We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely quiet place with wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Ferme de Marie-Eugenie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Ferme de Marie-Eugenie
Ranked #1 of 2 Bruailles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet place with wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

We've stayed here for 6 days in the end of may. What could be better? It's a wonderful quiet place with nice garden and a beatiful view on the nearby nature, with its flowers, singing birds and an unforgettable view of the stars in the sky at night. It sleeps very well in this place, so you can have a good time of relaxation.
The rooms are very nice and comfortable, you'll have everything you need there, just like in a 5 star hotel. Also I should mention good breakfast and fabulous genious of Marie-Eugenie as a cook. We had a dinner at the house every night and all of them were great. We couldn't miss them after we've tried it for the first time. Each day Marie-Eugenie cooked a new wonderful dish. And just before dinner we had a nice pastime during aperitif with Dominique (Marie-Eugenie's husband).
We're very thankful for the hospitality of Marie-Eugenie and Dominique and sincerely recommend this place to all people looking for nice stay in Burgundy.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    11
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
22
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

We arrived after a long car journey from Calais (en route to Lake Garda) to a warm welcome and drinks in the garden as the sun set. The rooms were delightful - really clean and beautifully decorated. Marie-Eugenie and her husband were attentive to all our needs. The breakfast was fabulous and in such a gorgeous breakfast room. We wished we could stay longer and will definitely return and recommend to all our friends. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squarkylorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent two-night stay. The rural location was a welcome change after traveling in urban areas, and our room was superior in all respects. The husband and wife team have turned a run-down barn into a 5 star experience. We enjoyed two wonderful dinners, cooked and served family-style, and would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone interested in a quiet break from stressful situations.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

The hospitality was exceptional, a genuinely very warm and welcoming stay. Two hosts, husband and wife, noticelably a great team effort who very much take pride in having guests to stay.
The food was wonderful, ample, generous, served in comfortable and cosy atmosphere. Was the perfect place to spend my birthday night! Thanks

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spellman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

This b&b is in no doubt the best on the map. Marie Eugenie is chatty, warm and a killer cook. the rooms are beautifully designed and the all important bedding is excellent. The food alone is worth the trip to this remote farmhouse. I advise anyone to eat a light lunch if you are having dinner there. 4 courses for €30 is a bargain and the wine to accompany is carefully chosen by Monsieur. Stephen Sprake.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephensprake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

Our stay at Marie Eugenie's farm during the cold February could not be warmer. Upon arriving, we were greeted by her friendly husband who turned out to be the mastermind behind the charming design of the house. The house felt like a home, warm and genuine, decorated with a lot taste yet not overwhelming. Interesting objects, books and paintings collected by the couple over the years were all placed exactly where they should be around the living room and kitchen. Shabby chic in its truest form. (This B&B has been featured in a book about beautiful country inns).

The room we stayed in, at the end of the second floor, was truly the gem of the house. Antique furniture in soothing white-washed colours, a four-poster bed with an extremely comfortable mattress and superb linens (both 5-star hotel grade), crystal chandelier..The bathroom was in minimalist zen colours, fitted with high quality modern fixtures and stocked with trendy toiletries. In short, the room was romantic and modern at the same time!

The food at the farm was the best I have had at any B&B. Marie-Eugenie is a great cook without fuss, using the superb local ingredients in the region. For dinner, we had a sweet sweet celeriac potage with a touch of Roquefort cheese to start with, Bresse chicken cooked pot au feu style for mains and ended with homemade tart and ice-cream. Simple yet delicious! For breakfasts, there were country breads, toasted piece by piece by the Monsieur, so that they would be fresh and warm after we finished the first piece. You just don't get that at any hotel. Not to mention all the homemade jams, local honey, ham and cheese....

Last but not least, I think it's the hosts at this charming place that made all the difference. Marie-Eugenie was warm, friendly, genuine but not overbearing. At dinner and breakfast she would drop by shortly for a good chat (she is quite good in English too!), but making sure her guests would also get to enjoy their private time. The Monsieur, Dominique, was a quiet and kind gentleman always with a smile. During our two nights and day stays, we could not feel more at home and at holidays at the same time! We love this place and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuff333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We have been welcomed in a very nicely decorated place. The room in particular were particularly comfortable. The place is an 18th century old farm, fully refurbished with a rare taste for nice things. Marie-Eugénie left a lot of framed pictures on the floor, simply as she would've done it at her place.
Food was fantastic. Again, authenticity and simplicity is the key word. Marie-Eugénie cooks with local products (the famous Poulet de Bresse for instance), also vegetable are extremely tasty and will make you forget the one you buy at your local supermarket.
Wine list is Burgundy oriented, price range goes is affordable for the wallets, I definitely recommend the Santenot du millieu, which is very full bodied and delicate.
Marie-Eugénie and her husband are very friendly, but also know how to be discreet, making you the temporary master of the place.
Definitely worth a trip (from London, flight to Lyon and then it is 1h30 from the airport). Also very easy to be there with a young baby as you can cook your baby food and also baby bed available.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe_Guisset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bruailles
5.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Moulin de Bourgchateau
17.5 mi away
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Hotel Aux Terrasses
#2 of 12 in Tournus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Poularde
La Poularde
#2 of 3 in Louhans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Hotel la Fontaine
Hotel la Fontaine
#1 of 1 in Mantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
16.4 mi away
Hotel Parenthese
Hotel Parenthese
#1 of 1 in Chille
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.6 mi away
Barbier des Bois
Barbier des Bois
#2 of 2 in Bruailles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ferme de Marie-Eugenie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ferme de Marie-Eugenie

Property: La Ferme de Marie-Eugenie
Address: 225 allee de Chardenoux, 71500 Bruailles, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Bruailles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bruailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In South Burgundy, on the road of the Alpes, Povence and Cote d'Azur, Marie-Eugenie will received you warmly in her XVIIIe century farm completely renovate. Its comfort and elegant decoration create a very warm and friendly atmosphere. You can reserved the "table d'hote" for the dinner (Marie-Eugenie is making a fine regional cooking). You'll enjoy this very quiet and restful original place in the open country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Ferme de Marie-Eugenie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing