We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It ticked all the boxes”
Review of Avis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bromley
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here for one night to go to a show at the Churchill theatre. It feels a million miles from London (in a good way!), but I was only on the train from London Bridge for around 20 minutes (and £2.50 fare on my Oyster).

There ARE train stations within 5-10 minutes walk, but I decided to get the train to Grove Park on the way in and from Elmstead Woods on the way back as it was such a beautiful weekend. Both stations were about 25 minutes easy walk and, especially the latter, very leafy areas.

I arrived just before 6.30 pm to a friendly greeting at reception and was dealt with very efficiently. Within a few minutes, I was in my ground floor room overlooking the back garden. I don't think there would be a noise problem even in the front rooms as Rodway Road seems to be a quiet suburban street.

My room was a double - a reasonable size with a very comfy bed. As I had to leave reasonably early on the sunday, I gave breakfast a miss as it's served 8.3 to 9.30.

It took about 10 minutes to walk to Bromley Centre - nothing to write home about, a typical suburban shopping centre with a standard 60s / 70s municipal theatre

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nige9359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    28
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
17
13
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Avis 3 times now, staff are very friendly and kind, the first two times the room (2) was brilliant the third time the room was a Littel small and the shower wasn't very good, breakfast was good all three times, will stay meany times to come :) very happy

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have stayed at the Avis twice now, and will certainly use it again on further trips in this area. The rooms are clean and well kept. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Rooms are a reasonable although the bathrooms are cosy. TV, WIFI, Coffee & tea making facilities along with hairdryer.
The evening menu is small but the meals I have tired have all been good quality, I can definately recommend the Lasagne!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckys1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed at the Avis four nights a week for three months whilst working away from home, I used several of the rooms and had a meal every night which was always good value. I can honestly say that the service i received was second to none.
The Avis is a small but friendly place where it was a common event when the staff went above and beyond the call of duty, nothing was too much trouble for them.
I shall miss them and the place but will most definately recommend the Avis to everyone.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyfarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 16 nights in December 2012 to January 7, 2013. The room (double) was small but it was clean and tidy. I did not use any of the services so I am not able to comment. However, the reception staff was friendly and very helpful. I found though that the heating used to be off when we came in at night as the room used to be cold.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pniles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Everyone makes this comment , but here we go...the staff are lovely and sincerely friendly! So approachable, it worth the stay for them. The rooms are small and basicish, but for a couple of nights great, clean and comfortable, had a kettle wifi and hairdryer, all I needed!. Only a 5 min walk from bromley North Station and Bromley town. They serve dinner, which is VERY good value, the food is all home cooked I would def recommend the stew, portions huge and alcohol very well priced. Cooked breakfast very nice too. The dining room is a nice set up, very easy to talk to people, I was travelling alone so that was really nice. Def would stay again if I had to be in Bromley.

Room Tip: Quiet area, so all rooms are good for sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed here for 1 night all the staff were extreamly friendly and very welcoming ! It was clean and the beds were comfy heating was on so a lovely stay. I would defenatly recommend this hotel to a friend and i would most defenatly stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovelylozy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromley
0.9 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge London Bromley
1.6 mi away
Glendevon Hotel
Glendevon Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bromley
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Manor at Bickley
The Manor at Bickley
#3 of 6 in Bromley
205 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Eltham Hotel
2.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avis Hotel

Property: Avis Hotel
Address: 33 Rodway Road, Bromley BR1 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avis Hotel Bromley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing