We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Wrexham(Wrexham)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$148
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hand Hotel(Llangollen)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveller rating
741
300
95
69
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
741
300
95
69
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssausagecountry parkcraig y noswedding venueghost tourdog friendly hotelbar areabridal suitewedding breakfastevening mealgroupon dealghost huntold buildingwelsh cakesdog ownerspatti barself service
Filter
Updating list...
884 - 889 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is a rustic retreat from city bustle. Great staff, and a great place to stay. Fascinating building with character and truly a "spirit" you can feel during your stay ;) Great value for your dollar.

I am a gardener, and for me the grounds were a highlight. Rustic and OLD. Some of the trees there must have been imported from their native lands during the time it was built. We walked the extensive trails on the grounds a number of times. Look for the Magnolia walkway. Some of the oldest I've seen, and a unique tunnel training. Also some of the largest evergreens in the area along a beautiful trout stream. Sheep in the hills and horses in the pastures in the valley. "Briton-Zen" I would call it :)

Lots to do near by - but it is the country side, so some driving may be required. Hiking everywhere, country pubs, small towns nearby to explore, an absolutely unique cave park, and an easy day's drive to and back from the Gower Peninsula. You may even find yourself having a conversation with a sheep at some point in the highlands....

Having the dogs around is great. At one point two dogs walked into the pub room as though they were looking for a drink. Probably a good joke there somewhere. You inevitably end up chatting with the other guests over a drink or a dog pet.

If you are going to this area stay here for a unique, rustic, eccentric, and fun experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thanks for your comments, im glad you found the grounds and the gardens different to the run of the mill concrete jungle.

We try to offer charm, rustic ambience with good service provided in a somewhat homely atmosphere.

The staff try to look after our guests giving them the service they deserve.

Its good to hear you found the amenities of the local area and look forward to a return trip.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

A group of 16 of us stayed the night at Craig Y Nos as part of a ghost hunting package. We were there to raise money for charity.
Our fab guide Holly took us to the salt cellars & other derelict parts of the castle. We even spent the night in the disused childrens ward! Holly made sure we were well looked after, her stories of the castle & it's history are fascinating!
The hotel & grounds are beautiful. Wether you're wanting to seek paranormal activity or have a relaxing break Id certainly recommend it. We can't wait for our next trip will be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lw1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thanks for your comments following your ghost hunt at the Castle.

Its good to hear that Holly (and the GhostWalkers) gave you a night that i hope you will remember.

Thankyou for the recommendation and we would welcome you back to - whether for a ghost experience or just a relaxing break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Myself my wife & three dogs spent a most enjoyable time at the castle where we stayed for four days. Our room was in the courtyard & had double door disabled access at ground floor level & easy access to the main building, The room was really comfortable with flat screen tv, tea & coffee making facilities a fantastic disabled shower room & even a bed cover for the dogs to sleep on.
Our first nights evening meal was superb, in fact it was so good we ate there for the next three nights & the breakfasts we of a really high standard as well. The staff we really nice & helpful & nothing was to much trouble for them. I would make a return visit in the future to explore this nice part of south wales, Many thanks to all the staff for making our holiday perfect in this quirky hotel.

Room Tip: room number 11
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 339jonnyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for your review. Im glad that you liked Room 11 - with its facilities makes an ideal room for 3 occupants - dogs, humans or both - especially if the weather is nice.

I will pass your comments to our staff, especially the chef, as it appears the food went down a treat.

We would love to see you all return next year

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just had a lovely 3 night break with our st Bernard cross. Staff were very friendly. Food was good.
Walks from the castle are stunning with a clean stream for the dog to play in close by. Will definitely be back in the spring.

Room Tip: We had room 16 which opened onto a courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumblenewfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your comments – glad you and your dog enjoyed. You are spot on with your description of the walks and things to do – the Castle is ideally situated for walks – with or without dogs (just more fun with!!!)
We look forward to seeing you next year.
M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I felt compelled to take the time to post a review after returning from a wonderful 3 night B&B stay at the castle. I have read a few of the negative reviews and it makes my blood boil. For those wanting a 5 star luxury experience then spend the extra and find a bland hotel chain. For those wanting a fantastic break with some wonderful touches and amazing staff then come to the Craig Y Nos Castle. The hotel is clearly a labour of love for Michael the owner who has clearly invested not only a lot of money but a whole lot of time into making this place unique. I have stayed in many different hotels in my time and found the quality of staff at the Castle to be up there with the best of them. We stayed in a lovely on-suite wwith our 2 dogs. I note that some reviewers have quiestioned the decor but i liked the wardrobes and beds. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was lovely. It was spacious enough for us and our dogs. I certainly did not find the castle to be dirty and the bar area and restuarant was fantastic. The cooked breakfast was also very nice and the evening meals we had were amazing. The scenery was out of this world and the castle grounds were lovely. Everyone we spoke to also thought the hotel was fab. All the guests were very friendly and our dogs felt very welcome throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FGEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thanks so much for your comments - it is appreciated that you both enjoyed the Castle, and the décor – we try to keep this in the style and age of the building too. I am also glad that you enjoyed the food and found the bar to be clean – although hand on heart at times the Castle could be spruced up – although certainly I would not describe it as dirty. I do hope that you are able to return and that the dogs come back too.
The staff will also appreciate your positive feedback.
Sadly though, I don’t own the Castle (if only I could take the credit) – merely deal in the day to day management of the Castle and the running is dealt with by our Events, Reception, Housekeeping, Front of House and Kitchen – without whom the Castle would not survive. The owner though as you say has invested heavily into the Castle and will appreciated your comments.
Best Wishes
M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews