We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Otro Lado
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Coconut Grove Lodge(Isla Grande)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
87
16
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
16
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolprivate retreatpanama cityspirit houselocal artan adventuretropical paradiseone of a kindboat riderooms and common areasscuba divinglunch or dinnerhowler monkeysluxurypropertybeachesbay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2012

What do you do if you want to take a vacation– but one person wants an adventure and the other wants to sit on a gorgeous beach and sip on boat drinks by an infinity pool all day?
Answer: You go to El Otro Lado. My husband and I spend a week at El Otro Lado and absolutely loved it.

During your days you can chose to lounge by the infinity pool, as pictured above. It is here you watch boats sail by in Portobelo Bay which, centuries ago, was a vibrant port and the non-fictional basis for modern day tales of Pirates of the Caribbean. The staff to guest ratio ensures you are never without a a cocktail (ask for the Loominescence– a banana colada which we named on our last night… and used all of the bananas). And if you need to get up and walk around, grab one of the pareos neatly folded as you step out of the pool. It brings a little Nantucket elegance to this Central American retreat.

This is a good spot spot for people who would like a jungle adventure — without compromising luxury or seclusion.We wrote a full description here:

http://loomisluggage.wordpress.com/2012/10/09/el-otro-lado-panama/

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

El Otro Lado was the highlight of our Trip!!! We have travelled all over the world, and the stay at El Otro Lado was probably the best that we have ever experienced. The staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. The food was to die for; fresh out of the sea and wonderfully prepared. And, the facility is gorgeous; perfect Caribbean relaxation with the beauty of the water. Lastly, we kayak and swam in the gorgeous Caribbean water. What an opportunity to get away in luxury and enjoy the sea!
I will be doing this again as soon as possible!!!! I recommend El Otro Lado above any other trip that you are considering!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The food was amazing. The decor spectacular. The service outstanding. Perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Analisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The thing that most striked me was the attention given to every single details of the rooms. They are decorated and furnished with a very refined touch, Besides, the place is extremely peaceful, ideal for honeymooners.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Sun House
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexisB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is really paradise. The food is wonderfull and you get treated like royalty. They pay attention to every detail possible to make an unforgettable experience. I came with my husband and kids and we all have had a grand time as well as educationalx learning about Portobello Traditions.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EFH1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews