We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bull's Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bull's Head Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chislehurst
Certificate of Excellence
Goring-By-Sea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here one night to attend a local party on the 26th April 2014. Absolutely fantastic. Lovely staff. Very comfortable beds which is important to us as I hate sleeping on anything akin to a boulder! The room was clean and very modern which we loved. Wifi free and there is even air conditioning on the first floor which we didn't need owing to the time of year. The food is damned good. Try it - you won't be disappointed. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so welcoming and that includes the cleaners and the catering staff. Fiona & David xx

Room Tip: Just relax and let the staff take care of it all. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMPA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    37
    8
    9
    2
See reviews for
39
43
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with work.
Tried many other establishments in the surrounding area and this is highly rated.

Good room with walk in shower - very clean with all the mod cons needed including strong free Wi-Fi.

Breakfast excellent. Didn't try the evening food as some good restaurants in walking distance.
Two good bars in the hotel - even have Sky which is good for the football. Beer a little pricey though at £4.50 a pint but guess that's London prices..........

Will be back........

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srp973_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Arrived on a busy Sunday afternoon, always a good sign. Quickly attended to by the friendly staff and shown to my spacious double room. Very clean room, comfortable bed, wide selection of hot drinks and some delicious biscuits, large TV and free wi-fi with decent enough connectivity to stream NHL Gamecentre Live. Breakfast was large enough to keep me going til evening meal and well cooked and presented. Would definitely return, Chislehurst is lovely (and thats not easy to say for a Scotsman) and this hotel was in a great part of town .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nobabody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was a great place to stay. The staff were fantastic and they were professional throughout in the restaurant and hotel. The assistant manager (?) Chris gave us a quick break down of the place and was very thorough. He even gave my girlfriend score updates when France were playing Wales! Room was big and comfy. The food we ate was super and the breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB1315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed as a single person in a double room for GBP 79 including brekkie. The room was spacious and well equipped, comfortable bed, en-suite bathroom with power shower. Quiet aspect as requested onto the car park out the back.

Friendly and helpful staff on arrival and throughout, this pub offers several large and busy bars with a relaxed and easy crowd. Young's beers so can't go wrong and I was particularly taken by the "Twickenham Grandstand" bitter on offer (ahead of England vs Wales two days later !). Several breakfast options in a separate dining room.

I chose the Bulls Head as the closest reliable hostelry whilst visiting my daughter in Forest Hill. Its not exactly next door, but it doesn't disappoint in any respect and is a very good option for anybody visiting SE London. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madone5point9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here night before last. Can't recommend it enough. Every staff member was so helpful (the cleaner even stopped for a moment and helped me with my luggage). Room was SPOTLESS. Breakfast was fabulously cooked - I had the full English and it was freshly cooked, not greasy and hot - yummy. The service in the restaurant was very attentive and professional. I would definitely stay here again and would most certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Front Office Manager at Bull's Head Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Bulls Head and that you are happy to recommend us. I have passed your comments on to our staff and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely

Rebecca Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here this week for two nights, the staff were very welcoming and the hotel looked very nice. We were given our room key, as soon as we opened our door we were hit by a damp/toilet smell. So quickly tried to open the windows, which were very stiff and not good if there was a fire! When we looked around, the wallpaper was falling of the wall above the bed, and there was damp patches in different areas of the room!!! The hotel is not a cheap hotel so i was not happy at all!!! I had been informed that the hotel was fully booked that night, so just unpacked our items. At night the room was so cold, even with putting the heating on!! What with the cold room and the emptying of bins outside our bedroom window really late at night, it was fair to say we did not have a good night sleep! The next day i spoke to reception and told them of the issues, where i was told that the room didn't smell the day before but with it raining the night before it may have coursed the smell. No mention of why the wallpaper was hanging off the wall or why the walls where damp!!!!! We were then moved to another room in the hotel, which didn't smell and the wallpaper was all stuck!
The breakfast was very nice, apart from the eggs were over cooked and a little bit like rubber!!

The other issues was the cost of the alcohol!! Over prices is an under statement!! over £9 for two pints of beer!!! I know there is such a thing as ' London prices', but after being let down by the room and then the cost of the alcohol i would really consider booking this hotel again!!

We were not offered a discount or anything else for the inconvenience of having to change room!!!!
If you are going to book this hotel....check your room fully before unpacking. and ....take your own alcohol!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doodledee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Front Office Manager at Bull's Head Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback, I am sorry to hear of your experience at The Bulls Head, we have taken your comments very seriously and we would like to assure you that these matters are being dealt with as quickly as we can. The problem with the damp in your room was due to the adverse weather conditions that we have experienced of late. Our decorators are on site at present to amend this situation.

With regards to the temperature of your room we do have extra blankets available from reception upon request, please accept our sincere apologies if this wasn’t offered to you after you had reported this to reception.

We were very concerned to hear that you had trouble sleeping due to the noise of bins being emptied, we are thoroughly investigating this matter as our staff are fully aware that bins are not to be emptied late at night.

We would like to offer you, as a gesture of good will, a complimentary stay in one of our Superior Rooms at your earliest convenience.

Please contact us directly to arrange this

Kind Regards

Rebecca Knight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chislehurst
0.1 mi away
Crown Inn
Crown Inn
#2 of 2 in Chislehurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bromley Court Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Eltham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bickley Manor Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Orpington
4.5 mi away
Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel
Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bexleyheath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull's Head Hotel

Property: Bull's Head Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Chislehurst BR7 6NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Chislehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chislehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bull's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bull's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull's Head Hotel Chislehurst, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing