We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly run establishment”
Review of Avis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bromley
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were made welcome from the moment we arrived.
Our room was basic but very clean and comfortable,if I had one criticism it would have to be that the pillows were to soft I had to use the towels provided to boost them up for my neck suport.
As mentioned in there advert the car park is on the small size but I was very fortunate to occupy
the last remaining space available although it was a tight squeeze getting in.
Breakfast was first class very well laid out and as much as you like, tea ,coffee ,orange juice ect,
The place was full with other guest which is a good sign that the establishment has a good reputation.
I would well recommend it to anyone who had business to attend to in the area or even in my case a stop over on my way to the Euro tunnel.
Kind Regards Mike Z from Plymouth

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The Avis was far from a pleasant stay for my family and i.
At reception our greeting was a NEW Young member of staff who said we were booked in for 1 nt instead of 4.
Once it was sorted out we were given the Keys to room 5, a quad family room.
On entering the stained carpet was very noticable.
Im blessed none of us suffers with asthma god knows when the room last had à dusting.
There was 1 single bed with storage so on pulling open the drawer i was appauled to find that someone had à nose bleed in it.
There were still blood stains on the top sheet which was on the bed.
The en suite bathroom was a caravan toilet, tiny.
The shower runs hot,cold then scaulding hot all in 4 mins.
I went to dry my hair and noticed the dryer was last checked back in 2010.
Not a hotel for us but for workmen.....
Painting till gone 10pm and you smelt it .
Breakfast was fine if you like chipped milk hugs and stained cups.
Simon who i had to persume was a manager was helpfull because after being there for 2hrs he showed up ,6pm and offered to find us other accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moira_dempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed for a month in the Avis, it was my first time there after it being recommended by my pal. Wow was he right! Such a lovely place with a great ambience. The staff was genuinely amazing, especially the young lad that was working at reception in the middle of the week I think. He, despite not looking older than 18 was so helpful in all my requests and was always going above the call of duty for me! The rest of the staff were nearly as good (a tough ask) and the family vibes I got from the hotel was so refreshing and helped distinguish this hotel from the others. The food was delightful and the rooms exquisite. The rooms were modern yet had a classical touch to die for. Loved it. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone and everyone!!!!! The fact it was so close to the station was a bonus as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yourhelpfulfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our welcome when we arrived was very good, we think a manager, but the rest of the staff very poor. This hotel could be excellent with some TLC. The rooms were very tired and of poor quality for the price.
The dining room was a lovely room but the carpet very badly stained and top table cloths very grubby. the table we used was not changed for the two nights we were there. It felt very much that it needed the female touch! What a pity!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have propper on suits not loos in a cupboard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Avis 3 times now, staff are very friendly and kind, the first two times the room (2) was brilliant the third time the room was a Littel small and the shower wasn't very good, breakfast was good all three times, will stay meany times to come :) very happy

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have stayed at the Avis twice now, and will certainly use it again on further trips in this area. The rooms are clean and well kept. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Rooms are a reasonable although the bathrooms are cosy. TV, WIFI, Coffee & tea making facilities along with hairdryer.
The evening menu is small but the meals I have tired have all been good quality, I can definately recommend the Lasagne!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beckys1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed at the Avis four nights a week for three months whilst working away from home, I used several of the rooms and had a meal every night which was always good value. I can honestly say that the service i received was second to none.
The Avis is a small but friendly place where it was a common event when the staff went above and beyond the call of duty, nothing was too much trouble for them.
I shall miss them and the place but will most definately recommend the Avis to everyone.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyfarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromley
0.9 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge London Bromley
2 mi away
The Manor at Bickley
The Manor at Bickley
#3 of 6 in Bromley
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glendevon Hotel
Glendevon Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bromley
58 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Orpington
2.2 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Chislehurst
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avis Hotel

Address: 33 Rodway Road, Bromley BR1 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Bromley
Price Range: £77 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avis Hotel Bromley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing