated to commute into London (16 mins from Bromley South Station). I would definitely stay here again. (A and M, from Durham)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann1young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Don't let the fact this B&B is located outside Central London put you off staying, this must have been one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in!

It takes about an hour from the door into Central London, but this is a small price to pay for an absolutely superb nights sleep. If you prefer the noise of a major city over the peace and serenity this place offers, then you may be better looking elsewhere.

We stayed for three nights at the end of November 2009, and Roy couldn't have been more helpful (even offering a lift back into Bromley one night). The bedroom was clean and spacious, with a huge king size bed (so big, I lost the wife one night), and a couple of memory foam pillows made sure we slept well. The shared bathroom and toilet were also clean and well kept.

Breakfast was a simple buffet continental affair, with plenty of toast and freshly brewed coffee, which set us up just right for a day of sight seeing in London.

Travel arrangements are quite simple once you get used to it, but we found the best route was London Victoria (look on the departures board for the "fastest departures to" section) direct into Bromley South. When leaving the station by the main entrance, turn right up the slight hill and use the first bus stop outside the Slug and Lettuce Pub, for either the 61, 261 or 358 bus. It takes about 15-20 minutes to the Bronley Bus Garage (next stop after the BP garage on the left - also announced on the bus). Turn left from the stop and then take the first right down Lower Gravel Road. Jackson Road is the third road you come to. Enter the road and Clay Farm immediately faces you on the slight corner of Jackon Road.

I completely forgot to take some pictures, but the reviews on here are testimony to an excellent hospitable B&B.

Thanks for your time Roy (oh, and Roxy!)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed in the annexe at Clay Farm Guest House and were very happy - we had our own entrance, on-site parking and were super-pleased with the added bonus of no steps to climb with our suitcases!

Roy was very helpful without being intrusive. Bromley was a nice, quiet location that offered easy access to the south of London. We wouldn't hesitate to use Clay Farm again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achikochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromley
3.4 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
2.9 mi away
Travelodge London Bromley
2.7 mi away
Avis Hotel
Avis Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bromley
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Manor at Bickley
The Manor at Bickley
#3 of 6 in Bromley
205 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Eltham Hotel
2.6 mi away
Bull's Head Hotel
Bull's Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chislehurst
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clay Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clay Farm Guest House

Property: Clay Farm Guest House
Address: 126 Jackson Road, Bromley BR2 8NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Bromley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clay Farm Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clay Farm Guest House / Bed and Breakfast in Bromley, Kent (The greenest London borough!). Quiet location, 'home from home' with free ultra fast WI-FI. Ideally situated B and B accommodation with fast trains to central London and on the border of the beautiful Kent countryside. Convenient for Bromley, Orpington, Croydon, South East London and North Kent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clay Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Farm Guest House Bromley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing