We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Day out

It was lovely when we first arrived at opening time lots to see animals really sweet but then it... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
kathypY4840JH
,
New Romney, United Kingdom
Rare breeds centre

Had an amazing Sunday with my family. Lots to see and do, very muddy, but that's the English... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
teresasB7207MM
,
Chatham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 661 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Woodchurch
from £140.00
More Info
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
480
132
28
8
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
480
132
28
8
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pig racing tractor ride birds of prey harris hawk farm animals all ages falconry display falconry experience the barn woodland walk soft play hand wash zip wire gift shop lovely place to visit year olds member of staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We had a really fun day out ay the Rare Breeds Centre today. There was lots to do, highlights were: the various playgrounds, which my daughters loved; the amazing falconry display; the pig races (really funny); and the children's barn where the girls could meet and stroke piglets, goats, sheep, rabbits, cows and many more. Just a lot of fun, well laid out, lots of informative signs and helpful staff members and all kept in good condition.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The only real letdown was the food was pretty mediocre - given the farm itself is organic the granary restaurant was a letdown with its wilted salads, chips with everything and bland pies.

But, dont let that put you off. Overall a really great day out - just pack a picnic and enjoy a day in the beautiful Kent countryside with lots of fun things to do.

Date of experience: June 2012
Thank Dan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2012

what a worthwile place to visit. its a charity run premises so make sure you pay the 'gift' price. great petting of animals and even better play areas. my grandaughter and her friend couldn't get enough of it and had to be dragged away to go home.

Date of experience: May 2012
1  Thank 4,779
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had a great time here and had never visted before.

I loved the petting zoo part, which was great fun. Amazed at how the animals are so well behaved and don't try to run off!

We also tried to trailer ride, which was good fun. However the man didn't stop for anyone to get off, which was a bit weird and drive straight past some people waiting to be picked up.

We also ate in the cafe, which was nice.

The only downside was the price, but i understand why it is so expensive.

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank michelle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Brilliant day out for all ages, lots of animal to pet and even lambs to feed (spring). The farm is really well managed and the trailer ride is not to be missed, the pigs are so huge and the piglets so tiny. Fab day out. Dont miss the walk up to the secret lake.

Date of experience: April 2012
2  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We went to a Vintage fair here on Sunday. The Centre is a real find. Gorgeous animals, all beautifully cared for, facilities were excellent and there was lots to see, we will be returning with our grandson and friends with children as it is a lovely day out and helps raise money for a worthwhile charity and ensure these animals continue to live in such a wonderful environment.
The only thing that I should say is that before we went to the animal area we went to the centres restaurant which was really nice apart from ironically the 'Hospitality Manager'. We hadn't been before so weren't sure if it was table service etc so we went straight to him and asked if they did a full english breakfast, no smile, nothing, he just said "Menu's are on the table". We then saw the menus and and asked if we could have a coffee and again he just said "Coffees are at the machine down the end". We worked out that even though the menus were on the table, it was partially self service and we had to make our own coffees then order from him. He was so rude and unfriendly and not a good representation of such a lovely place, you need someone warm and friendly especially when lots of young families go there, maybe it was an off day?

Date of experience: April 2012
1  Thank Cherry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews