We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveller rating
741
300
95
69
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
741
300
95
69
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssausagecountry parkcraig y noswedding venueghost tourdog friendly hotelbar areabridal suitewedding breakfastevening mealgroupon dealghost huntold buildingwelsh cakesdog ownerspatti barself service
Filter
Updating list...
878 - 883 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just come back from a 3 night dinner, bed & breakfast break at the castle, and we're already checking availability for next month! Our 2 dogs had the time of their lives...we've visited a few places that were "dog friendly" but none like this! They had their own bed by the dining table, sausages for breakfast and best of all, acres and acres of parkland to run around on! (the castle cat did take an instant dislike to our overly exuberant German Shepherd tho!!) The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the food.....well the food, particularly the evening meal, was exceptional! The room was very clean and ideal for what we wanted.
The castle isnt immaculate, but if you want a quirky, truly dog friendly break, id recommend Craig y nos castle to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thanks for your great review - i am glad that the accommodation and food met your needs and that of your dog!!

Sausages all round and not just for the dog though!!

We try to make the Castle as dog friendly as possible and treat our guests as if they and their 4 legged friends are amongst friends.

We offer some great deals too and am glad you found things - not perfect but how you liked them.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights 5/6 August as we were fascinated with the story of Madam Patti and the history of the "Castle".
First impressions were wow - inside is very quirky, lots of corridors but that all adds to the ambience of the place.Our room 22 was very nice and situated in what was the servants quarters.
The food was very good and all staff were outstanding and nothing was too much trouble.
One of the highlights was the castle/ghost tour and a pleasant surprise to see our mate Steve Graham who did a fab job and kept the whole group enthralled.

I fell in love with this place and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Great to see you enjoyed the Castle, its food, the ambience and glad that you enjoyed the tour.
We try to provide a great accommodation package and combine that with excellent food and hospitality.

Thanks for your visit and we look forward to seeing you again.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This place is very much a "one off"!
Don't stay here if you like your hotels perfectly decorated, bland and modern - but do come here if you like unusual and grand rooms, friendly staff and good food.
The castle has had a fortune poured into renovation, but there's still a fortune needing to be spent to finish it off. It's in a lovely spot, with the craig y nos country park literally on the doorstep, and great views from the rooms. The castle is a huge neogothic pile, partly restored. It looks impressive, and has immense potential. The staff were friendly, helpful, and seemed to love dogs - great as we brought our cheeky 5 month old puppy to stay with us. You probably wouldn't want to stay here if you don't like dogs, as most guests seemed to have at least one.
The food was decent quality, and good value - in fact the whole thing was good value, as we stayed half board as a family of 4, for less than £50 per person per night.
Our apartment was the gatehouse - perfect for us as it had it's own entrance, 3 bedrooms (one had low ceilings and was only suitable for kids) a bathroom and a living room with sky TV. No wifi in the rooms, but available for free in the living areas of the castle itself. The bar was reasonably well stocked, the lounge areas comfortable, and the grounds well maintained. To give you an idea of the "quirkiness", our bathroom had a door straight into a hotel corridor, the shower head was held together with gaffer tape, and the door frames were obviously made of 2 separate parts. Oh, and the bathroom window wasn't frosted and looked out onto the main road - but there were curtains so it didn't matter.
Personally we loved this place and will definitely return - but as previously mentioned, be prepared for the unexpected and don't don't come expecting bland sleek modern furnishings!

Room Tip: the gatehouse is perfect for families - like having a holiday cottage to yourself but the amenities of the castle too!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thanks for your review - which was honest and sets it out almost as good as i could say. We admit we are not the swankiest of hotels and we are not the poshest of places - prefering to give a homely welcome to all guests each and every day.

As you found - we strive to give good service, offer a variety of home cooked food and at reasonable rates.

Yes our rooms could do with a bit of modernisation - but then we would have to close during the year - we do our maintenance between October - December and then February - March - when we only book a few rooms out.

Offering a variety of B & B, and DBB options allows guests to mix and match for when they do, and when they dont want to eat here.

Although the rooms do not have wifi all rooms with access to a phone are able to connect to the internet - athough not good for tablets or smartphones!! -Something we are looking to upgrade in the near future.

Do come and visit us again, and bring the dog too!!

*Although we are dog friendly (and in the midweek most guests do bring dogs) we are not dog exclusive allowing both humans (and ghosts to roam) - weekends and wedding days are exclusive to humans and guests of the wedding only!!!

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Craig-Y-Nos Castle as the first time 14th Of February 2012 was little short of a disaster!

We complained be before leaving, the issue was resolved and the owner invited us back to make amends..

14th Of Feb 2012,
We had been looking forward to staying at Craig Y nos castle for a considerable time, even more so that we were staying the night in the Bridal suite
We truly praise the owners ( Mr. Ludwig) efforts in trying to maintain a valuable piece of Welsh history and appreciate the difficulties that such an undertaking must pose. Overall the standard of accommodation was acceptable for a three star rating however, the Valentines meal was at best average and we would have hoped for better on a special occasion. the dinning area was exceptionally cold and there was no romantic atmosphere. Having retired to our room, all was well until somewhere between eleven and twelve o'clock, when a knocking noise started. Unclear as to the source, it seemed linked to the increased wind from outside and knowing the upper floors to be derelict we assumed a window had blown open. In the absence of a room phone and the reception being locked we were unable to gain assistance. The banging became extremely loud, strangely disjointed from the wind outside and stopped every time we moved about to explore the source. The disturbance continued non stop until after three in the morning when thankfully it developed into a howl, whimper and whine and it was apparent that it was a dog in great distress however we could not understand if it belonged to a fellow guest. Sleep was impossible throughout the whole ordeal.
Finally around seven o'clock we heard a member of staff downstairs, it was apparent that the hotel dog had locked itself in the towel room directly below the bathroom, the carnage was consistent with the disturbance we had witnessed through the night.
The Hotels staff were understandably extremely apologetic about the incident and after a few e-mails with
Mr. Ludwig, the matter was resolved and the invitation to return was made.

5th August 2013
We had always planned to take Mr. Ludwig upon his offer to return but when ever we tried the hotel was booked with Weddings, It was my Daughters 20th Birthday and she had been keen to go to Craig-y-nos. so we booked a double on-suite for us ( Room 29) and a double not on-suite ( she intended to use our bathroom) for our daughter, however on arrival she was upgraded to a on-suite (Room 23) - A sweet touch by the staff.. Michelle on the desk, was professional, very helpful, approachable and interested in making us feel welcome ( thank you)

As usual Craig-y-Nos welcomed us and the our dog, we felt at home - used the Spa ( Hot tub) walked the grounds, Breakfast was enjoyable ( the young lady serving was friendly, chatty and had a lovely manner. She looked after us and the other guest very well.)

The hotel is still tatty round the edges, I can say I can see any improvements since our last visit. I like it's rustic charm to a point but cracked grass, frames, excesses mould, wall paper peeling off needs to be addressed. The biggest issue I think the cleaners, they need to be overhauled, both our rooms were dusty, hairs in my bedding, grime, dirt, mould, both cups and kettle un clean and dirty windows, there is no need for this. also the bathroom fixtures in our room need repairing. ( The cleaning staff should be reporting to the maintenance staff) In the spa, teams of dead wasps littered the carpet.
Also the grounds, Ragwort growing, weeds creeping everywhere, an old glass from a bygone wedding left, broken garden furniture ignored, grass long in places.

It seemed that most of the guest during our stay had dogs, it is great that this hotel opens it's doors to dogs and makes them feel welcome without charging a extra fee.
The best bit of our stay this time was the guided tour, The guide gave us a humorous mixture of fact and ghostie tales, made me laugh on several occasion's but never got scared ( he did try to spook me too!)
I thoroughly enjoyed the behind the scenes adventure and would recommend visitors to book when a tour is on.

I doubt I would return to Craig Y Nos but I would recommend the place with a warning about what to expect because I think the castle is charming and has a lovely history wrapped in it.

I think the owner Mr. Ludwig should be commended for his efforts and I hope the place rewards him in time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gorwydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your review - we do appreciate all feedback both negative and positive in order to see where we go wrong, and how we can improve.

In relation to your stay the previous February - granted things went wrong and all the aspects since then have mainly been rectified. The dog in question (owned by the Managing Director ) is still here but now gets more deserved attention and sleeps well away from guests - it was unfortunate that she got locked in on that particular night.

Sadly when we had more diners last year it was colder in the dining room - however we know feed our guests when possible in front of a fire - where on most occasions is a lot warmer.

In relation to your current stay - I am glad that you had a better time than previous and hope your daughter enjoyed her upgraded room - where possible if rooms are free we will move our guests and in your case i wanted to show that we can in the main get things right.

Sadly, i know we have along way to go and on occasions are standards may fall - with continued teamwork - the Castle can only improve and if you are ever in the area feel free to drop by.

(Alas it does appear that the continued hotter than usual weather has killed flies almost as fast as we clean them up - but we will pass these comments to our housekeeping).

Im glad you enjoyed your tour, im sure Steve will be glad to hear!

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Easily the most welcoming place for dogs we've ever stayed at. Fantastic value for a 4 night dinner bed and breakfast deal. We've stayed in "dog friendly" hotels before which were more "dogs tolerated" but this was the real thing. It's not everywhere that brings your dog a cooked breakfast along with yours. Nice large fenced in grounds for morning and evening walks and 40 acres of secure country park right outside the gates where your dog can run off the lead and play in the river. Great days out in the Brecon Beacons or nearby. The castle is a work in progress and was a little rough around the edges but everything that is being done is to a high standard. The rooms were clean and a good size, the food was good and the menu changed every day. It felt more like staying in some huge old family estate that belongs to a friend of a friend, than a hotel, and that's the charm of this place. We will be back (with insect repellant!)

Room Tip: Trust the hotel staff to look after you when you book.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelLudwig, Manager at Craig-y-Nos Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your comments.

At Craig Y Nos Castle we do try to ensure our guests are treated as family - engaging in conversation, and offering a good friendly homely relaxed atmosphere.

We positively encourage our guests to wander about and enjoy whats on offer - giving them more than 4 walls and a bed.

As you found we encourage dogs, as there is plenty for them to see and do.

Alas - the hot weather brought some uninvited guests - but hope that this did not spoil your enjoyment of the Castle, and look forward to your return stay.

M!chael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews