We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay”
Review of Crown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crown Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chislehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I needed a local hotel and as this had been recommended we decided to stay bed and breakfast) for 1 week and found the room comfortable and clean. We choose one of the balcony larger rooms and it was very adequate. There were many home comforts such as : TV, Wifi, tea, coffee and bottled water, iron and trouser press, hairdryer, toiletries, storage space and a large bed. The noise from the pub was not too loud and after 11 was very quiet.
Breakfast was well prepared as was the evening meal ( this we paid for separately). The staff were helpful and accommodating. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Crown Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms at the font of the inn look out onto the common- a great view in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    38
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
27
52
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

What an awful experience we had at the Crown Inn. Very expensive drinks and then when I wanted to use the loo there were CCTV cameras pointed straight at the urinals watching me pee. I thought this was against basic human rights and the law of the land. Dreadful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlfonzeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porter, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I although long time residents of Chislehurst had recently moved to the USA and this was our first visit back since we left the Country. We sourced the Crown Inn via the Internet as we knew the location would be convenient for London but what we could not have anticipated was the outstanding quality of service that we experienced from the moment we arrived at the Crown Inn

Reuben and Katie are outstanding managers and hosts and there entire staff helpful and efficient , whatever assistance we required was met with a ' no problem ' attitude and instant solution

The rooms are well appointed and the deluxe room enjoys wonderful views over the common. They are both clean and comfortable and despite being above the pub there is little or no noise from the bar that affects you if you are in the rooms during opening hours but frankly with the quality of the bar and the restaurant why would you be in your room !!.

The bar provides an excellent atmosphere with a great selection of local ales and recognised beers and lagers as well as a good selection of wines by the glass.

The restaurant really is first class . The breakfast is outstanding , and both the lunch and evening menus are varied and both the quality and quantity of the food proves great value for money as does a well stocked wine cellar. The Sunday lunch is also superb.

We would strongly recommend the Crown Inn whether you are looking for an overnight stay , a weekend break or longer and we shall definitely be staying here on our subsequent visits.

10/10

Nick and Debbie V

Room Tip: If available the Deluxe room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We booked the standard room for ten nights on the internet and upgraded to the deluxe room via telephone. When we arrived, we were told abruptly that we never called and that the deluxe room was only available for one night. The manager was inhospitable and argumentative so we canceled our stay after the first night.

The deluxe rooms are the only two decent rooms in the hotel. We saw most of the rooms in the hotel after the staff moved our unpacked things to another room while we were out for the day (are they allowed to do that?). We searched almost all seven rooms in the hotel looking for our ipad, computer, unpacked clothing, passports, and other personal items. The lack of cleanliness of the rooms and restaurant was a surprise after the descriptions we had read about the hotel before our arrival.

All in all, an establishment with an inept manager and an untrained staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

While I didn't actually manage to stay at the hotel - the customer service received with a travel / booking issue was outstanding! Many thanks to the hotel for making what could have been a very costly muddle a painless experience for me - totally thrilled by your help & attitude. Huge thanks to fabulous staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
289 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Clean, comfortable, simple but well appointed rooms. The rooms are above the pub. Ours had a view of the common. Very friendly young staff. Excellent breakfast - quality and quantity. The Sunday lunch menu looks good also. Short walk from more restaurants (and pubs). Overall good value and a lot nicer than the B&Bs on offer in the area. This is really a B&B which happens to have the pub meals downstairs so don't expect hotel type hours of service.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Overnight stay for the 2 of us, very pleasant, big, clean and what was expected for the price, however mayby my expectations were too high when room service was not welcomed/given when asked, kitchen closed at 9pm on a thursday but i was told it was closed already at 8:45 so a bit more could be done service wise. Overall friendly service from all staff, will be staying here again as nothing in the area matches the crown in

Room Tip: online pictures helped me pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brouge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chislehurst
0.1 mi away
Bull's Head Hotel
Bull's Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chislehurst
173 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
1.7 mi away
Travelodge London Sidcup Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Eltham Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Manor at Bickley
The Manor at Bickley
#3 of 6 in Bromley
204 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Orpington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Property: Crown Inn
Address: School Road, Chislehurst BR7 5PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Chislehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chislehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Chislehurst
Crown Inn Chislehurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing