We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food...............but the noise ruined the evening!”

Dillinger's American Diner
Ranked #96 of 262 Restaurants in Bromley
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
160 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent food...............but the noise ruined the evening!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We've been going there for years - probably since the mid 1970's as far as I can remember. The food was excellent (as usual). Try the Double Decker, more food to eat than you can shake a stick at!!!

The only downside was that although we did not book our table until 9pm, the establishment was extremely noisy, to the extent that the four of us could not hold a conversation without shouting. This was caused in the main by a table of teenage girls shreiking and shouting at the top of their voices, aided by a screaming baby in a high chair sitting a few feet away.

The establishment did not quieten down until about 10:15 when they all left.

I know its not the fault of the staff, but if you are a patron who wishes to either treat their teenage daughter for a birthday party with her friends, or to inappropriately take a small baby to sit at the table with you - please ensure you attend an early sitting so the rest of us do not have to suffer!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pod-from-Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    51
    23
    17
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always great to go”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Dillingers has always been a favourite. The portions are big and of good quality. The only thing is that if you dine early, there can be a lot of children there, so can be noisy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Totally yummy”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Staff always happy and friendly. Food is always delicious and huge portions. Atmosphere is fun and great. Price is great

Helpful?
Thank Karin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average experience ”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Dillinger's was ok, I wouldn't not go again but ive been to better American diners around. Food was alright but staff took ages to serve us even though the manager was sitting on the table next to us and could see. We was on the corner by the door and I'd expect each customer regardless of where they was sat to have equal attention.

Helpful?
Thank Krank8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Iv come here 3times now with my boyfriend and we love the place. i would reccommend booking in advance as they do get busy.
The staff are really friendly and its excellent value. The food portions are very generous and the choices are brilliant

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mickey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dillinger's American Diner also viewed

Bromley, Greater London
Bromley, Greater London
 
Bromley, Greater London
Bromley, Greater London
 

Been to Dillinger's American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing