We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bickley back on the way up - yippee!!!”

The Bickley Pub & Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bickley Pub & Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 43 Restaurants in Chislehurst
Price range: US$4 - US$39
Cuisines: European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A friendly local pub in the heart of beautiful Chislehurst only a short walk from Chislehurst railway station. With a wide selection of real ales, and intriguing winelist and simple, fresh food served all day every day. Join us on Sundays for coffee, Bloody Marys and sumptuous roasts from £12.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bickley back on the way up - yippee!!!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked a table for 17, adults and kids, the sunday before xmas, overall we had a great time, food great, service fab, atmosphere lovely. Ok, the restaurant decor is tired and tatty but thats all due to change following the fabulous refurb thats on its way! Be patient people, looks like we're about to get a decent pub back in this neck of the woods xxx

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alev N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    91
    58
    66
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst Christmas meal & service ever!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our booking for lunch was at 4pm on Christmas day, after several enquiries an amuse bouche arrived at 5.45pm, follwed half an hour later by the starter. Both of which were fine, but hardly had the christmas wow factor. A further half an hour & the main meal turned up cold & had to be sent back, so further delays. The turkey dinner itself was 2 potatoes, 2 slices of turkey, 2 carrots, 2 parsnips & 1 pig in blanket, no stuffing & then we had to ask for the sauces to be brought.
We did get a free bottle of prosecco by way of an apology, but this did not make up for the below average food & slow service.
The pre-payed price of £80, was a complete fraud in my view, with no drink included & I would not have paid in advance had i known. With the pub shut & approx. 50 pre-booked diners, how can they get it so wrong?
Thanks for a memorable christmas for all the wrong reasons.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, Middlesex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff, great food and a brilliant party!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I recently hired the private room above The Bickley pub, for my Mum's birthday party. We had around 50 guests and Sadie and her team couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful, not to mention discreet on the evening. The food was amazing and plentiful (Thai chicken curry, black wild rice, lasagne, MASSIVE chunky chips, salads and garlic bread), the drinks in constant flow (and they kept to their word to tell my Mum when she was getting close to her tab limit, instead of "oooops, sorry" going over it) and the room itself was laid out beautifully. Lots of people commented on the throne-like chairs and the saucy wallpaper, but there wasn't a negative comment in sight. Sadie's piece de resistance, was when my Mum was told she had a two-hour wait for a taxi at the end of the night and Sadie managed to rustle one up in 15 minutes - that's service for you! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Bickley, Sadie and her Team, to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teeheebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food - weird wallpaper”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Bit unfair really - the place is due to close for refurbishment in January. Still, the food and service made up for the tired décor. If my 'real' Christmas dinner this year is as good as this, I will have had 2 treats. Thankyou, Bickley! I shall be back when you've had time to redecorate!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Loads of potential - can't wait or the refurb!”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Food excellent. Staff warm and welcoming. Pub a bit soulless and in desperate need of an investment - and the good news is apparently they're getting one in January 2014 (and from the mood board on display in the bar it looks absolutely FANTASTIC!). I guess they're doing their best with what they've got in terms of a building but there's only so much you can do. Not my favourite pub in the world - yet - but come March next year I think it might be up there. Keep your eyes on The Bickley, and roll on the opening party 2014.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DOXFORDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bickley Pub & Steakhouse also viewed

Chislehurst, Greater London
Chislehurst, Greater London
 
Chislehurst, Greater London
Chislehurst, Greater London
 
Chislehurst, Greater London
Chislehurst, Greater London
 

Been to The Bickley Pub & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing