We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice and friendly hotel”
Review of Avis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bromley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very nice and friendly hotel”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have just had our 4th stay at the Avis Hotel and as usual everything was lovely. This hotel is alway's very clean the staff are so friendly and the food is great. It's in a good location on a quiet road, a short walk to the shopping centre and train station, what more could you want.
Our first stay was for my sons wedding, there were 12 of us staying, we arrived early as arranged and the staff were so kind bringing us tea and coffee so we could refresh after our long drive, before getting ready for the wedding. There is also nice area to sit and read the papers.
So, all in all a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    26
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
16
12
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I’m spending a couple of days a week in Orpington (where there are no hotels) with work at the moment and I thought I’d try something more interesting than the obvious budget chain hotels. I contacted the Avis to get a quote for a two night stay and I mentioned that this would be a regular occurrence for the next few months. I received an emailed quote back but I had to call up to actually make the booking – even though the hotel has a website, you can’t book there. The website does mention that a discount is available if you don’t take breakfast but when I called to make a booking, I was told that there is in fact no discount available.
I was quoted £54.95 for a single room but the website says it should be £49.95, anyway it’s still comparatively cheap.
The receptionist was reasonably friendly on arrival though I was just waved in the general direction of the room rather than being shown to it, this may have been because there was simply no room for more than one person in the corridor to the room or in the room itself! I can safely say that have never stayed in a smaller room. Not only was it tiny – I could touch the walls on either side of the room when standing in the middle of it, but it was quite tired and run down. When I first entered my room, the occupant of the room next door was having a conversation on the phone with his wife and not only could I hear every word he said, I could hear her side of the conversation too. The walls are so thin that I could hear every floorboard and wardrobe door creak in the rooms either side of mine as well as in the corridor outside. The “en suite” bathroom appears to have been taken straight out of a caravan, it is a claustrophobic plastic box with a shower in it, opposite the loo that is situated so close to the sink that you have to lean over to one side. The whole bathroom has faded from white to a grim yellow colour. The basin drains so slowly you can’t run a tap for more than a couple of seconds before it fills and the temperature of the shower seems to be more dependent on who else is running a tap in the hotel than any movement you make on the shower control itself. Being alternately frozen and then poached in a grotty plastic shower cubicle that’s too small to move your arms properly is an awful experience and not how I want to start a day.
The hotel website states specifically that all rooms have LCD tvs with HDMI ports so I brought a games console to plug into one. This proved impossible without first unplugging the power and aerial leads already inserted into the tv to take it off the wall and locate the hdmi port. Even then it was incredibly difficult because of the positioning of the bracket on the tv and the fact that it sits so close to the wall.
The website also mentions:
-WiFi – it’s flaky at best, both phone and tablet got only one bar and it kept disconnecting
-A Good Nights Sleep. Not in the uncomfortable bed in room no.8
-Clear prices. Yet I was quoted a different amount than is shown on the website, not that clear then.
So, I've got a tiny bed in a tiny room with a bathroom taken out of a caravan and I've wasted 15 minutes taking the tv off the wall while having no choice but to listen to my neighbour talk to his wife on the phone. (btw I can’t talk to mine because there’s no signal on the Three network in my room!)
Breakfast was ok, slightly above average hotel buffet but not enough to make up for the shoebox I’ve just slept in. When enquiring about checking out I was asked whether I wanted to book another stay, I declined even though the manager said that they have bigger rooms (for only a small additional fee!)
They may have bigger rooms, but they’re not as big as the obvious budget chain hotels who cost half as much.
Avis had its chance to win my repeat business but putting me in the smallest, noisiest, least comfortable room wasn't the way to do it.

Room Tip: Avoid no.8
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dingwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bromley hotels

bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed for one night. They were excellent at helping to accommodate us as we had cancelled in the morning and then called several hours later and asked if we could still come and they got us a room. There is free parking outside the hotel which was a complete bonus for London. The train station is a 5 minute walk and was super easy for getting into central London. Our room was huge, it had two single beds and one double bed. It was clean and simple. They even turned the heat on for us so when we arrived our room was cozy. Breakfast was fresh and hot. The manager came around each table to ask how everyone's evening was and to come back another time. All in all if this hotel had a bit of money invested in it, it would be double the price to stay. It was simple, so if you are a hotel snob this isn't the hotel for you. But if you are a family that just wants a decent place to stay where your children are accepted then pick Avis hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alicia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were given a warm welcome and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. Three of us shared a family room and there was plenty of space. The area is quiet, but close to the town centre. Breakfast was excellent. It was freshly cooked.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

When I booked this I wasn't expecting much as there is little accommodation in the Bromley area at the bargain end of the market. Upon arrival I was greeted by a delightful and naturally friendly young woman. No corporate cheesy false smile clone she! My room was on the ground floor. It wouldn't have been suitable for a person of nervous disposition as window had no stays to prevent it from being opened wide. The in my room could have easily accommodated three of me which is a very unpleasant thought. The shower room was fine but the only let down was that the so called hot water was dispensed as lukewarm at best. It was a swift but exhilarating shower and the only lasting damage was me almost having to deploy a sink plunger to encourage some of my lower anatomy back down into place. The self service cooked breakfast was possibly one one of the most tasteless I've encouraged since staying in a Holiday Inn Express. This ritual of blandness was overseen by a rather sinister chap who by his suit portrayed the air of ownership of this establishment. If this chap is the owner I would encourage him to lurk unseen so as not to unnerve the punters. He should sit in the background out of sight stroking his cat like any self respecting Bond Baddie. He should only be wheeled if a customer refuses to pay so that he can say"Kill them" and then calmly return to his cat grooming duties, designing nuclear bunkers in North Korea or whatever befits a man of his station. I'm sure he's a nice man really but when you're sitting there observing him, the mind tends to wander to such flights of fancy.
I would return if business took me there again but I'd skip the breakfast. I wouldn't go there with my wife. Romantic it isn't.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoggyDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced for a south London hotel. Rooms are clean and have on suite facilities. Breakfast is a very good full english buffet, with 2 types of egg, fried and scrambled. Real butter for your toast and a free selection of preserves are all included in the B&B price. Only down side is the restricted parking on site there is room for approx 7 cars, but night parking on the street is a minor problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was one place where the staff really make you feel at home. My initial room was a little cramped, so they upgraded me to a bigger room. They went out of the way to make me "vegetarian" sausages, assuming that I was vegetarian.. really friendly folks out there, always smiling and willing to help. Breakfast was typical English stuff... rooms are clean and hygienic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are bigger, though a bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromley
0.9 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
1.6 mi away
Glendevon Hotel
Glendevon Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bromley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Manor at Bickley
The Manor at Bickley
#3 of 6 in Bromley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Eltham Hotel
2.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham
2.2 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Chislehurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avis Hotel

Property: Avis Hotel
Address: 33 Rodway Road, Bromley BR1 3JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avis Hotel Bromley, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing