We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sea fish heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Octopus Garden Restaurant

Octopus Garden Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Portobelo
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Octopus Garden is a wonderful seafood based restaurant located on the Caribbean Ocean. We offer waterfront dinning as well as up stairs at the outside style bar as well as around the balcony overlooking the Ocean. Our house specialty is a Peruvian Octopus simmered in a coconut milk until it becomes tender and juicy. Although we specialize in seafood we also have have hamburgers and french fries to spaghetti :P yum yum Come visit us any time hours from 8:00am - 8:00pm come join us any time for blueberry waffles and Angel's special homemade Strawberry Shortcake!
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“sea fish heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Although the official cook was not around, the other staff took hi place and did a wonderful job in preparing octopus and a big fish for me for dinner and lunch. I also ate Lion Fish as we caught it ourself during our dives. Great sensation, very tasty!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NellekeSteverink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great spot to hangout, good food, perfect sunsets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great Wifi too for catching up, but it's right on the sea with amazing unobstructed sunsets. It's a rustic scubadiver's joint, but the food was very very good. On par with Captain Jacks, because they are connected somehow through the cook. Captain showed up while we were here as well as another stop one day. (He gets around). They have a pool table, great decor and all open air, though covered. Service was great, and the waitress was new, the same person we saw at Jack's a couple nights before, and who we later gave a ride while hitchiking. Very sweet. Had the octopus ceviche of course, some great soup...I can't remember, but was I very charmed here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bjc2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Chiquita, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite on the Portobelo road.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Great value and fantastically fresh seafood. Try the ceviche and pulpo, or the seafood soups. In our opinion this seafood is one of the best in Panama.

The uniquely squished patacones are also one to try!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BalaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Dropped in for lunch on the way back from Portobello. Great grilled corvina, cold beers, friendly staff and a stunning view - hard to want more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“On the water, one of the few places you can watch the sunset on caribbean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Not for the posh, this spot is right on the water, fish is fresh, service is kind and warm. Toilet was not working, they offered a 20 percent discount and a bucket. We slept to the loud sound of waves, not cars....which was nice considering it was right off the main road. Give it a try.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DotCommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Octopus Garden Restaurant also viewed

 
Portobelo, Colon Province
Portobelo, Colon Province
 

Been to Octopus Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing