We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunchtime Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Palace

Mandarin Palace
Ranked #51 of 260 Restaurants in Bromley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went on a Sunday lunchtime to try the lunchtime menu which is a set two course meal.

There are a large selection of starters, many served with seaweed whilst the main courses are served with either rice or noodles. The dishes are traditional rather than modern and are cooked to perfection. Of particular is the starter of smoked chicken which was the best version that I have tried of this dish. Deserts include toffee apple or banana and Movenpick ice cream.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Overall this was an excellent meal and I will definitely return here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    3
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely food, fantastic service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Being gluten free I had craved a nice Chinese for a long while. I was recommended this restaurant by a friend and it did not let me down. The guy who I spoke to was extremely helpful and could offer lots of advice and options available. He was willing to alter the soy sauce to a different ingredient so I was able to have my favourite dish!

The food was delicious and the portion sizes were large - even had some for the next day!

The delivery was quick and the man who delivered it was also extremely polite and friendly

Cannot wait to come back in a few weeks!

Thank you for being so helpful!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ElitzaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BROMLEY
Level Contributor
205 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A very good ( and under-rated ) Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have visited the Mandarin Palace Restaurant on several occasions and we have been consistently impressed. Had a Booking two years ago at Christmas for 10 people , all of whom were most impressed.
Our latest visit did not disappoint. Food is very well- prepared and well-presented with a very good choice on the Menu ( both Set Menus and A La Carte ). Crispy Duck was excellent , as was the Sea Bass Fillets with Spring Onion and Ginger.
Ambience of the Restaurant is very cosy and comfortable and the Service is prompt and friendly.
Prices are reasonable , so I can thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BROMLEYKENT90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley Kent
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in the Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

One of the longest established restaurants in Bromley and has always been one of the best. Simon has always been the perfect host and sticks to his no MSG policy. The menu is not just the standard faire but many dishes have their own uniqueness.Worth a visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ErictheGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Lovely friendly and welcoming, never had a problem. The food is great and value for Money, sorry about some of the other negative reviews, but I can not fault it. Nice lunch time menu, better than an M&S sandwich, cake and coffee and that's not always up to standard. Try it, it's worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlemeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin Palace also viewed

Bromley, Greater London
Bromley, Greater London
 
Bromley, Greater London
Bromley, Greater London
 

Been to Mandarin Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing