We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturdays tapas and cocktails”

Bank House Chislehurst
Ranked #13 of 42 Restaurants in Chislehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Bank House Chislehurst is a wine bar serving natural and carefully hand-selected wines, creative classic cocktails and modern European small plates of artisan food, prepared daily by our talented in-house chefs.
Restaurant details
Description: Bank House Chislehurst is a wine bar serving natural and carefully hand-selected wines, creative classic cocktails and modern European small plates of artisan food, prepared daily by our talented in-house chefs.
Reviewed 4 March 2023 via mobile

Bank House has the best Mixologist in SE , cocktail are incredible… ask for Anton . Amazing food .. try the anchovies bruschetta and the chorizo in honey

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2023 via mobile

We visited for a friends birthday, we were welcomed warmly by a waiter called George. First bottle of wine was a strange one - unlabelled and smelt like wet dog so we changed the wine for the second bottle. We had a selection of starters which were very nice, chorizo, cheese fondue, Parma ham, Padron peppers and some extra bread. On ordering our mains we were told the sharing steaks were 45 mins - 1hr wait, but we didn’t mind and we were eagerly looking forward to it. Unfortunately we were disappointed. We ordered 1 x cote de boeuf and 1 x chateaubriand. The steaks were advertised as 2-4 people each and priced at £75 each; as there were 6 of us we thought this would be plenty. The steaks do not come with anything so we also ordered a selection of sides. One being truffle mash which was priced at £9.50. The truffle mash turned up cold which was unacceptable considering the cost. The cote de boeuf was really disappointing it was dry and chewy and still had a lot of blood on the plate. Where there were 6 of us, we divided it up a slice each and cut one bit in half. None of us enjoyed it, it was so chewy one had given up and put it in a tissue, 2 people put it back on the serving plate and 2 others tried to chew their way through it and left half of it on their plates.
We said to our waiter that the steak was not very nice and took it to the chef to explain our thoughts. On returning he apologised that the steak we were given had a lot of silou running through it so it made it really dry and chewy.
We then asked for the bill and to our dismay we were charged for the inedible steak. The manager came over first of all made a comment that we looked miserable and then denied what the chef had told us and said most of it was eaten anyway and continued to argue with us about the steak. We were offered a bottle of Prosecco for the error but we did not want to continue our evening there and asked that they just removed the steak from the bill. Eventually they did and we paid and left still leaving a £50 tip for the waiter. Overall started off well but ended badly. We must of paid £85 each for the evening and left hungry and disappointed- we won’t be returning to this restaurant again. If you want a decent steak I would go up to a proper steak restaurant and probably pay less for better quality food.

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank 479lucyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2022 via mobile

Having visited a number of times before, I expected good service and good food. Not sure where your service has gone - it was lacking and food was also just about okay. You weren’t overly busy - so don’t understand!

Needs someone to decide if it’s a wine bar with nibbles - where service doesn’t matter as much as the wine is the focus, or it’s somewhere where food and service get back to decent standards- for the prices you charge.

I left feeling it was expensive for a mediocre experience - and also what a shame it’s lost the more personal touch which made it worth visiting.

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank Ideas4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2022

A proper Sunday lunch, beautifully cooked roast beef, fluffy Yorkshire puddings and crispy duck fat roast potatoes. They obviously use quality ingredients and the restaurant was packed. Why can't more restaurants learn from places like this?

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2022 via mobile

Had heard about Bank House for a while but never got round to trying it out. I was told it’s a bar/rustic pub so I was expecting pretty standard food. However I was completely surprised. The food was absolutely first class something you would expect in a high end restaurant in london. We had venison and Flat iron steak, which was absolutely delicious. The only thing which would need improvement was the service as the waiters / waitresses were a bit slow and didn’t really know the menu well however this is me being very critical.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Kad2213
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Bank House Chislehurst also viewed

Chislehurst, Greater London
Chislehurst, Greater London
 
Chislehurst, Greater London
Chislehurst, Greater London
 

Been to Bank House Chislehurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.