We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plainly good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avis Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bromley
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Plainly good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

When I booked this I wasn't expecting much as there is little accommodation in the Bromley area at the bargain end of the market. Upon arrival I was greeted by a delightful and naturally friendly young woman. No corporate cheesy false smile clone she! My room was on the ground floor. It wouldn't have been suitable for a person of nervous disposition as window had no stays to prevent it from being opened wide. The in my room could have easily accommodated three of me which is a very unpleasant thought. The shower room was fine but the only let down was that the so called hot water was dispensed as lukewarm at best. It was a swift but exhilarating shower and the only lasting damage was me almost having to deploy a sink plunger to encourage some of my lower anatomy back down into place. The self service cooked breakfast was possibly one one of the most tasteless I've encouraged since staying in a Holiday Inn Express. This ritual of blandness was overseen by a rather sinister chap who by his suit portrayed the air of ownership of this establishment. If this chap is the owner I would encourage him to lurk unseen so as not to unnerve the punters. He should sit in the background out of sight stroking his cat like any self respecting Bond Baddie. He should only be wheeled if a customer refuses to pay so that he can say"Kill them" and then calmly return to his cat grooming duties, designing nuclear bunkers in North Korea or whatever befits a man of his station. I'm sure he's a nice man really but when you're sitting there observing him, the mind tends to wander to such flights of fancy.
I would return if business took me there again but I'd skip the breakfast. I wouldn't go there with my wife. Romantic it isn't.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoggyDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    26
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
10
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced for a south London hotel. Rooms are clean and have on suite facilities. Breakfast is a very good full english buffet, with 2 types of egg, fried and scrambled. Real butter for your toast and a free selection of preserves are all included in the B&B price. Only down side is the restricted parking on site there is room for approx 7 cars, but night parking on the street is a minor problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was one place where the staff really make you feel at home. My initial room was a little cramped, so they upgraded me to a bigger room. They went out of the way to make me "vegetarian" sausages, assuming that I was vegetarian.. really friendly folks out there, always smiling and willing to help. Breakfast was typical English stuff... rooms are clean and hygienic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are bigger, though a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Nice warm welcome. Our Family room was needing a revamp and not very well laid out but rooms are being renovated at the min. Could be a really nice hotel with some tlc. Breakfast was really nice each morning. Staff very helpful. We had some visitors while there, which were also made welcome and enjoyed food and drinks in the lounge. All in all a good base.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were made welcome from the moment we arrived.
Our room was basic but very clean and comfortable,if I had one criticism it would have to be that the pillows were to soft I had to use the towels provided to boost them up for my neck suport.
As mentioned in there advert the car park is on the small size but I was very fortunate to occupy
the last remaining space available although it was a tight squeeze getting in.
Breakfast was first class very well laid out and as much as you like, tea ,coffee ,orange juice ect,
The place was full with other guest which is a good sign that the establishment has a good reputation.
I would well recommend it to anyone who had business to attend to in the area or even in my case a stop over on my way to the Euro tunnel.
Kind Regards Mike Z from Plymouth

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The Avis was far from a pleasant stay for my family and i.
At reception our greeting was a NEW Young member of staff who said we were booked in for 1 nt instead of 4.
Once it was sorted out we were given the Keys to room 5, a quad family room.
On entering the stained carpet was very noticable.
Im blessed none of us suffers with asthma god knows when the room last had à dusting.
There was 1 single bed with storage so on pulling open the drawer i was appauled to find that someone had à nose bleed in it.
There were still blood stains on the top sheet which was on the bed.
The en suite bathroom was a caravan toilet, tiny.
The shower runs hot,cold then scaulding hot all in 4 mins.
I went to dry my hair and noticed the dryer was last checked back in 2010.
Not a hotel for us but for workmen.....
Painting till gone 10pm and you smelt it .
Breakfast was fine if you like chipped milk hugs and stained cups.
Simon who i had to persume was a manager was helpfull because after being there for 2hrs he showed up ,6pm and offered to find us other accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moira_dempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bromley hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I stayed for a month in the Avis, it was my first time there after it being recommended by my pal. Wow was he right! Such a lovely place with a great ambience. The staff was genuinely amazing, especially the young lad that was working at reception in the middle of the week I think. He, despite not looking older than 18 was so helpful in all my requests and was always going above the call of duty for me! The rest of the staff were nearly as good (a tough ask) and the family vibes I got from the hotel was so refreshing and helped distinguish this hotel from the others. The food was delightful and the rooms exquisite. The rooms were modern yet had a classical touch to die for. Loved it. Will definitely recommend this place to anyone and everyone!!!!! The fact it was so close to the station was a bonus as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yourhelpfulfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromley
0.9 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
1.6 mi away
Glendevon Hotel
Glendevon Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bromley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bickley Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Eltham Hotel
2.2 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Chislehurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bull's Head Hotel
Bull's Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chislehurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avis Hotel

Property: Avis Hotel
Address: 33 Rodway Road, Bromley BR1 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avis Hotel Bromley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing