We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two bad experiences with food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bull's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bull's Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chislehurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two bad experiences with food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

As a resident of Chislehurst I have been a regular at the Bulls Head Hotel. Unfortunately I have had a particular bad experience on my last two visits that has left me wondering whether to return.

1) 6 of us went for Saturday lunch. The pub was quiet however we waited over an hour for a few very basic dishes. Most annoyingly when the food did arrive, three out of the 5 dishes ordered (all vegetarian lasagne's) arrived cold. We duly asked for them to be returned to the kitchen and unbelievably they were returned cold again, with garlic bread that had simply been put to one side why the lasagna was re-microwaved. However, I must say on complaint to the manager they were generous enough to refund the cost of all the meals served.

2) Most recently we visited with some friends and their 3 year old little girl. Our friends asked if they could heat up a un-opened tin of spaghetti as their child suffers with numerous of allergies and couldn't eat food from the menu, They refused due to it being 'against the law'. I completely understand that restaurants need to be health and safety conscious, however it is not true that it is against the law they are simply protecting themselves from the remote possibility of being sued should the child burn their mouth. In addition, this healthy & safety consciousness did not seem to stretch to them cleaning off the trays on the high chair provided. Baby wipes to the rescue. However, on this occasion food was good and only a very minor error of cheese missing from the cheeseburger!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidisimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    36
    8
    9
    2
See reviews for
38
41
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

In stayed here recently, even after reading the bad reviews, as the location was exactly where I wanted to be. I also used the new restaurant on the opening night and the food and service were great.
Maybe they have a new manager and a new restaurant, as I could not believe the reviews. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay and/or a place to eat. Yes, the bars a bit busy in the night but isn't that a sign of a successful country pub, is this economic climate?

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ratboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

I booked the hotel before reading the comments on line from former guests which didn't sound good so was dubious about our stay. From our arrival until departure we found the staff most helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, extremely clean and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable and hot water was plentiful, lovely deep bath! The coffee and tea facility in the room was well stocked.

We ate in the newly refurbished restaurant on it's opening night. The menu was varied, well cooked and presented but lacking vegetables..Again the staff were attentive but unobtrusive.

Breakfast was plentiful and comprehensive from Danishes to Full England

We will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNN186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

Decided to write this review after returning to Chislehurst on business and going to the Bull for lunch only, after previously staying there in 2009.
Nothing has changed - if you're not local, you don't feel welcome.
When I stayed there, the rooms were clean but a nightmare when the function room was being used - the nosie was unbearable. The staircase to the accommodation is shabby, tatty and dangerous if it's rained (you have to climb over the buckets). The door lock security make you feel unsafe leaving your belongings in room when absent.
The food use to be the one redeeming feature but alas that has now dropped to the same standard as the accommodation. If wanting to dine in Chislehurst, suggest the Tiger Head - chalk and cheese. Good food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedMercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2007

When we arrived at this hotel we had to check in at a very busy smoky bar. The barmaid was rushed off her feet and busy serving customers when we asked if we could check in but were told we had to wait - we had our 2 small children waiting too!

Eventually we checked in, went to the room - very dated but ok. They had provided 2 z-beds for the children at £10 each.

We went down to the bar to order bar food but was told they stopped serving bar food on friday nights and we could use the expensive restaurant. We only wanted a snack. We were then told that the children weren't allowed in the bar (we wouldn't have stayed in there anyway but it's funny how it was ok for us to wait in this smelly smoky pub whilst checking in!)

So we took our drinks out to the garden and eventually decided that we were so hungry we'd try the restaurant. Waitress was very nice but we asked for medium rare steaks (at around £16 each) and she came back with well done steaks!

There was 1 waiter serving at breakfast time - service was very very slow and it turns out he was also doing the cooking!

I was very dissapointed by this hotel as the website made it look very nice and certainly never mentioned that they didn't serve bar food on friday nights! Would not stay here again!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckshappychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chislehurst
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Chislehurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Eltham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bickley Manor Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Orpington
4.9 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull's Head Hotel

Property: Bull's Head Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Chislehurst BR7 6NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Chislehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chislehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bull's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bull's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull's Head Hotel Chislehurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing