We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful Hotel-good for overnight between Munich+Salzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parkhotel 1888 Traunstein
Ranked #1 of 3 Traunstein B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Tasteful Hotel-good for overnight between Munich+Salzburg”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a typical European privately-owned Hotel. The owner stays in residence and keeps an eye on the property. It is an old-style building right in the Center of Traunstein, a small regional Center,. successfully modernized. Rooms are individually decorated, mostly tasteful. Parking is not a big Problem, there is a lot just outside at the park. And if full, they offer their courtyard inside. All modern facilities are being offered. It is very well kept and clean. Breakfast is very good, buffet is offering a lot of first-class cheese, sausages, bakery product, jam etc., eggs any-style and Dining in again tasteful Restaurant area is also good. In a few steps you can reach the main square, which is historic and nice, it is very safe and pleasant to stroll around. In winter they offer Sauna on demand- otherwise no gym or Wellness installations.
. At night it is quiet, yet after 6 AM life in this rural town starts early.
As there is not much attractive accomodation between Salzburg and Munich- this is certainly one the best Options.

Room Tip: One hint: avoid the so-called single rooms, if travelling alone ask rather for a double for single u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    38
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
22
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

These are my experiences with Parkhotel Traunstein.

Free car parking right outside the entrance. Central and quiet location in the little city of Traunstein. The interior of hotel is mostly in old fashion style. I stayed in a single room, not very spacious but nice decorations and good quality of furniture and bed. Small bathroom with shower, also clean, modern equipped and in good condition.

I had both breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant. Good quality, friendly staff and affordable pricing. I have seen breakfasts with more variations but when price taken into consideration - very good value for money.

All in all - good place to stay in Traunstein, good value for money.
(BTW - I wish I had more time to get to know Traunstein and the area around. Seems like an interesting area for tourist activities.)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToreGluppehavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Not recommended if you have other options.
Micro rooms.
Poor breakfast.
Have a calm beer garden.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefoox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Pros: Excellent friendly staff, clean rooms, good price, superb location, most things also in English, very good wi-fi

Cons: Room is very small, TV is from last century, bed was very small, shower was small (though good pressure)

I have found that most of the hotels in smaller towns in Germany have very little English either spoken or printed, this was a nice change. The small single bed took a bit of getting used to, but it was overall it was a nice stay

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Not too many choices involved, but if you find yourself in Traunstein and need a place to stay, this place is pretty good. I stayed three days over a weekend as I have friends who live in the area and I was between business appointments.

The hotel is an older type hotel with pretty much full service. There is a restaurant at the hotel with very good food. Ate dinner there one night. Typical Bavarian Fare, but tasty. Also got to take it back to my room (they actually delivered it) as I had work to do and didn't want to eat int he restaurant.

Price is very reasonable double room single use 62Euro.

If I had one complaint it is the Internet access. 3 Euro per day, but limited to 50MB transfer per day. I blew threw my 150MB of data (three days worth) in about 4 hours working and watching TV online. When I went to ask about an unlimited version, however, the only staff did not speak English and I have no German skills, so I found a local coffee shop that had free wifi the next day. Turns out, however, if you run out of bandwidth, you can ask for more at the desk, assuming someone there speaks a language you also speak.

Other than that, a pleasant stay for a winter weekend.

No air that I could tell, so could be warm in the summer, no fridge in the room either so I chilled mein bier on a window ledge :)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traunstein
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosenheimer Hof
Hotel Rosenheimer Hof
#1 of 2 in Traunstein
10 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#2 of 3 in Siegsdorf
49 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Gut Ising
Hotel Gut Ising
#1 of 2 in Chieming
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Alpenhotel Wittelsbach
Alpenhotel Wittelsbach
#2 of 18 in Ruhpolding
253 reviews
8.7 mi away
SeeHotel Wassermann
SeeHotel Wassermann
#1 of 2 in Seebruck
48 reviews
16.0 mi away
Residenz Heinz Winkler
Residenz Heinz Winkler
#1 of 5 in Aschau Im Chiemgau
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel 1888 Traunstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel 1888 Traunstein

Property: Parkhotel 1888 Traunstein
Address: Bahnhofstr. 11, 83278 Traunstein, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Parkhotel Traunsteiner Hof)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Traunstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Traunstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkhotel 1888 Traunstein 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Parkhotel 1888 Traunstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing